Inconsistent heading - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2019, 05:14 PM   #1
lkyfly0957
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 9
Default Inconsistent heading

Emergency help, my true heading is the same as that on HUD, shouldn't there be a difference of 6 degrees in Caucasus? The following figure
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190803_010219.jpg
Views:	150
Size:	996.0 KB
ID:	214801   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190803_010226.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	1.64 MB
ID:	214802   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190803_010237.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	1,011.4 KB
ID:	214803  


Last edited by lkyfly0957; 08-02-2019 at 05:18 PM.
lkyfly0957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 07:19 PM   #2
kengou
Member
 
kengou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 118
Default

This could happen if True heading is selected in the HSI > Data > AC page, rather than Magnetic.
__________________
Tyrannosaurs in F-14s!!


Hangar: A-10A | A-10C | AJS-37 | AV-8B II NA | F-14 | F-15C | F-5E II | F/A-18C | FW-190D-9 | KA-50 | M-2000C | MI-8MTV2 | MiG-15bis | MiG-21bis | P-51D | UH-1H | SU-27


Cockpit: CH Fighterstick | Thrustmaster TWCS Throttle | VKB T-Rudder IV | TrackIR 5
kengou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2019, 02:44 PM   #3
lkyfly0957
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kengou View Post
This could happen if True heading is selected in the HSI > Data > AC page, rather than Magnetic.
I have already selected the plane in HSI to display the magnetic heading, but this is still the same as the heading provided by F2 perspective. You can take a closer look at these three pictures of me, and it is strange that this phenomenon only happens to me and another player, and the other players are normal.
lkyfly0957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2019, 04:42 PM   #4
Sarge55
Senior Member
 
Sarge55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Richmond, Canada
Posts: 1,524
Default

Sounds like a mod might be affecting your setup.

Do you run any mods? If so you'll have to do the usual drill, clean install and check. Then add mods until you find the one affecting your setup.
__________________

i7 3770K OC 4.4GHZ / H100 Cooler / 120GB & 240GB SSD's & 1TB HDD / ASUS Sabertooth MB / GTX 980 / 16GB RAM / Win 10 / TrackIR 4 Pro / CH Pedals / TM Warthog
Sarge55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 05:42 PM   #5
lkyfly0957
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 9
Default

I am going to be tortured crazy by this problem. I installed the game again, but it is useless. There is still this problem. I hope someone can help me solve this problem.
lkyfly0957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 04:01 PM   #6
derammo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 96
Default

Stabbing in the dark / dim light: does this happen with every mission file or just a specific one? If it is a specific mission, maybe try changing the date of the mission start to something a lot different to see if you get any change. That could at least confirm if your setup still has a magnetic declination model .

Btw, can’t you just display the magnetic declination in the Data pages? I kinda think I remember it is in there (the actual +/- degrees value.) That would also establish whether your magnetic declination model is screwed up or if it is just not adding it into the heading displayed in the cockpit. Might at least help chase it down.
derammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 06:09 PM   #7
lkyfly0957
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by derammo View Post
Stabbing in the dark / dim light: does this happen with every mission file or just a specific one? If it is a specific mission, maybe try changing the date of the mission start to something a lot different to see if you get any change. That could at least confirm if your setup still has a magnetic declination model .

Btw, can’t you just display the magnetic declination in the Data pages? I kinda think I remember it is in there (the actual +/- degrees value.) That would also establish whether your magnetic declination model is screwed up or if it is just not adding it into the heading displayed in the cockpit. Might at least help chase it down.

First of all, thank you for your answer. I changed the task time, but it didn't work. when I was testing A10C, I suddenly found a problem. perhaps this picture of A10C is more illustrative. my magnetic declination in the Caucasus region is 0
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190815_020126.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	974.4 KB
ID:	215484   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_190815_020129.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	1.58 MB
ID:	215485  
lkyfly0957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 11:46 PM   #8
derammo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 96
Default

I would be very surprised if it was limited to Caucasus. The magvar data is here (see screen shot with path into DCS folders) and it is worldwide data from NOAA. So if your airplane model knows its latitude and longitude and date / time, then it will get the variance (declination) from this model. Take a peek in that folder and see if it is messed up. I know you said you reinstalled, but this makes zero sense to me. Maybe some mod management software you are using blew it away or some other accident happened.

If that isn't the problem then I would check the DCS error log next to see if it says something like "oh crap I can't load my COF dll" or something like that . Sorry I am just making educated guesses, you probably need an expert (like from ED.)

For interest, here is the source of the data:
https://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/geomag/data.shtml
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cof_data.PNG
Views:	31
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	215502  
derammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 02:06 PM   #9
lkyfly0957
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by derammo View Post
I would be very surprised if it was limited to Caucasus. The magvar data is here (see screen shot with path into DCS folders) and it is worldwide data from NOAA. So if your airplane model knows its latitude and longitude and date / time, then it will get the variance (declination) from this model. Take a peek in that folder and see if it is messed up. I know you said you reinstalled, but this makes zero sense to me. Maybe some mod management software you are using blew it away or some other accident happened.

If that isn't the problem then I would check the DCS error log next to see if it says something like "oh crap I can't load my COF dll" or something like that . Sorry I am just making educated guesses, you probably need an expert (like from ED.)

For interest, here is the source of the data:
https://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/geomag/data.shtml
This problem does not exist only in Caucasian maps, but also in Nevada maps, and because of my very poor English, I don't quite understand what you said.
Now, I just want to know how to solve this problem
lkyfly0957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 02:20 PM   #10
lkyfly0957
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lkyfly0957 View Post
This problem does not exist only in Caucasian maps, but also in Nevada maps, and because of my very poor English, I don't quite understand what you said.
Now, I just want to know how to solve this problem
[
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	QQ截图20190815221842.png
Views:	28
Size:	98.7 KB
ID:	215531  
lkyfly0957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:20 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.