Simple DCS_BIOS Question: Arduino/Analogs - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2019, 05:49 PM   #1
JG14_Smil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,310
Send a message via MSN to JG14_Smil
Default Simple DCS_BIOS Question: Arduino/Analogs

Hello,

If building a pit with scratch-built flight controls using Arduino cards, are the analogs controlled through DCS_BIOS or would these be outputted as a HID controller? I know advanced coding would be needed and this is only for future reference. Just curious how it would work.

Thanks for any input.
JG14_Smil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:41 PM   #2
hog_driver111th
Member
 
hog_driver111th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Berlin
Posts: 799
Default

From my understanding while building my cockpit, any Analog inputs such as potentiometers, should have a command within DCS-BIOS. Which aircraft are you building your cockpit for? As an example, this is the command from DCS-BIOS for the A-10C console lights.
DcsBios:otentiometer lcpConsole("LCP_CONSOLE", PIN);
__________________
A-10C - FC3 - CA - L-39 - UH1 - P-51 - Hawk - BS2 - F-86 - Gazelle - F-5E - AV8B - F/A-18C
i5-4590 - GTX 1060 - Oculus CV1 - TM:Warthog
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic9979_1.gif
hog_driver111th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:45 PM   #3
Hansolo
Senior Member
 
Hansolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,637
Default

I believe Ian stated somewhere long time back that he recommended flight controls through HID/joystick controllers as DCS-BIOS may not be fast enought.

Secondly when using analog inputs on Arduino's you may have to do some filtering of the input as the communication otherwise get flooded. If you run a single Arduino over USB then this probably isn't an issue, but if you run multiple over RS485 you risk delay in other signals if you flood the communication.

I also had flooding occur on Helios back when I used this so it's not a culprit of DCS-BIOS. It may also have been hardware (potentiometer) related at that time but I had (with Helios) up to 10 sec delay on switches when running potentiometers.

Cheers
Hans
__________________
Hansolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 09:06 PM   #4
JG14_Smil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,310
Send a message via MSN to JG14_Smil
Default

Thanks so much, both of you. Great info.

Future pit will be a F-86. Current pit is L-39C (WIP).
JG14_Smil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:57 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.