The Rookie Thread - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2009, 10:17 AM   #21
nemises
Senior Member
 
nemises's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkhero View Post
Hi, I just got Black Shark! I fly it with the X52pro stick. NICE SIM! I have a intel 2.Q9550 2.83, quad core and 2 EVGA 9800GTX in SLI mode. Any hints how I should set the graphics up? I have the latest drivers for my cards and using the NVIDA control panel BS isn't listed. Anyone know how to add it? Thanks,
Greg
Hi Hawk,
Put everything up to "high" except water ("normal" ) and view distance ("medium), cockpit res to 512 .. you shold get reasonable frame rates with that I think (similar setup to mine, and thats what I use).

You can add dcs.exe to nvidia control panel by :
- open the NVidia control panel
- select "Manage 3d settings" on the left
- select the "program settings" tab
- click on the "add" button
- navigate to your Black shark install directory, and select "DCS.exe"
- Change all the settings as you like (FSAA etc..)
nemises is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 01:58 PM   #22
goldfinger35
Member
 
goldfinger35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 313
Default

Also, set shadows on lower settings: they are very demanding.
__________________
i7 920@4.0Ghz, 12 GB RAM, ATI 4890, LG L246WHX@1920x1200, Saitek X52 Pro, Saitek pro flight rudder pedals, TrackIR4, Audigy 2ZS, Logitech G9x, Vista 64bit.
goldfinger35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 04:07 PM   #23
hawkhero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for the tips! This looks like a real good sim. I can't wait for the AH-64 to out.
hawkhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 09:05 AM   #24
PeterP
Veteran
 
PeterP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany / UTC+1
Posts: 5,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkham View Post
I have no idea where to begin. Just downloaded the game, and I am absolutely baffled where I should begin learning this sim. I can read the manual on the train, but 50 pages of how the altimeter works gets to me after a while

The tutorial goes through things fast. I almost died when the guy said i should be able to do startup in 30 seconds flat. aroo?!

So ummm...where should an utter novice like me begin?

btw, I used to do very well in falcon 4.0 long time ago, so i understand the basics.
Get some Popcorn and a drink and watch all producer notes!
http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.ph...608#post686608
__________________

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 06:42 AM   #25
mbolan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 63
Default Learning the sim

Can't tell you a lot about this sim except that it's a work of genius and...

I can tell you something about learning that might help you get the most out of your investment.

1) Motivation. Without a drive to learn, anyone starts to stumble and give up early. With a sim this good, that's a real shame. So instead of telling yourself it's too complex, will take ages, manual too big or whatever, focus on thoughts that motivate you - I'd love to be able to really fly this baby - if I take this one step at a time I should be able to get this - ain't no-one out there that can outperform me when I set my mind to it - Jee it's sure gonna feel good to be able to say I can fly a chopper like this...and so on.

2) Each of us has a preferred learning style. Some like visual information, some audio, others feeling and so on. You should first try to figure out how you like to learn by remembering times when you did learn and enjoyed doing it. Once you've got a good fix on that, connect that ability to your motivation for learning Black Shark...if I do it like I did X then I should be able to (understand the manual, learn the cockpit drill, gently take this thing to a hover) etc.

3) Pick a sensible place to start and go one step at a time. I went with learning the start up sequence off video, found that some of the switches weren't labelled as I'd like so looked them up in the manual. Then tried from memory - discovered that I'd forgotten some key steps. Went to the manual and tried to figure out what would happen if I missed those things. Then tried it in the sim on the Shooting Range mission. Then realised I didn't know why I was operating all those switches so looked them up in the manual. Learned something new at every step.

Once I could start the engines, I tried flying only to discover another problem...looked it up. Not there. Checked in here with bloggers, got useful help and direction, went back, tried it all again and so on.

The real key is the motivation strategy. Without it you may find you lack the drive and determination to see the whole thing through. The same ideas apply to life in general - very useful really. Make sure you're motivated (that's entirely under your control of course) then take up the challenge.

If you can conquer this sim at your desk, you can conquer a lot of other things using the same general strategies.

Good luck
mbolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 11:56 AM   #26
Faolin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nemises View Post
Make sure to press and hold trim whenever doing ANY control inputs though...the only time I hands off the trim is on landing
I'm not sure I understand this. I thought the whole point of trim was to fix any extraneous axis movement in order to keep the bird steady while the cyclic is centered. Why is it useful to hold it every time you go to provide input?
Faolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 11:16 AM   #27
andysim
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 655
Default

Ok small tip but one that had me wondering for a while, when you use auto turn to target you have to remeber to turn it off again before moving as you will be fighting it all the way!!
andysim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 02:28 PM   #28
AussieFX
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sandgroper.
Posts: 164
Default

Hi guys, I have just purchased this game after I found it on the net.
I have never played lockon or games from this company before so I'm not really familiar with how things work with their software.

I jockey around all day in an AS355 so flight isn't unfamiliar to me, I bought this game for the shootem up aspect. Getting my head around munitions/targeting systems will be my downfall.

