Problem with the TGP

LaCapitanSalty

Hi,

I recently started learning the TGP, I have an issue where the TGP just get stuck at some point in the mission and I can no longer slew it. once it gets stuck, designating a target to waypoint also doesn't do anything. I don't know if its something I do wrong or if its a bug of some sort. Any help will be appreciated.

If the TGP is in Area Track or Point Track modes, it can no longer be slewed. Press SCS toward the DDI with the TGP open in it to designate it as the SOI. Press the SCS further in the same direction to toggle through the targeting modes until your reach stabilized targeting mode, which you can slew.

Alternatively, press and hold TDC-Depress to activate the offset cross and slew that to your new target. If you are happy with your new target, designate it by pressing TDC-Depress, although the mode will then jump to the next (stabilized -> area -> point ->).

Personally, I think the whole thing is wrong. Only being able to slew in stabilized targeting mode seems silly to me. Why would anyone do that? It's pointless and makes everything twice as complicated and take more than twice as long to use. It worked fine for years before someone decided to screw with it. Now, to me, it feels like the TGP has been sabotaged.

The Harrier with the same Litening Pod can slew when in both area and point track modes, but if in point track and you slew away from a vehicle, it will revert to area track, but if you point to a vehicle again, it will automatically switch back to point track mode. So easy to use, so simple, no BS, just functionality.

When you hit the wrong button on take-off

hwl7xqL.gif

System Specs.

Spoiler
System board: MSI X670E ACE Memory: 64GB DDR5-6000 G.Skill Ripjaw System disk: Crucial P5 M.2 2TB
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D PSU: Corsair HX1200 PSU Monitor: ASUS MG279Q, 27"
CPU cooling: Noctua NH-D15S Graphics card: MSI RTX 3090Ti SuprimX VR: Oculus Rift CV1