Significant reduction in rudder required on takeoff ? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2019, 11:29 AM   #11
msalama
Veteran
 
msalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,964
Default

Quote:
game mode is automatically selected after an update.
After patching DCS you mean? Have never seen this happen. The sim has always kept my settings from version to version.
__________________
Huey probs & gripes? Do read the following please: https://forums.eagle.ru/attachment.p...1&d=1555258147
msalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 09:17 AM   #12
1987kess
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mig Fulcrum View Post
I have this problem since the release day, I try to go straight but the plane turn left because of the rudder, I ask for a fix nearly one year ago but no words from the developers.

Actually I think that's the right behaviour and the OP is currently asking for the absence of this rudder needs.
1987kess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 09:52 AM   #13
TheSkipjack95
Member
 
TheSkipjack95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Noisiel, France
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1987kess View Post
Actually I think that's the right behaviour and the OP is currently asking for the absence of this rudder needs.

Yep, on release and up until a few weeks ago, the Yak needed what seemed like a normal bootful of rudder to counter the right turning tendencies, and the rudder behaviour generally made sense.


After the last couple updates though, the rudder seems to have a mind of its own, somewhat attempting to counter the torque on takeoff, and then staying just left of centre for the rest of the flight.



I know the trim tab system (the one for the ground adjustable trim tabs) is still WIP, so I thought it might be that, but I don't know, hence this thread.
TheSkipjack95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 06:58 PM   #14
AeriaGloria
Member
 
AeriaGloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 729
Default

You tried turning off the new auto trim setting?
AeriaGloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 09:41 AM   #15
TheSkipjack95
Member
 
TheSkipjack95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Noisiel, France
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AeriaGloria View Post
You tried turning off the new auto trim setting?

Yep, autotrimmer, autorudder are both OFF, takeoff assistance to 0, trims centered, and I even disconnected my pedals.


I even reinstalled DCS a few days ago (unrelated to this though), and the problem persists.
TheSkipjack95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 05:46 PM   #16
BIGNEWY
Moderator
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 15,516
Default

Just to check you are using sim and not game mode correct?

I just tested my yak, seems ok for me.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR
Forum rules - Crash advice - Cleanup and repair - Discord BIGNEWY#8703
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 03:59 PM   #17
Hoffster
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 195
Default

Hmm this is indeed a strange one. I Tested it now and i can takeoff without using rudder. A slight right turn att full power but then the control indicator auto trims to the left and it straightens out by itself. I Did check that none of the help boxes was ticked multiple times. I tried to activate auto rudder in the Yak misc menu, and got the exact same result as without it. Yaw indicator stays trimmed to the left during the whole climb out and even at cruise. Feeling like something has "stuck" in the settings.
Hoffster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 06:26 PM   #18
AeriaGloria
Member
 
AeriaGloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 729
Default

And there is no elevator and roll trim bei;g automatically applied?
AeriaGloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 06:34 PM   #19
Hoffster
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AeriaGloria View Post
And there is no elevator and roll trim bei;g automatically applied?
No. Flies as it used to in normal flight. That means slight right rudder to keep coordinated in cruise. But control indicator shows constant left applied rudder regardless of speed and power applied. Other aircraft are fine.
Hoffster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 01:03 AM   #20
AeriaGloria
Member
 
AeriaGloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 729
Default

Yeah no idea you should file a support ticket
AeriaGloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flight model, pfm, rudder

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:52 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.