Help with skins, where do I put them? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2016, 03:31 AM   #1
Andy1966
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Delaware, usa
Posts: 429
Default Help with skins, where do I put them?

Hello All,

Been trying to install Reflected's Gunther Rall skin, and for the life of me I cant figure out which folder to put it in.


Any help would be appreciated


thanks
Andy1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 06:11 AM   #2
saburo_cz
Member
 
saburo_cz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Prague CZ
Posts: 660
Default

here:

C:\....\DCS World\Bazar\Liveries\Bf-109K-4
__________________
saburo_cz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 09:22 AM   #3
Weegie
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Glasgow, UK
Posts: 565
Default

As saburo stated OR there is another way to put them in then remove them easily should you want to without affecting the game files

Under C:\Users\"My name"\Saved Games\"DCS"\Liveries

Where "My Name" is your user name
& "DCS" could be DCS or DCS.openalpha or DCS.openbeta depending what versions you are using

In Liveries there should be a folder Bf-109K-4, if it is not there add it

Then dump the skin in there that way extra skins don't get mixed up with the standard game skins

Similar thing goes for missions.

Not 100% but I also think the method describes also removes the danger of getting the skin removed at an update

Personally I use JSGME for nearly everything as I find it more convenient but the method described works well too.

http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=98607

John
Weegie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 09:37 AM   #4
Buzzles
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Northern Europe
Posts: 2,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saburo_cz View Post
here:

C:\....\DCS World\Bazar\Liveries\Bf-109K-4
Don't use that path.

The "c:\Users\{username}\Saved Game\DCS\Liveries\{module}" path is much better and not affected by updates. Also means you don't need JSGME.
Buzzles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 10:02 AM   #5
Art-J+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,617
Default

Just to make things clear, they will not be "affected the updates", as the updater doesn't know they're there (they don't replace original files).
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 07:18 PM   #6
Andy1966
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Delaware, usa
Posts: 429
Default

Thanks Guys That Did it
Andy1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 11:34 PM   #7
rel4y
Member
 
rel4y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 716
Default

Is the same path a viable option for view settings and cockpits? At the moment I always disable and reenable these for updates via JSGME.
rel4y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 12:07 PM   #8
ROOB1984
Junior Member
 
ROOB1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default It doesn't work in Saved Games\Liveries\Bf-109-K\"skin name"\

Hallo everyone,

I can't get my skin to work in " ...\Saved Games\Liveries\Bf-109-K"skin name"", in the main folder it works ...\Bazar\Liveries\...

I'm using the edModelviewer2 to lock at the skin, it works with the main folder. I tryed to edit the description.lua with the contry names diabled with comment marks "--countries = {"GER","NZG",}" and with the original programmcode countries "countries = {"GER","NZG",}".

Any suggestions?

best regards
ROOB1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 02:11 PM   #9
Ala13_ManOWar
Senior Member
 
Ala13_ManOWar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,811
Default

If you created the folder in saved games, check the name. It should be "Bf-109K-4" (W/O quotes), not the one you wrote.


S!
__________________
"I went into the British Army believing that if you want peace you must prepare for war. I believe now that if you prepare for war, you get war." -- Major-General Frederick B. Maurice
Ala13_ManOWar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 10:39 AM   #10
mkiii
Member
 
mkiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 530
Default

Some older liveries do not work if just placed in the Saved games folder. It seems to depend on what is actually altered & the aircraft involved. In these cases, as you found, it works if you just manually place them in the game folder. This is where you should be using JGSME or better still OvGME to place your MOD - and manually disable it before any updates.
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:25 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.