The Ultimate DCS World JSGME Guide - If you use mods, you need this. - Page 50 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2018, 02:16 PM   #491
DracoLlasa
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 217
Default

i was running JSGME today with the updated 2.5, and it continued to 'hang'.
after a few failures i decide to take a closer look. after examining the snapshot file after each time it 'hung' i found the most likely cause was that it hit the file:
DCS World OpenBeta\Mods\terrains\Caucasus\Surface\Caucasus.surface5

being a 32bit application, my guess is that its not able to load up this 6+GB file to generate the needed CRC (or whatever hash it uses), as this is where it seems to keep hanging.

I will move to OvGME to see if that works better.
[update: OvGME being 64bit, did in fact work fine]
__________________

i5 8600K OC @ 5.0GHz w/ Corsair H100i Liquid Cooler| MSI GTX 1080 OC Edition | 32GB DDR4 3600 | EVO 960 NVMe SSD | WD Black NVMe SSD
Win10 X64 | TrackIR 5 | HTC Vive | Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS and Cougar MFDs | Saitek Combat Pedals

Last edited by DracoLlasa; 02-09-2018 at 03:27 PM. Reason: OvGME Status
DracoLlasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 02:20 PM   #492
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 1,881
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DracoLlasa View Post
... after examining the snapshot file after each time it 'hung' i found the most likely cause was that it hit the file:
DCS World OpenBeta\Mods\terrains\Caucasus\Surface\Caucasus.surface5

being a 32bit application, my guess is that its not able to load up this 6+GB file to generate the needed CRC (or whatever hash it uses), as this is where it seems to keep hanging.

I will move to OvGME to see if that works better.

Maybe OvGME wont have trouble with the file size, but I wonder if its wise to use old terrain Mods with the new version of Caucasus
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 02:45 PM   #493
DracoLlasa
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
Maybe OvGME wont have trouble with the file size, but I wonder if its wise to use old terrain Mods with the new version of Caucasus
that is not a mod.. the issue i was describing was with JSGME taking a 'file snapshot' of the default installation. that file referenced is part of my default 2.5 OB install, no mods.
__________________

i5 8600K OC @ 5.0GHz w/ Corsair H100i Liquid Cooler| MSI GTX 1080 OC Edition | 32GB DDR4 3600 | EVO 960 NVMe SSD | WD Black NVMe SSD
Win10 X64 | TrackIR 5 | HTC Vive | Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS and Cougar MFDs | Saitek Combat Pedals
DracoLlasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 03:17 PM   #494
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 1,881
Default

Ahh ... ok, sorry, I didnt catch your reference to a snapshot file
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 03:24 PM   #495
DracoLlasa
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 217
Default

Its ok, my guess/hope is that OvGME is 64bit, it will be able to hand the 6GB file.. since 32bit is limited to 4GB files and stuff.. thats why im assume JSGME is not longer a usable too with DCS, as it now contains single files larger than 4GB..

OvGME file snapshot process ran perfectly, so i will just have to stick with that going forward
__________________

i5 8600K OC @ 5.0GHz w/ Corsair H100i Liquid Cooler| MSI GTX 1080 OC Edition | 32GB DDR4 3600 | EVO 960 NVMe SSD | WD Black NVMe SSD
Win10 X64 | TrackIR 5 | HTC Vive | Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS and Cougar MFDs | Saitek Combat Pedals

Last edited by DracoLlasa; 02-09-2018 at 03:28 PM.
DracoLlasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 11:48 AM   #496
ilgrillo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
Default

It takes about 2hrs to make the first task?
I stopped the program. I think that something was wrong.
ilgrillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 02:23 PM   #497
DracoLlasa
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 217
Default

You have to switch to OvGME, the 64bit version.
Because the latest version of DCS:W has individual files larger than 4GB, the 32bit JSGME cannot perform a file snapshot which something want from a mod manager.
Besides, OvGME is very easy and its being actively maintained.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
__________________

i5 8600K OC @ 5.0GHz w/ Corsair H100i Liquid Cooler| MSI GTX 1080 OC Edition | 32GB DDR4 3600 | EVO 960 NVMe SSD | WD Black NVMe SSD
Win10 X64 | TrackIR 5 | HTC Vive | Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS and Cougar MFDs | Saitek Combat Pedals
DracoLlasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 11:56 PM   #498
Alpenwolf
Senior Member
 
Alpenwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1,085
Default

How can I make JSGME work for both release and open beta DCS versions? Especially when you have to assign a "target location" as if to tell the mod where to operate.
Alpenwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 10:19 AM   #499
DracoLlasa
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 217
Default

Switch to OvGME as notes in my post reight before yours. It uas support for mutiple versions/instances.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
__________________

i5 8600K OC @ 5.0GHz w/ Corsair H100i Liquid Cooler| MSI GTX 1080 OC Edition | 32GB DDR4 3600 | EVO 960 NVMe SSD | WD Black NVMe SSD
Win10 X64 | TrackIR 5 | HTC Vive | Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS and Cougar MFDs | Saitek Combat Pedals
DracoLlasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 12:41 PM   #500
Alpenwolf
Senior Member
 
Alpenwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1,085
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DracoLlasa View Post
Switch to OvGME as notes in my post reight before yours. It uas support for mutiple versions/instances.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Will do. Thanks.
Alpenwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
jsgme, mods

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.