F/A-18C Lot 20 Template Questions / Help - Page 19 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2018, 09:53 AM   #181
BoNidle
Member
 
BoNidle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 227
Default

Its on the Diff_1 template and its painted white on this image from my "Ambush 07" and circled in green on the right side of the image.



Hope that helps.
BoNidle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 09:56 AM   #182
BoNidle
Member
 
BoNidle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 227
Default

A tip for finding things is to create a layer divided into four colours e.g. red, yellow, blue, green.


Save it as usual and view in the model viewer. Note which colour the part you want is now painted, go back into the template and search that area.


If you still cannot find it then subdivide that colored area into four again, save, review and repeat as necessary until you narrow it right down.

Last edited by BoNidle; 08-06-2018 at 05:07 PM.
BoNidle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 02:29 PM   #183
boo_n_817
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 25
Default

I never would have guessed that was the nose without you pointing it out! And great idea for finding parts in the future.
Thank you very much for your help.!
boo_n_817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 05:26 PM   #184
BoNidle
Member
 
BoNidle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 227
Default

No problem, glad to assist.


Be warned that the nose will distort areas painted on it, so you may have to distort the edges of painted areas to compensate and allow the distortion caused by the nose model to pull it straight again.....if that makes sense?


A handy tip: The first layer on both the Diff_1 and the Diff_2 templates is called "Mesh" and shows the construction layout of the 3d model. I duplicated this layer on both templates and then renamed them to "Black Mesh" and "White Mesh".

On "Black mesh" I changed the layer quality to "Difference" which made the layer transparent but the mesh lines became black making the model layout easy to see when painting on the layers below so making the connection of demarcation lines of colours easier to work out.

On "White mesh" I changed the layer quality to "Screen" which did the same thing but changed the lines to a white colour.

The contrast in colour is useful when painting light or dark colours respectively.

It was very useful on my "Ambush 07", "Fights On" and the "Black and white VMFA-115 Silver Eagles" Skins.

Last edited by BoNidle; 08-06-2018 at 05:29 PM.
BoNidle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 12:33 PM   #185
watermanpc
Senior Member
 
watermanpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,012
Default

Hi guys, not sure if this is the correct place to ask this but here I go...I made a texture mod for the cockpit (I mean the internal cockpit, not the external one) and created 2 new roughmets that are non existent in the official textures rar of the hornet...I want to make my cockpit selectable from the DCS cockpit menu so I want to create a cockpit "skin"...everything works except the 2 new roughmets I created for these 2 textures:

-f18c_cpt-glass_hud.dds--->f18c_cpt-glass_hud_RoughMet.dds
-f18c_cpt-glass_refl.dds---->f18c_cpt-glass_refl_RoughMet.dds

I added the following lines to the description.lua in order to make DCS to load them:

{"f18c_cpt-glass_full", 0, "f18c_cpt-glass_refl", false};
{"f18c_cpt-hudl", 0, "f18c_cpt-glass_refl", false};
{"f18c_cpt-glass_full", ROUGHNESS_METALLIC , "f18c_cpt-glass_refl_RoughMet", false};
{"f18c_cpt-hudl", ROUGHNESS_METALLIC , "f18c_cpt-glass_refl_RoughMet", false};
{"f18c_cpt-glass_hud_edge", ROUGHNESS_METALLIC , "f18c_cpt-glass_hud_RoughMet", false};

However, DCS doesnt load the new created roughmets once in game...anyone knows why?, maybe there are some more arguments missing I need to call?

thanks!!
__________________
i7 6700K@4,5Ghz | GB Z170x-UD3 | GTX 1070 Gaming G1 | 32Gb DDR4@3000Mhz | 850 EVO 500Gb (DCS here) + SSD + Barracuda x3 | NOX Hummer M750 | HOTAS WartHog | DIY IR Clip+Opentrack | Win10 64 pro
DCS WISH--------------F-16C-------------------Please, make the LEGENDARY fighter come to life!!

Take a look at my MODS here
watermanpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 10:22 PM   #186
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,414
Default

RoughMets need to be enabled, by having the Default Texture w/ RoughMets.

IF Default Textures do not have roughmet's, that channel is disabled.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, HAF922, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 10:03 AM   #187
watermanpc
Senior Member
 
watermanpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
RoughMets need to be enabled, by having the Default Texture w/ RoughMets.

IF Default Textures do not have roughmet's, that channel is disabled.
Oh man, I suspected that, so no way to make them work I guess ...hope ED to add these as they are important to get reflections on HUD and hud projector among other things.

Thanks Skate!
__________________
i7 6700K@4,5Ghz | GB Z170x-UD3 | GTX 1070 Gaming G1 | 32Gb DDR4@3000Mhz | 850 EVO 500Gb (DCS here) + SSD + Barracuda x3 | NOX Hummer M750 | HOTAS WartHog | DIY IR Clip+Opentrack | Win10 64 pro
DCS WISH--------------F-16C-------------------Please, make the LEGENDARY fighter come to life!!

Take a look at my MODS here
watermanpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 05:36 PM   #188
watermanpc
Senior Member
 
watermanpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,012
Default

Thinking again about what you posted Skate I have the feeling that maybe you meant that roughmets maps wont work "at all"...thats not what I meant...the roughmets are working fine but only when loaded from the original cockpit texture rar file (dropping them into this rar file)...

what I want is to be able to create a "skin" for the cockpit inside the liveries subfolder of the cockpit folder...the problem is that doing so, and even after calling the roughmets with the arguments aforementioned, these 2 files (roughmets) wont work for my cockpit "skin".

Hope its clearer now...


thanks!
__________________
i7 6700K@4,5Ghz | GB Z170x-UD3 | GTX 1070 Gaming G1 | 32Gb DDR4@3000Mhz | 850 EVO 500Gb (DCS here) + SSD + Barracuda x3 | NOX Hummer M750 | HOTAS WartHog | DIY IR Clip+Opentrack | Win10 64 pro
DCS WISH--------------F-16C-------------------Please, make the LEGENDARY fighter come to life!!

Take a look at my MODS here
watermanpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 05:48 PM   #189
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,414
Default

Thats what I meant, unless the Default Textures have RoughMets, the channel is disabled.

You can enable them by making RoughMets for the default textures and adding them to the Textures Zip, then Make New ones for your Cockpit Livery, but You'd fail IC.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, HAF922, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 09:58 AM   #190
watermanpc
Senior Member
 
watermanpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
Thats what I meant, unless the Default Textures have RoughMets, the channel is disabled.

You can enable them by making RoughMets for the default textures and adding them to the Textures Zip, then Make New ones for your Cockpit Livery, but You'd fail IC.
Ok skate!, thanks a lot for your help , hope ED can add these files in the future to make glass material.

Bye!
__________________
i7 6700K@4,5Ghz | GB Z170x-UD3 | GTX 1070 Gaming G1 | 32Gb DDR4@3000Mhz | 850 EVO 500Gb (DCS here) + SSD + Barracuda x3 | NOX Hummer M750 | HOTAS WartHog | DIY IR Clip+Opentrack | Win10 64 pro
DCS WISH--------------F-16C-------------------Please, make the LEGENDARY fighter come to life!!

Take a look at my MODS here
watermanpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:53 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.