AWACS .. Multi Frequency - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2019, 06:01 AM   #1
Emmy
Senior Member
 
Emmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2,125
Default AWACS .. Multi Frequency

Ok, so AWACS isn’t perfect, but there are times when it really comes in handy.

But, when you have a sizable mission going on, its sole frequency can get jammed up.

So here’s my idea: Without altering the coverage or the information that it provides, is there any way that AWACS could be given at least one extra frequency (a couple more would be great!) so that different groups with different needs could have AWACS on a discreet channel as if, like in real life, there were multiple controllers on board?

Case in point: As a Warthog pilot, I almost always only want “Bogey Dope” while the guys flying cover are always asking for “Picture” which, when there are multiple groups, can tie up the lone AWACS freq for a bit.

Or, say one group is striking the eastern side of a map while others are striking the western side. Each could have better SA if they had a “dedicated” controller working only their half of the map.

Would something like this be doable?
__________________

http://www.476vfightergroup.com/content.php
High Quality Aviation Photography For Personal Enjoyment And Editorial Use.
www.crosswindimages.com
Emmy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 09:28 AM   #2
flyco
Member
 
flyco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: York
Posts: 316
Default

Why not put up two AWACs, operating on different frequencies. Since we don’t pay for the airframe hours or fuel, there is nothing to lose.
flyco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 05:44 PM   #3
Wrecking Crew
Senior Member
 
Wrecking Crew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,809
Default

Also can add an EWR and use Set Frequency for it.
Wrecking Crew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 05:13 AM   #4
lord-gore
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 59
Default

I for one would find this really useful

Whilst we're at it, can we have Comms to JTAC from other flight aircraft, for example I and a friend play a mission where we have two target bases and multiple JTAC's but we can't really split formation and act separately as only one can talk to the JTAC
lord-gore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 05:26 AM   #5
Eddie
Veteran
 
Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oman
Posts: 4,951
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyco View Post
Why not put up two AWACs, operating on different frequencies. Since we don’t pay for the airframe hours or fuel, there is nothing to lose.
That’s the workaround that has been used so far. But considering an E-3 has 10 UHF radios available to the controllers in reality, it’s still a very limiting workaround. With large multi-flight packages it also creates a lot of additional complexity in missions, especially missions with large number of units designed to run for many days.
Eddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:06 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.