Using OvGME to apply & manage Mods - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2019, 05:57 PM   #41
davebert
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
Yes, you need one Config for every destination folder where you intend to install Mods. DCS uses two folders: the Sim itself is on Program Files, so to install Mods there I use this Config:



and DCS also uses a folder within Saved Games, to install those Mods I use this other Config:



Installing a Mod is basically copying a bunch of files from where you store your Mods (Mods folder) onto the game folder (Root folder) ... and in order to be able to later undo the Mod, the Mod Manager also needs a place to store the original files (Backup folder)

Best regards

Thanks Eduardo, makes perfect sense. I only had a few mods in the saved games folder and don't know if I even have any in the games folder...yet. So it was a good time for me to get OVGME set up so I will avoid problems with mods in the future. I appreciate the help.
Thanks
davebert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 02:22 PM   #42
davebert
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 258
Default

Eduardo, How do you implement the Custom Backup Folder? I have added one to each build but am not sure if we just manually add the mods to the folder for safe keeping, or there is a button to click that does it automatically?

Thanks
davebert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 04:21 PM   #43
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 4,246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davebert View Post
Eduardo, How do you implement the Custom Backup Folder? I have added one to each build but am not sure if we just manually add the mods to the folder for safe keeping, or there is a button to click that does it automatically?

The Backup is not for your Mods, its a folder where OvGME stores the original DCS files that your Mod modifies .. then when you disable a Mod, OvGME takes the original files from this backup location and puts them back on their original position.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 11:45 PM   #44
davebert
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
The Backup is not for your Mods, its a folder where OvGME stores the original DCS files that your Mod modifies .. then when you disable a Mod, OvGME takes the original files from this backup location and puts them back on their original position.

Ahhh, I see. Ok, thanks for the info. I likely didn't realize that as I am just doing some simple skin mods in the beta version in the saved games folder. When I checked the backups folder it was empty whether the mod was enabled and disabled.

Last edited by davebert; 08-14-2019 at 11:54 PM.
davebert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ovgme

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:01 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.