External disappears in cockpit (vis. track issue?) - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2019, 10:45 AM   #1
Sirius
Member
 
Sirius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 398
Default External disappears in cockpit (vis. track issue?)

Hello, all.

Whenever I am inside of the cockpit of my mod, my external model seems to disappear until I turn my head roughly 90 degrees cw/ccw in either direction, where it then re-appears. The issue is shown here like so:

Roughly 90 degrees



< 90 degrees inward



I have checked my argument number 114 (visibility track) for any issues and there does not seem to be any. I also attempted to make my materials in 3DS Max 2-sided, but alas no success. This is how my models are set up for visibility track:

External model



Cockpit model



If anyone knows how to fix this issue, please tell me! Any feedback is greatly appreciated.
__________________
"The average programmer now makes scripts that are more
idiot proof and user-friendly, but the average user only gets
stupider."


Spoiler:

PC Specs: AMD Ryzen 5, AMD Radeon RX 580, 8 GB DDR4, 128 HDD, 2 TB SSD
Modules: A-4E | AV-8BNA V/STOL, A-10C, AJS-37, C-101, F-14B, F-15C, F-86F, Ka-50, L-39, M-2000C, MiG-23UB, SA-342, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Su-25A, Su-27, Su-33, UH-1H
Discord: Sirius#8952
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 10:49 AM   #2
Automan
Senior Member
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,182
Default

Hi Sirius, do you see the same issue rotating the view in Model Viewer?
__________________

ACER Predator Orion 9000: Windows 10 Home | Intel i9-7900X | 8x16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport@2666Mhz | Sapphire GTX1080TI | Intel 600P 256GB | Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB | Seagate Firecuda 2TB
ACER Predator XB281HK: 28" TN G-SYNC 4K@60hz
ThrustMaster Warthog Hotas, TFRP, MFD Cougar Pack, TrackIR 5
Automan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 01:37 PM   #3
Sirius
Member
 
Sirius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Automan View Post
Hi Sirius, do you see the same issue rotating the view in Model Viewer?
Yes, I do. Upon investigating it in modelviewer2, I found it had appeared when rotating at a certain amount of zoom or when my camera was close to the cockpit area.
__________________
"The average programmer now makes scripts that are more
idiot proof and user-friendly, but the average user only gets
stupider."


Spoiler:

PC Specs: AMD Ryzen 5, AMD Radeon RX 580, 8 GB DDR4, 128 HDD, 2 TB SSD
Modules: A-4E | AV-8BNA V/STOL, A-10C, AJS-37, C-101, F-14B, F-15C, F-86F, Ka-50, L-39, M-2000C, MiG-23UB, SA-342, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Su-25A, Su-27, Su-33, UH-1H
Discord: Sirius#8952
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 02:26 AM   #4
Sirius
Member
 
Sirius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 398
Default

Still needing dire help!

This is how it appears in modelviewer2. The external model disappears when zoomed in too far or at the front too much with head/camera movement occuring. This also happens for F4 view and (sometimes) F2.

__________________
"The average programmer now makes scripts that are more
idiot proof and user-friendly, but the average user only gets
stupider."


Spoiler:

PC Specs: AMD Ryzen 5, AMD Radeon RX 580, 8 GB DDR4, 128 HDD, 2 TB SSD
Modules: A-4E | AV-8BNA V/STOL, A-10C, AJS-37, C-101, F-14B, F-15C, F-86F, Ka-50, L-39, M-2000C, MiG-23UB, SA-342, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Su-25A, Su-27, Su-33, UH-1H
Discord: Sirius#8952
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 08:25 AM   #5
Automan
Senior Member
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,182
Default

Have you checked for back-face culling option enabled? If you have the same behavior in Moddlviewer is surely a 3d problem.
__________________

ACER Predator Orion 9000: Windows 10 Home | Intel i9-7900X | 8x16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport@2666Mhz | Sapphire GTX1080TI | Intel 600P 256GB | Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB | Seagate Firecuda 2TB
ACER Predator XB281HK: 28" TN G-SYNC 4K@60hz
ThrustMaster Warthog Hotas, TFRP, MFD Cougar Pack, TrackIR 5
Automan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 02:29 PM   #6
Sirius
Member
 
Sirius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 398
Default

I have not. I will check when I get home!
__________________
"The average programmer now makes scripts that are more
idiot proof and user-friendly, but the average user only gets
stupider."


Spoiler:

PC Specs: AMD Ryzen 5, AMD Radeon RX 580, 8 GB DDR4, 128 HDD, 2 TB SSD
Modules: A-4E | AV-8BNA V/STOL, A-10C, AJS-37, C-101, F-14B, F-15C, F-86F, Ka-50, L-39, M-2000C, MiG-23UB, SA-342, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Su-25A, Su-27, Su-33, UH-1H
Discord: Sirius#8952
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 10:01 PM   #7
Sirius
Member
 
Sirius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Automan View Post
Have you checked for back-face culling option enabled? If you have the same behavior in Moddlviewer is surely a 3d problem.
Hi. I have checked, and the object properties of Back-face Culling was not enabled at all. I have attempted enabling it and disabling it with some tests, and the issue still remains.
__________________
"The average programmer now makes scripts that are more
idiot proof and user-friendly, but the average user only gets
stupider."


Spoiler:

PC Specs: AMD Ryzen 5, AMD Radeon RX 580, 8 GB DDR4, 128 HDD, 2 TB SSD
Modules: A-4E | AV-8BNA V/STOL, A-10C, AJS-37, C-101, F-14B, F-15C, F-86F, Ka-50, L-39, M-2000C, MiG-23UB, SA-342, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Su-25A, Su-27, Su-33, UH-1H
Discord: Sirius#8952
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 04:07 PM   #8
Automan
Senior Member
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,182
Default

Last 2 things to try: apply a normal modifer, check Unify, convert to editable poly and export edm.
If still doesn't work check reapply Normal Modifier, and check Flip normals, convert to edtiable poly and export edm.
__________________

ACER Predator Orion 9000: Windows 10 Home | Intel i9-7900X | 8x16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport@2666Mhz | Sapphire GTX1080TI | Intel 600P 256GB | Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB | Seagate Firecuda 2TB
ACER Predator XB281HK: 28" TN G-SYNC 4K@60hz
ThrustMaster Warthog Hotas, TFRP, MFD Cougar Pack, TrackIR 5
Automan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 07:26 PM   #9
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,306
Default

Make Material 2 Sided.
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 02:40 AM   #10
Sirius
Member
 
Sirius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
Make Material 2 Sided.
The materials had already been tested for 2 sided materials. Sadly, this does not work.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Automan View Post
Last 2 things to try: apply a normal modifer, check Unify, convert to editable poly and export edm.
If still doesn't work check reapply Normal Modifier, and check Flip normals, convert to edtiable poly and export edm.
I have tried both of these, and sadly neither of these work either. I wonder if I will have to re-make the external model animations all over again...
__________________
"The average programmer now makes scripts that are more
idiot proof and user-friendly, but the average user only gets
stupider."


Spoiler:

PC Specs: AMD Ryzen 5, AMD Radeon RX 580, 8 GB DDR4, 128 HDD, 2 TB SSD
Modules: A-4E | AV-8BNA V/STOL, A-10C, AJS-37, C-101, F-14B, F-15C, F-86F, Ka-50, L-39, M-2000C, MiG-23UB, SA-342, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Su-25A, Su-27, Su-33, UH-1H
Discord: Sirius#8952
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.