Regarding the lights.... - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2018, 11:55 AM   #1
-Rudel-
3rd Party Developer
 
-Rudel-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dean Martin Celebrity Roasts
Posts: 1,094
Default Regarding the lights....

ED must have changed something in the graphics engine code with 2.5.1 Update 1.

The screenshot below shows Update 1 on the left and to the right 2.5.1 prior to the update.

A lot of lighted objects became pink or severely washed out.

I'm currently trying to fix this, but there's no telling what 2.5.2 will yet...

__________________
http://www.leatherneck-sim.com/
https://www.facebook.com/leathernecksim

i9 7980XE, 128GB Ram, SLI GTX Titan Xp, Win10 Pro, SSD, 2 x 256GB SSD, 4 x 512GB SSD RAID 0
i7 4960X, 64GB Ram, GTX Titan, Win10 Pro, 512GB PCIe SSD, 2 x 256GB SSD, 6 x 4TB HDD RAID 6, 9361-8i RAID Controller
i7 2600K, 16GB Ram, GTX 580, Win10 Pro, 240GB SSD, 3 x 4TB HDD
Pentium 4, 2GB Ram, GeForce 6800 Ultra, WinXp Pro, 3 x 500GB HDD
-Rudel- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 04:05 PM   #2
Art-J
Veteran
 
Art-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,363
Default

Rudel, did these global changes by ED affect the way the pit looks in daytime as well? I ask, because even though the latest update is a step in good direction, some of the black elements became too dark in my opinion.

The whole gunsight for example is a pitch-black blob now, with no sense of 3D depth - it's difficult to flip/rotate some switches when they're barely visible, while some of the white markings (like on the aiming angle knob) can't be read either unless in zoomed view. Lights on the annunciator panels are pretty much non-readable too, as they became very dim.

I made these observations while flying at noon, even temporarily switching from my preferred gamma 1.6-1.7 to default 2.2, but that didn't help really.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 07:04 PM   #3
-Rudel-
3rd Party Developer
 
-Rudel-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dean Martin Celebrity Roasts
Posts: 1,094
Default

Yes it dd....
__________________
http://www.leatherneck-sim.com/
https://www.facebook.com/leathernecksim

i9 7980XE, 128GB Ram, SLI GTX Titan Xp, Win10 Pro, SSD, 2 x 256GB SSD, 4 x 512GB SSD RAID 0
i7 4960X, 64GB Ram, GTX Titan, Win10 Pro, 512GB PCIe SSD, 2 x 256GB SSD, 6 x 4TB HDD RAID 6, 9361-8i RAID Controller
i7 2600K, 16GB Ram, GTX 580, Win10 Pro, 240GB SSD, 3 x 4TB HDD
Pentium 4, 2GB Ram, GeForce 6800 Ultra, WinXp Pro, 3 x 500GB HDD
-Rudel- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 02:10 PM   #4
GumidekCZ
Member
 
GumidekCZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 161
Default

The problem is in DCS now and how it draw the shadows. There some general formula how dark the shadow will be. But there is one point, that only few people realize. DCS now don’t have autoexposure like human eyes and cameras. Without this feature, you can experience in DCS very bright surfaces at direct sunlight, or very dark shadows, all because lack of autoexposure. What can really help is some future AVERAGE GAMA AUTOMATIC CALCULATION, which will constantly adjust picture brightness.
GumidekCZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 05:31 PM   #5
Auditor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 21
Default

sorry to hear that, Rudel. That must be really frustrating.

Can you check on exterior lights, as well? I think those were hit with a similar downgrade.
Auditor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 10:47 PM   #6
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 3,418
Default

I cranked the gamma to its maximum and it looks like the black levels are clipped at the minimum. Doesn't DCS have dynamic range lighting?
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 01:21 PM   #7
Elysian Angel
Member
 
Elysian Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Belgium
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art-J View Post
Rudel, did these global changes by ED affect the way the pit looks in daytime as well? I ask, because even though the latest update is a step in good direction, some of the black elements became too dark in my opinion.
[...]
I made these observations while flying at noon, even temporarily switching from my preferred gamma 1.6-1.7 to default 2.2, but that didn't help really.
Same thing happens in the Mirage and Gazelle (in VR at least). It looks like deferred shading and the new lighting engine need more time to mature, as much as me and everyone else would have liked these issues to have been ironed out before the release of 2.5 ...
__________________
Raven ; VNAO VFA-143 Pukin' Dogs
System specs:
Spoiler:
i7 6700k @4.5Ghz
32 GB Corsair DDR4 2400MHz
ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti OC
ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
1TB Samsung 960 Pro M.2 SSD

Pro Flight Trainer Puma
TM Warthog HOTAS w/ 10cm extension by Sahaj
Saitek Pro Flight rudder pedals
Oculus Rift CV1
Elysian Angel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 04:08 PM   #8
ac5
Member
 
ac5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 610
Default

"as much as me and everyone else would have liked these issues to have been ironed out before the release of 2.5"

HOLY WORDS!
__________________
Mainboard ASUS P8Z77-V PRO Chipset Intel Z77 Express
Processor Intel i7 - 3770K @ 3.5 GHz.
4 x Corsair RAM DDR3 8.0 GB @ 1866 Mhz. 32 GB total
Graphics Card GeForce GTX 1070 8192 MB GDDR5
Monitor 30" Eizo SX 3031W @ 2560 x 1600
1 x SSD Samsung 250 GB 2 x SSD Samsung 500 GB
Windows 10 - 64
CH Pro combatstick, throttle and pedals
ac5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 06:48 AM   #9
FSKRipper
Member
 
FSKRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany / Greifswald
Posts: 870
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elysian Angel View Post
It looks like deferred shading and the new lighting engine need more time to mature, as much as me and everyone else would have liked these issues to have been ironed out before the release of 2.5 ...
If I remember correctly everyone else was banging on ED's door to release 2.5 no matter what the state of the current version was. Blinded by some screenshots and not patient enough to wait for some more weeks/months
__________________
i7 4790K @ 4,8GHz | 1080GTX | 16GB RAM | 256GB & 750 GB Samsung SSD | TIR5 w/ Track Clip | Warthog HOTAS+extension+Wheel Stand Pro | Saitek Combat Rudder pedals | Gametrix 908 Jetseat
FSKRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 07:06 PM   #10
Bogey Jammer
Member
 
Bogey Jammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: France
Posts: 426
Default

Gamma variation won't help, black would still be black. It's just a response curve between the minimum and maximum values that don't change.
__________________
I own :
FC3 МиГ-21бис МиГ-15бис Ми-8МТВ2 Mirage 2000C Ka-50 F-5E Bf109K-4 SA342 A-10C
I'll buy :
МиГ-23МЛД МиГ-27К МиГ-25 F-14A F/A-18 Mirage III F-4E A6M2 1950' Korea Dynamic campaign module

Running DCS 1.5.8 until costs of hardware required to run 2.5 smoothly in VR mode drop to a reasonable level.
Bogey Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:50 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.