Request: Multi-monitor aid.. program? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2016, 04:42 PM   #1
Lanka
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Default Request: Multi-monitor aid.. program?

Okay. I'm fairly sure most, if not all simulator players run multiple monitors for somewhat obvious reasons of putting your targetting&map on second monitor.

I also I accept the fact I don't know how to code. If I knew, I would do it myself. To be frank, I'm surprised tiny program to achieve this isn't already attached with the game itself..

Anyways. What I'm asking is an outside game "program" where you can choose monitor layout (main monitor; resolution, secondary monitors; resolution&relation to main) and drag "windows (mfcds, abris, shvkal, etc)" over to the screens and change their size while keeping the aspect ration of the simulated screen.

Saving this setup would create a .lua with the relevant data.

Because.. well.. readjusting your brain to start from top left is pain, figuring out proper aspect rations as well.. Not to mention figuring resolutions to fully use available space..

If this concept is still too hard, I can.. um.. Paint you a picture of what I mean. <.<a
Lanka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 05:13 PM   #2
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,597
Default

There used to be such a program. However, due to the continually changing structure of DCS World, it apparently proved to be too much work to maintain. I don't blame the originator for abandoning the project.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 06:05 PM   #3
slicker55
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 489
Default

I'm not aware of a specific program to match your criteria but yes, it would be very handy if we could simply drag n drop a cockpit item to a preferred location. Unfortunately, it's not as simple as that but with a little patience you can learn how to export instruments etc via viewports:

http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=70716

Another option would be to utilise a Helios profile available here:

http://www.captzeen.com/helios/index.asp

An excellent Helios profile for the A-10C can be downloaded from here:

http://www.gadrocsworkshop.com/node/9

Hope this helps
slicker55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
abris, aspect ratio, mfcd, multi monitor setup, shkval

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:27 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.