Bomb ripple bug - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2017, 02:48 PM   #1
Vatikus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 74
Reputation power: 1
Vatikus is on a distinguished road
Default Bomb ripple bug

If you select.. lets say 4 bombs to be released... you will release less than 4 if you do not hold trigger long enough.
Vatikus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 03:06 PM   #2
myHelljumper
Senior Member
 
myHelljumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,152
Reputation power: 5
myHelljumper is a jewel in the roughmyHelljumper is a jewel in the roughmyHelljumper is a jewel in the roughmyHelljumper is a jewel in the roughmyHelljumper is a jewel in the roughmyHelljumper is a jewel in the rough
Default

I'm not sure it's a bug, look like a feature to me. But I might be wrong
__________________
VEAF - Virtual European AirForce
http://www.veaf.org/fr/

Helljumper's Youtube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCK3...UxPbWHvJJ3W2fA
myHelljumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 09:11 AM   #3
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,207
Reputation power: 43
shagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to allshagrat is a name known to all
Default

Well, any plane I flew in DCS including the M2000C requires to hold the ordnance drop button for 1 sec or longer to drop bombs and as soon as you release it, the drop is aborted.
In most manuals it is explicitly noted to hold it down for 1.5 to 2 sec to initiate a drop.
Think about a full max bomb load of 10 Mk82 on the Mirage, set to an interval that would give us 0.8 sec between drops.
The complete drop sequence is 8 sec and a bit more as you need to hold the pickle button before the drop starts.
Now you notice the civilian vehicle nearing the convoy you want to ripple upon from the front, a split second after you pressed and hold the butron, a second later (reaction time) you release it and only 2-3 bombs make it off the racks sparing innocent civilians lifes...
__________________
Shagrat


- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 7 | i7 2600K@4.4GHz | 16GB DDR3 1600 MHz | GeForce GTX 970 4GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker Soundmod & 2x Basspump III
TM HOTAS Warthog
custom build extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs | 2 Somikon 7" screens for the MFDs...| a hand made UFC
shagrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:15 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.