VR head moves through closed Cockpit - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2020, 10:31 PM   #1
Mastiff
Veteran
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mars
Posts: 4,595
Default VR head moves through closed Cockpit

Instant mission Normandy; Spitfire DogFight,

while in VR I can move my head in and out of a closed cockpit.
__________________
" any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater comeback " WF.
"Success is not final, failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that counts," Sir Churchill
" He who never changes his mind, never changes anything," WC, GBS.

"Asus IX z370 ||i9x9900k||ddr4-32gb PC3200||RTX 2080-8gb||EVGA SN 1300 G2 ||turtle beach elite pro 7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr 4/ir||VKB,MCG\ViRpiL,T50cm|MFG CrossWinds||X55 Throttle||G19 Keyboard/Mouse|| Rift cv1VR
32 Samsung|| 1x9inc||
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 10:47 PM   #2
Nealius
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 4,184
Default

VR is only restricted by the length of your cable and the size of your room. If a 6DOF limit were coded, we wouldn't be able to stick our head out with the canopy open.
__________________
YouTube Channel: "Clutch"

ASUS Z170 | i5-7600 | RTX2070 | 32GB DDR4 | Windows 10
Nealius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 11:06 PM   #3
Mastiff
Veteran
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mars
Posts: 4,595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nealius View Post
VR is only restricted by the length of your cable and the size of your room. If a 6DOF limit were coded, we wouldn't be able to stick our head out with the canopy open.
Umm I wasn’t able to move my head outside before now I can, it used to stop right at the window I’ve been doing vr for over a year now and this update allows you’re head to go through a closed cockpit, where as it didn’t before.
__________________
" any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater comeback " WF.
"Success is not final, failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that counts," Sir Churchill
" He who never changes his mind, never changes anything," WC, GBS.

"Asus IX z370 ||i9x9900k||ddr4-32gb PC3200||RTX 2080-8gb||EVGA SN 1300 G2 ||turtle beach elite pro 7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr 4/ir||VKB,MCG\ViRpiL,T50cm|MFG CrossWinds||X55 Throttle||G19 Keyboard/Mouse|| Rift cv1VR
32 Samsung|| 1x9inc||
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 11:11 PM   #4
Magic Zach
Senior Member
 
Magic Zach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,670
Default

My headset (rift s) has always allowed me to stick my head through the closed canopy. I rather wish this would be resolved. I like the limit off though when the canopy is open, as it allows me to stick my head out when S-turning on the ground
__________________
Hardware: T-16000M Pack, Saitek 3 Throttle Quadrant, Homemade 32-function Leo Bodnar Button Box, Oculus Rift S
System Specs: MSI MPG X570 GAMING PLUS, GTX 1070 SC2, AMD RX3700, 32GB DDR4-3200, Samsung 860 EVO
Modules: Ka-50, Mi-8MTV2, FC3, F/A-18C, F-14B, F-5E, P-51D, Spitfire Mk LF Mk. IXc, Bf-109K-4, Fw-190A-8
Maps: Normandy, Nevada

Magic Zach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 11:19 PM   #5
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,354
Default

VR is not same thing as TrackIR.

Rule no:1 with VR is that DO NOT CHANGE VIEW UNLESS PLAYER HEAD MOVES!

You get extremely quickly balance problems when your body says that you are doing something and then visually you do something else.

You can even sometimes experience it when suddenly DCS does something that just freezes your screen in VR, and no matter how small movement you were doing, it comes as huge surprise and you almost lose your balance at least for a moment before you realize that DCS has frozen.

Now you would want that with each time your head collides with the canopy? Good luck for that...

There are other means to fix that, it is that you apply some kind filter, like serious "blinders" or you make screen black and white, you can even start blurring the view. Such things will guide player to put head back to gaming area.

But how realistic is that?
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 03:49 AM   #6
Nealius
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 4,184
Default

VR user since last March, and never had movement limits in the Spitfire.

Additionally, when the VR headset stops moving while you are still moving your head, that tells you that the tracking has become lost, and the headset needs to be recentered. It's also disorienting and a little sickening. I wouldn't want that red herring built into any modules.
__________________
YouTube Channel: "Clutch"

ASUS Z170 | i5-7600 | RTX2070 | 32GB DDR4 | Windows 10
Nealius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 12:43 PM   #7
MrExplosion
Member
 
MrExplosion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 111
Default

This has always been the case for me in VR in this game. IL-2 has found a nice solution to this problem. They will always keep your head inside the cockpit and make you unable to move it beyond the canopy if it is closed. If it is open you can stick head out just fine, which is nice for taxiing.
__________________
Kein Anderer als ein Jäger spürt,
Den Kampf und Sieg so konzentriert.

Das macht uns glücklich, stolz und froh,
Der Jägerei ein Horrido!
MrExplosion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2020, 11:54 PM   #8
wuffman
Junior Member
 
wuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SE USA
Posts: 62
Default

Very complex replies that don't address the problem; a pilot's head should be a collision with a closed cockpit. Not impossible, in VR or otherwise. Kills immersion, especially when twisting around. The sound changes when the head breaks the plane of the glass, so it has the limits coded, just not applied to view.
wuffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2020, 07:04 AM   #9
lefuneste01
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: france
Posts: 399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrExplosion View Post
This has always been the case for me in VR in this game. IL-2 has found a nice solution to this problem. They will always keep your head inside the cockpit and make you unable to move it beyond the canopy if it is closed. If it is open you can stick head out just fine, which is nice for taxiing.
Fine to have nausea. You move your head ans this are not going accordingly to this move... How can you like this feature ?
__________________
P8700K @4.8 GHz, 1080ti, 16 GB RAM, Pimax 5k+
I spend my time making 3dmigoto VR mods for BoS and DCS instead of flying, see https://www.patreon.com/lefuneste
lefuneste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2020, 07:34 AM   #10
Magic Zach
Senior Member
 
Magic Zach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,670
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lefuneste01 View Post
Fine to have nausea. You move your head ans this are not going accordingly to this move... How can you like this feature ?
It's really not bad, doesnt cause nausea, or very little.
VR head limits is something that should absolutely be added, when the canopy is closed.
__________________
Hardware: T-16000M Pack, Saitek 3 Throttle Quadrant, Homemade 32-function Leo Bodnar Button Box, Oculus Rift S
System Specs: MSI MPG X570 GAMING PLUS, GTX 1070 SC2, AMD RX3700, 32GB DDR4-3200, Samsung 860 EVO
Modules: Ka-50, Mi-8MTV2, FC3, F/A-18C, F-14B, F-5E, P-51D, Spitfire Mk LF Mk. IXc, Bf-109K-4, Fw-190A-8
Maps: Normandy, Nevada

Magic Zach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:59 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.