Insanely long load times - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2018, 04:10 PM   #1
Blubbl74
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
Unhappy Insanely long load times

Hi there guys,
I just tried out Dcs 2.0 Beta but barely did some reals testing on it as even the editor loads about 20 minutes!(!!).
Apart from that, the game was running very well, despite my aging pc.

Im going insane with such ages of loading.
Although my hard drive isn't the newest, dcs 1.5 did load in about 1.5 minutes, even the editor was pretty quick.

Anyone having ideas?
Thanks

My System:
Windows 10 Home 64bit
AMD Fx6300 @3.5GHz
8GB DDR3 Ram
2TB HDD / 250GB SSD (System)
GTX 750TI oc / 2GB VRAM
Blubbl74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 04:17 PM   #2
59th | Decoy
Senior Member
 
59th | Decoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Arundel, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,612
Default

Hi and welxome.

Your system just meets the min specs.

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c.../world/stable/


Try cleaning up your drive.
Make sure all drivers are up to date
Repair dcs

And see what happens but most with 8gb struggle with load times
__________________
DECOY (Lead Admin)

i7-7700K oc at 5Ghz | GTX 1080ti | 32GB DDR4 Ram | Warthog & Saitek Peddles | CV1
Our Website | Our Facebook Page | YouTube Channel

59th | Decoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 08:20 PM   #3
uscstaylor
Senior Member
 
uscstaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Galloway, NJ
Posts: 1,693
Default

There's a memory leak that ED is currently trying to fix..I believe that's a huge part of the problem...seen it before in other games and once they fixed it, it worked 100% better. so we'll have to wait and see.
__________________

http://www.vvma-231.com/

Spoiler:
Gigabyte Z-270X G7 Motherboard, Intel i7- 6700K @ 4.2 Ghz, Water Cooled | 2TB FireCuda Gaming SSHD l 32gb Cruicbal Ballistix Sport LT DDR4 2400 Mhz l Gigayte GeForce GTX 1070 Xtreme video card | TM Warthog HOTAS+ Extension|T-Rudder Pedals Mk. III |Track IR5 Pro| Windows 10 64 bit
uscstaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 02:54 AM   #4
FlyingTexan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 33
Default

Maybe, maybe not. I found it's the distance option in the settings. I'm still working out all the bugs in my system but bring the Pre-load radius down. Clicking "high" makes it 60,000 and that kept me from crashing and loading in about 60 seconds or so.
FlyingTexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 04:31 AM   #5
uscstaylor
Senior Member
 
uscstaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Galloway, NJ
Posts: 1,693
Default

My system I have turned the distance down but there's still rediclous load times. I just hope ED fixes the issues cause it sucks and it's getting old real quick.
__________________

http://www.vvma-231.com/

Spoiler:
Gigabyte Z-270X G7 Motherboard, Intel i7- 6700K @ 4.2 Ghz, Water Cooled | 2TB FireCuda Gaming SSHD l 32gb Cruicbal Ballistix Sport LT DDR4 2400 Mhz l Gigayte GeForce GTX 1070 Xtreme video card | TM Warthog HOTAS+ Extension|T-Rudder Pedals Mk. III |Track IR5 Pro| Windows 10 64 bit
uscstaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 02:53 AM   #6
Aluminum Donkey
Member
 
Aluminum Donkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cambridge, ON, O Canada, Eh
Posts: 427
Default

What y'all need is a fast M.2 SSD. I still get stuttering unfortunately, but a really zippy M.2 drive like a Samsung 960 or a Corsair MP500 makes loading times mercifully short.

A regular hard disk won't do anymore, DCS World is huge, and to start a mission, you're loading gigabytes upon gigabytes of stuff. A normal SATA SSD is the minimum I'd go with, and a small (250 GB) M.2 NVMe drive isn't much more expensive.

I just wish I could fix the damn stuttering, but I have a hankering that I'll have to wait for years for ED to get around to fixing it for me, and man does that ever suck.

AD
__________________
Kit:
Asus Z170-P, i5-6600k at 4.5 GHz, 1.35V w/ CM Hyper 212 EVO, 2 x 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 4 @ 3000MHz 15-15-15-35, Zotac GTX 1070, HP Omen 32" 2560x1440 single screen, Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS w/ Leo Bodnar's BU0836A controller in place of crappy original electronics

Flying: The art of throwing yourself at the ground, and having all the rules and regulations get in the way!

If man was meant to fly, he would have been born with a lot more money!
Aluminum Donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 08:58 PM   #7
uscstaylor
Senior Member
 
uscstaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Galloway, NJ
Posts: 1,693
Default

I have an SSD, I believe its the memory leak problem that has ED bugged right now. Once that is solved we'll see much faster everything.
__________________

http://www.vvma-231.com/

Spoiler:
Gigabyte Z-270X G7 Motherboard, Intel i7- 6700K @ 4.2 Ghz, Water Cooled | 2TB FireCuda Gaming SSHD l 32gb Cruicbal Ballistix Sport LT DDR4 2400 Mhz l Gigayte GeForce GTX 1070 Xtreme video card | TM Warthog HOTAS+ Extension|T-Rudder Pedals Mk. III |Track IR5 Pro| Windows 10 64 bit
uscstaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 08:16 PM   #8
Blubbl74
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Hope they get to fix it.
Thanks so far
Blubbl74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 04:47 PM   #9
Черный Дракул
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aluminum Donkey View Post
What y'all need is a fast M.2 SSD.
Nope. DCS needs to be optimized to load fast and without stutters.
Fast SSD is just a hotfix for the situation on the user side. But it should not be like this.
__________________
They are not vulching... they are STRAFING!!!
Черный Дракул is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 03:39 AM   #10
Aluminum Donkey
Member
 
Aluminum Donkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cambridge, ON, O Canada, Eh
Posts: 427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Черный Дракул View Post
Nope. DCS needs to be optimized to load fast and without stutters.
Fast SSD is just a hotfix for the situation on the user side. But it should not be like this.
I'm inclined to agree with you, but I'd settle for long load times and no stutter, rather than fast loading with stutter.

As it is right now, we get the worst of both worlds, and I really wish ED would get a handle on the stuttering. I can live with long load times; the NVMe SSD helps a lot with that.

AD
__________________
Kit:
Asus Z170-P, i5-6600k at 4.5 GHz, 1.35V w/ CM Hyper 212 EVO, 2 x 8GB GSkill Ripjaws 4 @ 3000MHz 15-15-15-35, Zotac GTX 1070, HP Omen 32" 2560x1440 single screen, Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS w/ Leo Bodnar's BU0836A controller in place of crappy original electronics

Flying: The art of throwing yourself at the ground, and having all the rules and regulations get in the way!

If man was meant to fly, he would have been born with a lot more money!
Aluminum Donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:16 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.