Use of flaps in combat

acdelta57

So I'm still pretty new with WWII combat, but have always loved the p51 since I was a kid. I understand aerodynamics as that is my day job. I really struggled against bf109s and spitfires in DCS with the p51. I recently bought the 109 to get a better understanding on how it performs and with the ease of engine management and stall characteristics it is a good place to start to really understanding the art of energy management and WW2 combat I feel. But my deep desire is to shred apart these German aircraft with the p51 like Solty does in burning skies and other really well trained p51 pilots. I've read some threads on tips and handling characteristics of the mustang and notice there is some talk about flaps in turns. My question is how "much" flap do you typically use if in fact you do use them. Do you use flaps "all" the time in turns? Or only when bleeding below corner speed and need that sharp turn.

Also would I be wrong in stating that when fighting a 109 if I loose my energy below say 200mph I'm pretty much dead meat?

I appreciate any tips and secrets you ACEs out there would be willing to share!

Thanks!

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]1000 miles of road will take you around town, a 1000 feet of runway can take you around the world...unless your in a Huey, you can go anywhere with no runway in a Huey!

multiplayer name ''DustOff=3=6''

I'm far from an ace but I'll make the opening:)

Generally: The P51 is about speed and keeping it. Since turnfighting costs you speed, it is not something you want to do. So in regards to flaps in turning: at best you want to avoid doing that. Proper positioning and choosing the conditions for your battle is much more important.