Inverter on after a full stat - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2019, 05:00 PM   #1
lvialpando
Junior Member
 
lvialpando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 73
Default Inverter on after a full stat

I've jumped back into the BS after some time and im doing ok for the most part. For some reason my inverter light on my overhead panel will not turn off after i fully start up. Is there a switch i need to turn off?
__________________
THUNDERHEAD
lvialpando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 05:55 PM   #2
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,719
Default

Which position is the inverter switch in? It has positions force on, shut off, automatic. In normal flight the switch is in automatic (up). Make sure your engine RPMs are at the flight values, throttle handles in the automatic position, generator switches on, external power switches off.

The only way I was able to get inverter caution on in flight was generator switches off with inverter control switch either fully up or down. The Shkval and UV-26 are not able to be powered in this case which is an easy indication of partial AC electrical power supply.

If that doesn't answer it a track showing the issue can be helpful.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 06:31 PM   #3
lvialpando
Junior Member
 
lvialpando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frederf View Post
Which position is the inverter switch in? It has positions force on, shut off, automatic. In normal flight the switch is in automatic (up). Make sure your engine RPMs are at the flight values, throttle handles in the automatic position, generator switches on, external power switches off.

The only way I was able to get inverter caution on in flight was generator switches off with inverter control switch either fully up or down. The Shkval and UV-26 are not able to be powered in this case which is an easy indication of partial AC electrical power supply.

If that doesn't answer it a track showing the issue can be helpful.
Inv is in auto
__________________
THUNDERHEAD
lvialpando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 06:42 PM   #4
lvialpando
Junior Member
 
lvialpando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 73
Default

I moved engine throttles to max and it cleared the light, i have fwd and aft tank lights on, what about those?
__________________
THUNDERHEAD
lvialpando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 07:20 PM   #5
AlphaOneSix
Veteran
 
AlphaOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,087
Default

It means the pumps are working. When a tank runs out of fuel, the light will go out.
AlphaOneSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 09:31 PM   #6
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,719
Default

Of course the inverter will be on when the main AC generators are not cut in when RPM is so low.

What I'm curious about is the inverter continuing to spin (if the sound is any indication) even through it's not providing power. Should the 500 Watt inverter stop making the noise (similar to A-10C) when not in use? Or is it a different noise like the standby ADI inverter?

I also can't get the manual position of the switch to do anything different than the auto position.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 12:22 AM   #7
AlphaOneSix
Veteran
 
AlphaOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,087
Default

The inverter won't provide power and won't make any sound when it's off. If it does that in-game then that's a bug. Also, Off = always off, Manual = always on, Auto = on when main generators are offline, off when main generators are online.
AlphaOneSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 01:20 PM   #8
v81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 99
Default

In roughly a similar ballpark i might pose a question...
If i recall correctly BS1 had the ability to run the generators in a 'high idle' throttle setting. But this does not seem to be the case in BS2.


The way i recall it (and this is real on some aircraft for ground work / conserving fuel) the throttle had the following positions...
1 - Idle
2 - High Idle (generators start to supply power at this point)
3 - Governor (still generating power)
4 - Max (in case of engine or gov failure)


Anyone else remember it being like this?
__________________
i5 6600K @4.4GHz -- 16Gig RAM -- 512GB & 940GB SSD -- GTX1070 -- TM Warthog, MFG Crosswinds & TiR
v81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 11:21 PM   #9
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,719
Default

It's the same now last I checked. The minimum and normal-full positions are two keyboard steps apart. The position between them is an estimated position to place the throttle handle if the governor fails (so manual throttle is needed).
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:24 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.