[REPORTED]Engine still runs with throttle in the stop position - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2019, 08:36 PM   #1
hazzer
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 508
Default [REPORTED]Engine still runs with throttle in the stop position

As the title says, you can put the throttle in the stop position and it will fire every few seconds and not shut down.
__________________
Asus GTX1080ti,I7-7800k, 32gb ram, SSD, Samsung Odyssey VR, MSFFB2, T-50 Throttle, Thrustmaster Rudder Pedals
hazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 08:46 PM   #2
grafspee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hazzer View Post
As the title says, you can put the throttle in the stop position and it will fire every few seconds and not shut down.
Try post track from it it will be easier to check it out. On my end i have no problems shuting down this bird. I've flown it today for quite time.
__________________
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 10:46 PM   #3
LeCuvier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South of France
Posts: 1,780
Default

In order to stop the engine the throttle must be set to the "AUS" position. There are several ways to do that:
1. Move the throttle as far back as you can and push RAlt + End on your keyboard. (the flight manual says "LAlt+End" but that's wrong.)
Similarly, when you do a cold start, yyou have to use the command "RAlt+Home" to move the throtlle from OFF to Start.

2. Bind a pushbutton to the command "Throttle to IDLE". The naming of the command is misleading. It really moves the throttle to AUS (=OFF). To stop the engine, move the throttle as far back as you can and push that button.
3. My solution:
I use the TM Warthog throttle which has a switch in each of the throttle levers. That switch closes contact when you pull the throttle over the "hump" to the OFF position. I have created a custom command by adding this line to the file "Throttle - HOTAS Warthog.lua":
Code:
{down = iCommandLeftEngineStop, up = iCommandLeftEngineStart, name = _('Throttle 2-Pos. OFF/IDLE'), category = _('Engine Control')},
and I have bound the throttle lever switch (JOY_BTN9) to that command. This solution handles both IDLE to OFF and OFF to IDLE in a natural manner.
__________________
LeCuvier
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit | i7-4790 CPU |16 GB RAM|SSD System Disk|SSD Gaming Disk| MSI GTX-1080 Gaming 8 GB| Acer XB270HU | TM Warthog HOTAS | VKB Gladiator Pro | MongoosT-50 | MFG Crosswind Pedals | TrackIR 5
LeCuvier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 10:52 PM   #4
hazzer
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeCuvier View Post
In order to stop the engine the throttle must be set to the "AUS" position. There are several ways to do that:
1. Move the throttle as far back as you can and push RAlt + End on your keyboard. (the flight manual says "LAlt+End" but that's wrong.)
Similarly, when you do a cold start, yyou have to use the command "RAlt+Home" to move the throtlle from OFF to Start.

2. Bind a pushbutton to the command "Throttle to IDLE". The naming of the command is misleading. It really moves the throttle to AUS (=OFF). To stop the engine, move the throttle as far back as you can and push that button.
3. My solution:
I use the TM Warthog throttle which has a switch in each of the throttle levers. That switch closes contact when you pull the throttle over the "hump" to the OFF position. I have created a custom command by adding this line to the file "Throttle - HOTAS Warthog.lua":
Code:
{down = iCommandLeftEngineStop, up = iCommandLeftEngineStart, name = _('Throttle 2-Pos. OFF/IDLE'), category = _('Engine Control')},
and I have bound the throttle lever switch (JOY_BTN9) to that command. This solution handles both IDLE to OFF and OFF to IDLE in a natural manner.
YES and as I have stated when I have done that the engine carries on running. The only way to stop it is to shut the fuel off or mags.
__________________
Asus GTX1080ti,I7-7800k, 32gb ram, SSD, Samsung Odyssey VR, MSFFB2, T-50 Throttle, Thrustmaster Rudder Pedals
hazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 09:55 AM   #5
LeCuvier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South of France
Posts: 1,780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hazzer View Post
YES and as I have stated when I have done that the engine carries on running. The only way to stop it is to shut the fuel off or mags.
That's weird! We all had that issue some time ago but it was fixed several updates ago. I suppose you have updated to the latest version in Open Beta? Maybe some file didn't update correctly, a repair might help.
__________________
LeCuvier
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit | i7-4790 CPU |16 GB RAM|SSD System Disk|SSD Gaming Disk| MSI GTX-1080 Gaming 8 GB| Acer XB270HU | TM Warthog HOTAS | VKB Gladiator Pro | MongoosT-50 | MFG Crosswind Pedals | TrackIR 5
LeCuvier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 10:09 AM   #6
hazzer
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeCuvier View Post
That's weird! We all had that issue some time ago but it was fixed several updates ago. I suppose you have updated to the latest version in Open Beta? Maybe some file didn't update correctly, a repair might help.
Using the latest version and have repaired this many times. The problem has always existed.
__________________
Asus GTX1080ti,I7-7800k, 32gb ram, SSD, Samsung Odyssey VR, MSFFB2, T-50 Throttle, Thrustmaster Rudder Pedals
hazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 11:28 AM   #7
grafspee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hazzer View Post
Using the latest version and have repaired this many times. The problem has always existed.
Can you post a track from it.
__________________
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 11:32 AM   #8
hazzer
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 508
Default

Will do when I get chance
__________________
Asus GTX1080ti,I7-7800k, 32gb ram, SSD, Samsung Odyssey VR, MSFFB2, T-50 Throttle, Thrustmaster Rudder Pedals
hazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 01:20 PM   #9
hazzer
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 508
Default

Here is the track.
Attached Files
File Type: trk Engine wont stop fw190a.trk (3.53 MB, 71 views)
__________________
Asus GTX1080ti,I7-7800k, 32gb ram, SSD, Samsung Odyssey VR, MSFFB2, T-50 Throttle, Thrustmaster Rudder Pedals
hazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 01:36 PM   #10
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 19,239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hazzer View Post
Here is the track.
Thanks, I can see it in your track, but I am unable to reproduce.

Ralt+End for Idle and it stops for me, could it be an axis issue?
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:29 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.