Harrier tgp coodinate format? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2019, 05:02 AM   #1
Joebooty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 10
Question Harrier tgp coodinate format?

A freind and I attempted to use the harriers tpod for targeting jdams from a hornet. It seems that the hornet uses an entirely different lat/long format than the hornet. Is there a way to change this or a coversion one can do?
Joebooty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 11:21 AM   #2
JNelson
Member
 
JNelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England, Gloucester
Posts: 216
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joebooty View Post
A freind and I attempted to use the harriers tpod for targeting jdams from a hornet. It seems that the hornet uses an entirely different lat/long format than the hornet. Is there a way to change this or a coversion one can do?
Take the last 3 digits and multiply by 0.06.

For example

N 4434067
E 3949600

would be 067 * 0.06 = 04.02
600 * 0.06 = 36.00

so the coordinates would be

N 44 34 04.02
E 39 49 36.00
__________________
Aerobatics Online Admin

Specs: i5 4690k @ 4.2, Nvidia GTX-1080, 16GB DDR3, 2 TB & 1 TB HDD.
Hardware: TM Warthog, Slaw RX Viper Pedals, TrackIR 4, Occulus Rift CV1
JNelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 11:25 AM   #3
Floydii
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 103
Default

Based on a similar question I asked about the current pod coord not matching anything else (including the Harrier's own nav system)here the current solution is, rather unhelpfully, 'do maths'

Granted that isn't the answer you probably wanted (It certainly wasn't what I was after). Until RAZBAM improve the functionality of the pod /nav system, you will need to do manual conversion.
Floydii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 12:07 AM   #4
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 2,178
Default

I'm kind of at a loss here, to understand how you would require the coordinates for the JDAM.

I thought the idea was that the TPOD on the Harrier lases the target, which the FA-18 then detects and feeds to the JDAM. Fly within the targeting envelope of the JDAM, fire(drop)-n-forget (the JDAM's targeting the laser-signal does all the work).

So where do the coordinates come in?
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 01:14 AM   #5
canadianbaken
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Orso View Post
I'm kind of at a loss here, to understand how you would require the coordinates for the JDAM.

I thought the idea was that the TPOD on the Harrier lases the target, which the FA-18 then detects and feeds to the JDAM. Fly within the targeting envelope of the JDAM, fire(drop)-n-forget (the JDAM's targeting the laser-signal does all the work).

So where do the coordinates come in?
You’re thinking of Laser Guided Bombs. A JDAM is Inertial Guided.
canadianbaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 12:41 PM   #6
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 2,178
Default

I didn't know that. I thought JDAM's were laser-guided

Never ending learning curve
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 01:26 PM   #7
kengou
Member
 
kengou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 307
Default

Even with laser guided bombs, the hornet couldn't pick up the laser energy right now without a TPOD of its own. It would still need coordinates or at least a close approximate location to drop the bombs onto.
__________________
Hangar: A-10A | A-10C | AJS-37 | AV-8B II NA | F-14 | F-15C | F-16C | F-5E II | F/A-18C | FW-190D-9 | JF-17 | KA-50 | M-2000C | MI-8MTV2 | MiG-15bis | MiG-21bis | MiG-29 | P-51D | UH-1H | SU-27 | SU-33


Cockpit: Virpil WarBRD | Thrustmaster Hornet Grip | Thrustmaster TWCS Throttle | VKB T-Rudder IV | TrackIR 5 | 2x Thrustmaster Cougar MFD panels
kengou is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 04:05 PM   #8
Razor18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 591
Default

You sure you had matching laser codes?
Razor18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 04:09 PM   #9
Kang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,230
Default

The problem the Hornet has there isn't that the bomb wouldn't guide, but that the Hornet (contrary to the Harrier) doesn't have a LST, so the pilot wouldn't have a (rough) aimpoint to drop at.
Kang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 10:08 PM   #10
ChickenSim
Member
 
ChickenSim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 165
Default

This is solved by manually inputting the target coordinates or getting a good visual talk-on or mark (smoke/flare/impacts/etc.) to the target area.

As long as the bomb is properly coded and dropped in such a manner that it can both see the properly-coded laser spot and physically reach it, you're golden. No TPOD necessary.
ChickenSim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
harrier, horner, jdam, lat/long, tpod

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:08 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.