USB Interfaces Vs. DCS-Bios

punk

Hello, my name is Punk and I am an addict. I have been collecting and gathering bits and pieces for over 10 years to build a home flight simulator. I have finally begun to test things in application vs. theory. This brings me to my question of you various fellows with a similar disease for your opinion of what works best for you when trying to make that physical connection between switches and in-game actions.

I have created two test panels, one using a Bodnar BBI-32 Button Box Interface and the other using a Desktopaviator MODEL 2120 Pulse Generator, both are identified in Windows and DCS.

I began with toggles of varying quality, but even brand new mil-spec switches seemed to be bad connections since once swapped out the issues cleared up in 1 or 2 cases, but not in others, regardless of quality.

I had a lot of issues when I attempted to bind these directly in the game's settings with some switches working, but most not. I have been checking connections and polarity layout between working and non-working switches.

I next used bindings in RSMapper. While it seems to work much better, there are a few non-responding switch actions on both boards. Better, but overall similar issues.

Recently I added some cheap push buttons I picked up and some work well, some work now and then, and a couple do not show up at all in Win/DCS and one bounces between two different inputs at the same time. One even causes the button and POV input page to freak out in RSMapper.

I have not used Arduinos before so no DCS-Bios. I have an Uno from years back I have yet to try out and a couple Nano V3.0 Mini USB ATmega328 CH340Gs in the mail. So, in each of your own opinions, are the board issues normal and to be worked around or might the DCS-Bios method improve these issues?

I was hoping to avoid learning the Arduino route until I began to focus on the lighting and gauges, etc... Thank you for your time.

Salute,

Punk