New Z390 Build Upcoming - finally! - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2019, 11:32 AM   #21
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,511
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrohde View Post
That's why I usually clone old hard drive > new hard drive. Much less hassle, frustration, and time wasted.
Tempting, but I really want to do a clean new install - kind of get cobwebs all out so to speak LOL.
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro|VPC T-50 |Warthog Throttle|MFG Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 11:37 AM   #22
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,511
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
which case did you choose by the way ?
EVGA DG87.
https://www.evga.com/products/produc...100-E1-1236-K0
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro|VPC T-50 |Warthog Throttle|MFG Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 11:42 AM   #23
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,511
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MegOhm_SD View Post
Agree with cloning if you take out the trash first.

@Dburne, what was the bottom line for that build (from where) if you dont mind me asking?
I would be afraid to add it all up...


I have been purchasing the parts for the past 10 weeks or so, really do not know off top of my head.
Mostly Amazon and EVGA, got one item I think from New Egg.
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro|VPC T-50 |Warthog Throttle|MFG Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 02:04 PM   #24
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,511
Default

Guys,
I have been running Windows 10 Home, and have been pleased with it.
Planning on installing it on this new build.

Any compelling reason to consider upgrading to Windows 10 Pro? I have compared the differences and really do not see anything to make me think I should go with Pro for what I do?
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro|VPC T-50 |Warthog Throttle|MFG Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 04:59 PM   #25
Gearbox
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dburne View Post
Guys,
I have been running Windows 10 Home, and have been pleased with it.
Planning on installing it on this new build.

Any compelling reason to consider upgrading to Windows 10 Pro? I have compared the differences and really do not see anything to make me think I should go with Pro for what I do?

Nah, the main difference is that Pro has features for corporate environments like the ability to join a domain.
Gearbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 07:08 PM   #26
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,511
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearbox View Post
Nah, the main difference is that Pro has features for corporate environments like the ability to join a domain.
Yeah after looking more into it, think I will stay with Home.

Thanks,
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro|VPC T-50 |Warthog Throttle|MFG Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 08:20 PM   #27
chaos
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 437
Default

I believe that one nice feature that Pro has over Home is to defer an update (up to 35 days, Targeted or Semi-Annual). Is it worth the extra? That you have to decide for yourself...
__________________
"It's not the years, honey. It's the mileage..."
chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 10:00 PM   #28
Svsmokey
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 911
Default

I'm running Pro and have updates shut down altogether . Took some digging though .
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , TiR5 , BenQ 1080p monitor , CH hotas and pedals

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 10:54 PM   #29
Gearbox
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 224
Default

Even in Pro you have to do registry hacks to make it think you set a domain policy or it will just update in the middle of the day while you're trying to use it.
Gearbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 10:59 PM   #30
Svsmokey
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 911
Default

Never touched the registry...can't tell you how i did it , but googled "how to..."& clicked till i found it .
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , TiR5 , BenQ 1080p monitor , CH hotas and pedals

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:46 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.