New Z390 Build Upcoming - finally! - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2019, 05:56 PM   #11
MegOhm_SD
Senior Member
 
MegOhm_SD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NC-USA
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrohde View Post
That's why I usually clone old hard drive > new hard drive. Much less hassle, frustration, and time wasted.
Agree with cloning if you take out the trash first.

@Dburne, what was the bottom line for that build (from where) if you dont mind me asking?
__________________
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO Test Bench, ASUS P8Z77-V, i7-3770K @ 4.6GHz, Noctua AC, 32GB Corsair Vengeance Pro, EVGA 1080TI 11GB, 2 Samsung 840 Pro 540GB SSDs Raid 0, 1TB HDD, EVGA SuperNOVA 1300W PS, G930 Wireless SS Headset, TrackIR5/Wireless Proclip, TM Warthog, Saitek Pro Combat Pedals, 65" Samsung 4k 8 Series, Oculus Rift!, Win 10
MegOhm_SD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 08:30 PM   #12
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrohde View Post
That's why I usually clone old hard drive > new hard drive. Much less hassle, frustration, and time wasted.

*IF* you have access to fast Internet, it honestly dosn't take long Maybe a two or three hours tops.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 08:55 PM   #13
rrohde
Veteran
 
rrohde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oklahoma is OK
Posts: 3,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
*IF* you have access to fast Internet, it honestly dosn't take long Maybe a two or three hours tops.
Not sure what Internet access has to do with cloning a hard drive (incl Operating System and everything) to a new one?

I usually install the new hard drive into my current PC, and then boot from a Ubuntu stick, ensure that I identify the old hard drive and the new hard drive as target correctly, and then use "dd" from the command line to do a low-level, sector by sector clone. No Internet required for that.
__________________

PC: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz @ 5.1GHz | MSI GTX 1080 TI | ASUS Maximus IX Hero | 32GB DDR4 RAM | 512GB Samsung 850 PRO SSD | Win10 Pro 64bit | Oculus Rift CV1 | Samsung Odyssey+ | Jetseat 908 | Monstertech MTX Sim Rig | VKB Gunfighter Pro Mk.II w/ MCG PRO




rrohde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 09:01 PM   #14
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,348
Default

which case did you choose by the way ?
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 09:11 PM   #15
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrohde View Post
Not sure what Internet access has to do with cloning a hard drive (incl Operating System and everything) to a new one?

I usually install the new hard drive into my current PC, and then boot from a Ubuntu stick, ensure that I identify the old hard drive and the new hard drive as target correctly, and then use "dd" from the command line to do a low-level, sector by sector clone. No Internet required for that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
*IF* you have access to fast Internet, it honestly dosn't take long Maybe a two or three hours tops.

...down the line, if it's a brand new build, you will likely install your OS, no matter which one, more than once

__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 10:23 PM   #16
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrohde View Post
Not sure what Internet access has to do with cloning a hard drive (incl Operating System and everything) to a new one?

I usually install the new hard drive into my current PC, and then boot from a Ubuntu stick, ensure that I identify the old hard drive and the new hard drive as target correctly, and then use "dd" from the command line to do a low-level, sector by sector clone. No Internet required for that.
No, I meant not cloning it. It can take about 30min to clone, another 20min updating the drivers/reboot.s And by that time, I would have been done downloading and configuring Win10 from scratch.

Another 90min to download DCS, or copy it from the old drive, and sundry apps.

That's what I mean.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 12:10 AM   #17
etherbattx
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 191
Default

for a once in 5 year build with all new hardware, it would be a shame to start out with a HD full of detritus and out of date drivers for hardware you no longer have, just to save a few hours of time.
etherbattx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 12:11 AM   #18
etherbattx
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
I would have been done downloading and configuring Win10 from scratch.
agree. i just recently installed Win10 Pro from scratch in less than 1/2hr.
etherbattx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 07:53 AM   #19
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,348
Default

With my 500/50 pipe, I can almost download DCS faster ( the core DCS ) than I can unpack and install it

Yeah, a big pipe makes a BIG difference there, WIn10 bootstick, Updates, Steam/Origin/etc... all done in no time.

Whereas if I still had a 25/5 pipe...OMG...yeah...gimme "dd" or clonezilla etc... for the 1st iteration..HAHA
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 11:30 AM   #20
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SGT Coyle View Post
So I'm trying to determine my needs, as far as a new build this year. Preferably the 1stQ. Gotta be able to suport 9 usb 3.0 devices (Controllers, mouse, keyboard, and Oculs), and at least 2 SSDs, and an M.2 device.



Primarily a DCS/VR dedicated machine.



How do see your choice of hardware fairing with these requirements?
Well as Gearbox said, you really do not need USB 3 for your controllers, mouse, and keyboard.
Oculus of course does, and ideally needs 3 USB 3 Ports ( if two sensors).
If you get a 20X series of GPU, you can use the Virtual Link Port for the Oculus connections. I use mine and it works quite well. Even have the Rift HDMI running through it.

My specs on my new build are fairly high end and certainly not required, but as I do all my gaming in VR and was able to I wanted to go all out , plus I like to keep a system at least 5 years or so.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | i9 9900k CPU | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB m.2 Nvme | Samsung 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme | Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA SSD | EVGA DG 87 Case |
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:50 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.