Updater unable to delete a file - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2018, 10:44 AM   #1
sydost
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 131
Default Updater unable to delete a file

Hi!

I tried to update to the latest 2.5.2.17559.377 version. Updater gives me following error: "Can't delete C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World 2 OpenAlpha\bin/ed_sound.dll: (5) Access is denied." and the update ends.

After the update ended I also received following error: "Can't run C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World 2 OpenAlpha\bin/DCS.exe: (2) The system cannot find the file specified."


Any help?
sydost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 10:46 AM   #2
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 20,084
Default

usually a pc restart helps
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 02:50 PM   #3
sydost
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 131
Default

Thanks! After a couple of restarts started working.
sydost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 03:10 PM   #4
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 20,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sydost View Post
Thanks! After a couple of restarts started working.
good to hear
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 02:24 AM   #5
huggy98
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 26
Default

Hi m8, I get the same problem. I've tried 3 times to download 2.5.2 and each time it gets to the end gives me a message that it cant delete something then starts the game in version 2.5.1. please help. ps each time i tried downloading i run the repair first. thanks m8.
huggy98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 03:29 AM   #6
plydrms
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 6
Default

..anyway to permanently delete an effect file and still get the game to run? I'm trying to delete the Ship Foam file. The game crashes when recognizes that it's missing. I also keeping the folder but deleting the contents...still crashes..thanks
plydrms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 08:37 AM   #7
r_vandenbroek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Had this exact problem. Did a repair, many restarts, nothing helped. Eventually had a look at the dcs.exe and apparently 'Read-Only' was ticked in the Properties tab. Unticked it, and it the update continued.
r_vandenbroek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 02:49 PM   #8
BaD CrC
Senior Member
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,739
Default

I have never seen so many antivirus warnings for an update (actually I have never seen any antivirus warnings for an update until now). It started with the first 2.5.6 where some .dll were blocked (I had to release them from quarantine) then with yesterday's update , I had to completely uninstall the antivirus (Bit Defender) in order to run the update as it was simply blocking systematically the move of some dll to the game folder by the installer. This is less than re assuring honestly to have to do that and also, I hope we can trust ED that they are running multiple checks on their files to make sure they are not infected.
__________________
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 02:51 PM   #9
hornblower793
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 282
Default

My Bitdefender had no issues and I don't think it is therefore a simple issue
hornblower793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 08:36 PM   #10
lennycutler
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 280
Default Bit Defender Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by hornblower793 View Post
My Bitdefender had no issues and I don't think it is therefore a simple issue
I had this problem also, but I checked my Exception settings in Bit Defender, and added my Eagle Dynamics directories...and told Bit Defender to allow for the movement of the particular .dll file it was flagging.

I then did a repair, and all is fine now.
__________________
Velocity MicroI7-4790 Windows 7 Home Premium 16Gigs RAM EVGA NVIDIA GTX 1070 500GB SSD TM Hotas Warthog
lennycutler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:30 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.