Basic Fundamentals: Ka 50 Waypoints and the PVI 800 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2019, 01:08 PM   #1
Pac-Man
Member
 
Pac-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 145
Default Basic Fundamentals: Ka 50 Waypoints and the PVI 800



Good Day, Everyone! In this video, we'll go over how to enter, edit, clear, and navigate waypoints using the ABRIS and the PVI 800 navigation system. I hope you enjoy!
__________________

www.VirtualCarrierWing6.com


Asus Z270 Prime-A | i7-7700k | 32G Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200 | EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 | 2x 960 EVO M.2 in RAID 0 | 500GB SSD | Thrustmaster Warthog | Oculus CV1


https://www.youtube.com/c/OverKillSims
Pac-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 11:33 PM   #2
Ranma13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 330
Default

Some things I'd like to point out:

1. At 1:04, it's true that the ABRIS is not linked to the PVI-800 except in one case: when creating a nav target. If you create a nav target through the PVI-800 then select it, it will display on the ABRIS as a square with the nav target number in it. This is a great way to see the coordinates on the moving map, for example if someone feeds you the coordinates of a ground target for attack.

2. At 2:21, in addition to pressing the push buttons, right clicking on the right ABRIS wheel when you have a menu item selected will also select it. This can save time if you're already using the wheel to change the menu item.

3. At 5:09, holding the mouse and dragging on the right ABRIS wheel will scroll it faster with better control than scrolling the mouse wheel. This is useful if you're trying to move the line a long distance.

4. At 10:40, the autopilot is not overridden at over 20%. It always has 20% control authority, and will always pull the helicopter towards the last trimmed position unless disabled. This is what people usually mean when they say they're "fighting the auto-pilot" in the Ka-50; unlike the fixed wing aircraft in DCS, the autopilot does not disable once you exceed a certain threshold.

5. At 12:17, I wouldn't sweat rounding off the number in most cases. The difference between 1 second in coordinates is only 100 feet or 31 meters, which is close enough for most purposes.

6. At 13:11, it might be important to emphasize that "always N and E" only applies to the Caucasus and Persian Gulf maps. For the Nevada map, it's always N and W.

7. At 14:38, the dim light is due to the broken cockpit lighting which hopefully will be fixed sometime this year. In 1.5.x, it was very visible when lit.

8. At 14:50, it's not specifically mentioned, but he's copying the coordinates from the ABRIS to the PVI-800. You need to do this because the ABRIS is a separate system from the aircraft and does not control anything on the helicopter, whereas the PVI-800 is the actual navigation system. You can think of it as a GPS device that you put on your dash; it's not linked to your car.

9. At 15:49, to clarify, there is no backspace key if you screw up the number input. If you input a wrong number, you have to hit Reset and start the input all over again.

10. At 17:39, to be more specific, the autopilot channels consists of two functions: a stability augmentation system that smooths the pilot's inputs, and the autopilot hold, which tries to hold the attitude of the aircraft at the last trimmed position. The Flight Director button disables the autopilot hold, but keeps the SAS on. If you ever feel like you're fighting the auto-pilot, turning on the Flight Director will usually make the helicopter feel like how you'd expect it to.

11. At 20:00, that's another instance of lighting issues with the Ka-50. This also occurs with some of the other aircraft, where the anti-collision beacon shines through the cockpit as if it's transparent.

12. At 20:43, you are correct. With the altitude hold channel engaged, the collective brake will set the desired altitude when it's released. In the real aircraft, this is not something you need to think about because in order to move the collective, you need to squeeze the brake. However, in the sim, you can move the collective without squeezing the brake, so what I usually do is just tap the collective brake to set the altitude once I get the collective where I want it.

13. At 25:15, an alternative to holding down the trim button the entire time is to turn on Flight Director, get the helicopter to the attitude you want it to be in, press the trim button, then turn off Flight Director. I find this a little easier because I don't have to constantly hold a button down.

14. At 25:28, you mention "right where I want her, rudder and everything". To clarify, the rudder position is only saved as part of the trim if you enable rudder trimmer in the special options for the Ka-50. Otherwise, you will have to hold the rudder even after trimming. Without the rudder trimmer option enabled, you'll either want to constantly hold the rudder position, or get the helicopter trimmed so that you don't have to apply any rudder once trimmed.
Ranma13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 02:32 PM   #3
toutenglisse
Member
 
toutenglisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: French Alps
Posts: 516
Default

Thank you - usefull video.
__________________
Hardware : I7 7700K - Z270 gaming M5 - 32GB ( 4x8 ) ddr4 3200Mhz - 1080Ti gaming X - SSD M2 - TM Twcs / TM Rgt yaw pedals / MS sidewinder FF2 - Oculus Rift CV1.
toutenglisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 07:09 PM   #4
HC_Official
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 112
Default

Can anyone tell me why if you use a route set in the Mission editor and follow it, it will advance to the next way point automatically
eg I have selected WP2 I am enroute to it with route mode on, it gets to WP2 then auto changes to WP3 and turn toward WP3


But if I enter a course manually into ABRIS and the P800 I have to advance to the next waypoint manually
HC_Official is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 04:18 AM   #5
flanker0ne
Senior Member
 
flanker0ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rome Italy
Posts: 1,288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HC_Official View Post
Can anyone tell me why if you use a route set in the Mission editor and follow it, it will advance to the next way point automatically
eg I have selected WP2 I am enroute to it with route mode on, it gets to WP2 then auto changes to WP3 and turn toward WP3


But if I enter a course manually into ABRIS and the P800 I have to advance to the next waypoint manually
You have to create the WP Sequence. Check pg 320 of the BS Manual Changing the WP sequence
__________________
AMVI Forum , Youtube Channel , Facebook Page
flanker0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 07:54 AM   #6
HC_Official
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 112
Default

Thanks for replying, so entering the Waypoints into the PVI800 has "no order" , just read the manual page I will try tonight, appreciate the help

Last edited by HC_Official; 02-28-2019 at 08:19 AM.
HC_Official is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:13 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.