Simple question about contacting ATC - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2018, 12:41 PM   #1
Frag
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 15
Default [Solved] Simple question about contacting ATC

Hi guys,

got in DCS few days ago and I have to say that I have a blast. I played a lot of Falcon 4 and Lock-On many years ago, but I have to say that DCS is now a jewel!

I bought the L-39 and got the cold start procedure quite easily, but a question is tickling me and I am pretty sure that I veteran here can answer it.

On the first mission of the Kurtsan campaign, the instructor tells me to ask permission to start the engine.

As I said, I have no problem starting out everything but I noticed that whatever I do, the communication menu stays grayed out as long as the engine is not already up and running. As soon as the engine is spooling up, I can communicate with ATC to ask permission, but you will agree to me that it is kind of weird of asking permission after starting it out.

Briefly my question is. What switch enable the communication menu? I cannot figure it out.

In my startup procedure I do:

- Main Battery switch
- Main engine electrical switch
- Turbo
- When yellow turbo light turn on, then I start the engine with the blue switch.
- Then turn on all electrical panel switch on the front right panel.

It seems that I cannot contact tower as long as the engine is not running. I even tried to turn on all electrical switches on the electrical panel before starting the engine ...with the same issue.

Thanks guys! This forum is a bless.

Frag

Last edited by Frag; 09-14-2018 at 04:04 PM.
Frag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 02:29 PM   #2
Ramsay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frag View Post
Briefly my question is. What switch enable the communication menu? I cannot figure it out.

In my startup procedure I do:

- Main Battery switch
- Main engine electrical switch
- Turbo
- When yellow turbo light turn on, then I start the engine with the blue switch.
- Then turn on all electrical panel switch on the front right panel.

It seems that I cannot contact tower as long as the engine is not running. I even tried to turn on all electrical switches on the electrical panel before starting the engine ...with the same issue.
You need to have Inverter I or Inverter II circuit breaker enabled, if one fails the other takes over it's supply, so either will do, IIRC I usually use Inverter II.
And the radio circuit breaker "RDO" enabled.



Tested DCS Open Beta 2.5.3.21444
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	L-39C Radio Circuit Breakers to Contact ATC.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	193982  
Ramsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 04:04 PM   #3
Frag
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 15
Default

You rock Ramsay, worked on the first try!!!

Thank you so much, I owe you one.
Frag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:38 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.