Framerate improving suggestion - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2017, 10:34 PM   #1
Gryzor
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Posts: 329
Default Framerate improving suggestion

Due that mission track saving does not work very well (in fact, most missions are incorrectly saved)...

Why not disable (or making "optional") the "saving track feature" for flights? I think this feature saves various inputs, for player´s plane and others objets, I think if this options would be disabbled performance will increase, less stuttering, etc, taking into account also that DCS world uses only two threads (game + sound engine),

What do you think about?
Gryzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 10:40 PM   #2
dudeman17
Junior Member
 
dudeman17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 80
Default

Well, I personally have no idea on how much the automatic track saving feature affects the framerate of the game I would however like the ability to disable it at the track files can add up fast and take up hard drive space pretty fast. That said if there is a performance hit then I would appreciate the ability to disable it and save the frame rate. I think as it is currently set up there is not much of an impact. (but I've never tried it without.)
dudeman17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 12:01 AM   #3
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dudeman17 View Post
Well, I personally have no idea on how much the automatic track saving feature affects the framerate of the game I would however like the ability to disable it at the track files can add up fast and take up hard drive space pretty fast.
That is only an issue in MP.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 01:05 AM   #4
Gryzor
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Posts: 329
Default

In Lock On Modern Air Combat (LOCAM 2004) you have optional saving (or not) a TRACK, throught a key binding. I remember FPS were lower everytime I choose to start saving a track.

It dooes not only could affect multiplayer, because saving TRK file is active everytime.
Gryzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 03:50 PM   #5
Gryzor
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Posts: 329
Default

Bump, I think that this could improve performance.
Gryzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 03:55 PM   #6
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,762
Default

in your autoexec.cfg in your saved games folder try


Code:
disable_write_track = true
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 12:25 AM   #7
quinncidence
Member
 
quinncidence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGNEWY View Post
in your autoexec.cfg in your saved games folder try


Code:
disable_write_track = true
Hey Big, I searched high and low and I don't have a file named autoexec.cfg in my saved games folder, or anywhere else for that matter. Do you mean the options.lua file? Where would "disable_write_track = false" be added?
__________________
i7 7700K @5.0, 1080Ti, 32GB DDR4, Win10, HMD Odyssey, TM WH, Saitek Rudder...
quinncidence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 05:37 AM   #8
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 3,788
Default

I don't think it exists by default. I think it should be created in Saved Games\DCS\Config\autoexec.cfg
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 06:54 PM   #9
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,762
Default

correct you have to create it yourself.

my own testing has only shown marginal fps increase, I am not sure it is worth it, but it may help some.

Bare in mind this is only for single player it does not work on multiplayer
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 05:07 PM   #10
quinncidence
Member
 
quinncidence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGNEWY View Post
correct you have to create it yourself.
Ok, cool. Just so I understand since I’ve not done such a procedure before:

Open notepad++, enter the code referenced above, save as autoexec.cfg in the Config folder inside my Saved Games folder, and viola?

(I don’t expect a big improvement but every little bit helps. With each successive update I’m getting worse and worse performance, which shouldn’t be the case based on my specs.)
__________________
i7 7700K @5.0, 1080Ti, 32GB DDR4, Win10, HMD Odyssey, TM WH, Saitek Rudder...
quinncidence is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:40 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.