Oculus Rift with DCS World Discussion - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2016, 07:37 PM   #1
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 25,321
Default Oculus Rift with DCS World Discussion

Discuss all things Oculus Rift with in DCS World.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 08:01 PM   #2
bart
Senior Member
 
bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buckinghamshire UK
Posts: 1,089
Default

Thanks for the thread SiTh,

I posted this on the other messy thread, but now that's closed I thought I would post here and hope for an answer!

Following on from the other thread I had issues flagged up from running the OR system checker tool, then I tried the Steam VR tool.....


I just ran the Steam VR test and all checks out

However I will have to upgrade and install more USB 3.0 ports as I only have 3 at the moment.

and another issue...


Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla
Their Compatibility Tool is Super Strict, Like Extremely Strict.

On that note, the MAJOR Issue that alot of people are runnning into is USB3 controllers,
ASMedia and Eltron are extremely problematic, Eltron USB3 drivers will blue screen your system either immediately after you plug in the HMD, or it will lock up the driver and you're system's USB3 ports will no longer detect devices as they are attached or removed, and eventually blue screen when the driver times out.





Ok, When I ran the test on the OR site it also flagged up about my USB's it's response was.....
"Renesas Electronics USB 3.0 Host Controller"

now I'm not sure what this is but if I added an extra PCI-E USB card to get some extra USB ports, would this eliminate the issue?

Excuse my ignorance on PC hardware, I can get by on the usual stuff but this is getting a bit cloudy now!!
__________________
System :-
i7-7820X, ASUS ROG Strix X229, 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3600MHz, 11GB Nvidia Geforce 1080Ti, 1x 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO, 1x 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2, Windows 10. VPC WarBRD Base with HOTAS Warthog Stick and Throttle, Saitek combat rudder pedals, Oculus Rift S and CV1.


.....................................................................................................................................................

Last edited by bart; 04-14-2016 at 08:03 PM.
bart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 08:03 PM   #3
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 25,321
Default

Your system looks pretty decent to me, I have a better processor, but my vid card is only a 780GTX... DK2 works pretty well on my system, I think you should be ok. Obviously DCS itself is improving all the time as well...
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 08:22 PM   #4
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,769
Default

I'd Search the Oculus forums to see if anyone has any issues w/ that Specific Controller.

If you do have problems with it, this is the controller the Oculus Staff member has been telling people to get:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FPIMJEW
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
X470 Taichi Ultimate, 2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Oculus HMD,
Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS + MFDs, CH Fighterstick+Pro Throttle+Pro Pedals
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 09:40 PM   #5
bart
Senior Member
 
bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Buckinghamshire UK
Posts: 1,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
I'd Search the Oculus forums to see if anyone has any issues w/ that Specific Controller.

If you do have problems with it, this is the controller the Oculus Staff member has been telling people to get:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FPIMJEW
Thanks Skate, that's the one I was looking at getting.
__________________
System :-
i7-7820X, ASUS ROG Strix X229, 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3600MHz, 11GB Nvidia Geforce 1080Ti, 1x 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO, 1x 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2, Windows 10. VPC WarBRD Base with HOTAS Warthog Stick and Throttle, Saitek combat rudder pedals, Oculus Rift S and CV1.


.....................................................................................................................................................
bart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 10:39 PM   #6
Phantom88
Senior Member
 
Phantom88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: "Sweet Home Chicago"
Posts: 2,357
Default

Is anyone playing DCS/Oculas through a USB Hub? Thank You
__________________
Patrick
Phantom88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 12:23 AM   #7
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,769
Default

On that note,
If you have to use a MiniDP/Display Port to HDMI Adapter,
DO NOT use an Active adapter, they will not work.

Confirmed with an Oculus Staff Member.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
X470 Taichi Ultimate, 2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Oculus HMD,
Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS + MFDs, CH Fighterstick+Pro Throttle+Pro Pedals
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 09:41 AM   #8
Icebear
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 102
Default

Yesterday I received my CV1 and tried it immediately.
But I got no sound in my HMD. What did I do wrong?
Icebear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 09:58 AM   #9
X93355
Member
 
X93355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
Posts: 464
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icebear View Post
Yesterday I received my CV1 and tried it immediately.
But I got no sound in my HMD. What did I do wrong?
It's broken, you need to send it to NZ for testing
__________________
InWin S Frame with Asus Z170 | i7-6700K @ 4.5 Water Cooled CPU and Graphics | 16GB DDR4 | GTX1070 | 240GB M.2 SSD | Warthog Hotas | MFG Crosswind | 40" Samsung 4K | CV1 | Replica MB Mk10 Ejection Seat with Gametrix 908
X93355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 12:16 PM   #10
VO101_MMaister
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 135
Default

Hi,

what is the general experience about min. PC config to play DCS with oculus at least at medium setting?

I have a i7 2600k at 4,3Ghz + 970 GTX card. Is it good enough?
VO101_MMaister is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:54 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.