Mach Scale in Air Speed Indicator too Small - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2019, 07:01 AM   #1
Andrew8604
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 84
Default Mach Scale in Air Speed Indicator too Small

This may be a known issue. But I searched this forum and couldn't find it.

The Mach Scale in the inset window of the Air Speed Indicator is too small. The window size is ok, it's the scale that is too small or too coarse. There is a tick mark for 0.5 and the next mark is for 1.0. No graduations in between. I can't believe it is this way on the real F-15. Take a look at the DCS F-5E-3. The scale is much more expanded with a mark every 1/10th of a Mach and a half-mark in between those. See the pictures. The F-15C should have a Mach scale like the F-5E-3's, that goes from 0.5 to 2.8 or maybe 3.0. I don't know what the top value on the real indicator is.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	F-15C ASI Instrument.PNG
Views:	22
Size:	677.3 KB
ID:	206377   Click image for larger version

Name:	F-5E ASI Instrument.PNG
Views:	18
Size:	356.9 KB
ID:	206378  
Andrew8604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 09:09 PM   #2
draconus
Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 818
Default

From M1.0-2.5 there are 0.1 increments and this can be looked at in the real manual. I could not find anything on the gap between M0.5 and 1.0 though.
If you need an exact Mach number you can have it on the HUD in combat modes.
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:29 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.