First question is, I have a Microsoft sidewinder usb FF2 joystick and I've had no trouble assigning functions to it, but I also have a Logitech G25 racing wheel and I thought it would be nice to assign the rudder pedals to the G25 pedals but when I select the G25 in the setup screen and try to assign the rudder to them I get no response when I push the pedal. I know I can use the twist function on the joystick but that is really unfamiliar to me and would prefer to use the pedals. Can anyone help me set this up please?

I hope I can get my head around the shooting aspect and join many of you out there. ATM it's training, training and more training.

ps. The trim function in this sim is nothing like I'm used to. In my machine it centres the stick to take the constant load off. Usually you would select it in straight and level cruise and switch it off for manouvering, here it seems to be intertwined with the autopilot.

EDIT: Is there a tutorial on how to replace the skins? I watched the airshow replay and really like the skin that's used there. I would love to get it and from reading through the MODS section I get the impression that changing skins isn't easy.
Also is there a section on KA50 skins I haven't seen one?

Sorry I have so many questions already.

Last edited by AussieFX; 05-17-2009 at 03:15 PM.
AussieFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 05:49 PM   #29
nemises
Senior Member
 
nemises's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Faolin View Post
I'm not sure I understand this. I thought the whole point of trim was to fix any extraneous axis movement in order to keep the bird steady while the cyclic is centered. Why is it useful to hold it every time you go to provide input?
Hi Faolin,
It is slightly more coimplicated in the blackshark becuase trim plays 3 roles

1) it recenters hydrolic pressure (?) on the control plates that are used to recenter the cyclic , which is normal trim operation, but...
2) it also, while held down, stops the autopilot chanels enforcing their current control set.
3) when released, it changes the autopilot chanels current contrl set to the new pitch/heading

So,
The idea behind pressing and holding the trimmmer , is so that during a manuever, lets say a bank to the left, the pilot is not fighting the AP heading hold chanel that is trying to keep the bird steady on its last programed heading.
If you press and hold the trimmer, the bird will bank and turn left as you would expect with your cyclic inputs.
If you do not press an hold, then the bird will fight you the whole way...though you will eventually win (the AP only has 20% authority), it still seem a bit ungracious to me.

I belive this is beeing re-assesed in the patch, as there was some incorrect data on how the Heading hold AP channel works IRL.
nemises is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 05:55 PM   #30
nemises
Senior Member
 
nemises's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AussieFX View Post
Hi guys, I have just purchased this game after I found it on the net.
I have never played lockon or games from this company before so I'm not really familiar with how things work with their software.

I jockey around all day in an AS355 so flight isn't unfamiliar to me, I bought this game for the shootem up aspect. Getting my head around munitions/targeting systems will be my downfall.

First question is, I have a Microsoft sidewinder usb FF2 joystick and I've had no trouble assigning functions to it, but I also have a Logitech G25 racing wheel and I thought it would be nice to assign the rudder pedals to the G25 pedals but when I select the G25 in the setup screen and try to assign the rudder to them I get no response when I push the pedal. I know I can use the twist function on the joystick but that is really unfamiliar to me and would prefer to use the pedals. Can anyone help me set this up please?

I hope I can get my head around the shooting aspect and join many of you out there. ATM it's training, training and more training.

ps. The trim function in this sim is nothing like I'm used to. In my machine it centres the stick to take the constant load off. Usually you would select it in straight and level cruise and switch it off for manouvering, here it seems to be intertwined with the autopilot.

EDIT: Is there a tutorial on how to replace the skins? I watched the airshow replay and really like the skin that's used there. I would love to get it and from reading through the MODS section I get the impression that changing skins isn't easy.
Also is there a section on KA50 skins I haven't seen one?

Sorry I have so many questions already.
Hi Aussie,
If the Pedals show up as a single directInput axis, then you should definately be able to asign them to the rudder axis. If they are 2 seperate Axis, then that might be more difficult.

To try it out, goto options, click on controls, then in the "KA50 Real" section, select teh green highlighted "Axis Commands" drop down menu, then look for "Rudder" , double click under the G25 controller (assuming it shows), and then move teh appropriate Axis, and it should map for you.

As for skins, these are set in the mission editor by the mission creator.

If you wish to change skins, then you must open up the mission in the editor, and modify the KA50 (it is donw in the weapons loadout screen), then save the mission.
It is not difficult, and I'm sure with 5 minutes messing about you should get it figured.

Alternatively, there is a free 3rd part app called DCSMax that allows you to dynamically set your skin I believe (havent used it, but lots of people do, and they all love it...search this formum for DCSMax for more info)
nemises is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rookie Rocker need help Rocker50 Bugs and Problems 17 03-17-2009 08:38 PM
Modelling thread cobrabase Chit-Chat 6 07-31-2008 12:56 PM
some help for an A-10 rookie? Jason76 Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 1 & 2 39 11-06-2005 11:39 AM

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:18 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.