Forrestal Development Update: Deck Crew WiP! - Page 10 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2017, 07:50 AM   #91
tekrc
Junior Member
 
tekrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Posts: 70
Default

I have a couple questions. it may not be an issue at all but is there going to be an options to enable/disable the deck crew or will it just always be there? doesn't bother me personally but I imagine some who struggle with performance as is may want to save the frames.

also are the animations going to sync across multiplayer? like if player 1 hooks up to a cat will player 2 see all the animations at that cat?

Last edited by tekrc; 06-21-2017 at 07:54 AM.
tekrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 08:43 AM   #92
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 3,072
Default

Good questions. It's like asking if the deck crew will be a DCS unit synched in Multiplayer or traffic that is just eyecandy like trains and cars on roads. Very different limitations on each.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekrc View Post
I have a couple questions. it may not be an issue at all but is there going to be an options to enable/disable the deck crew or will it just always be there? doesn't bother me personally but I imagine some who struggle with performance as is may want to save the frames.

also are the animations going to sync across multiplayer? like if player 1 hooks up to a cat will player 2 see all the animations at that cat?
__________________
“Six better fuses and we would have lost.”
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 12:33 PM   #93
OnlyforDCS
Senior Member
 
OnlyforDCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogey Jammer View Post

There is nothing to believe before the optimization is done and successful, and before we see by ourselves. Currently it's (commercial) anticipation words working effectively on you according to your attitude.
Maybe, maybe not. There is no way to tell until the module is released. I do expect some performance drops, it is after all a new module, but I will reserve judgement until the final program is out, and I choose to optimistically believe one of the lead developers when they say that they will keep the performance in check until that time.

The difference between me and you is that I don't prejudge based on false expectations, which themselves are based on a faulty premise.

I myself have a mid range rig, hardly top of the line, but I've managed to run all the modules to my satisfaction, including on the latest 2.1 version of DCS World and Normandy. When I see people complaining that they only get 110 FPS in the Viggen on their 1080Ti or whatever all I can do is laugh and roll my eyes, because thats all that those comments deserve.

Only 110 frames on the BEST looking module currently in DCS?! How horrible!
__________________
Current specs: Windows 7 64bit, i5-3570K @ 4.2 Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 128GB SSD exclusively for DCS, ASUS Turbo GTX970 4GB, TrackIR 5, MS FFB2 Sidewinder + Saitek X52 throttle, Saitek Pro rudder pedals.

Last edited by OnlyforDCS; 06-21-2017 at 04:43 PM.
OnlyforDCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 12:58 PM   #94
tekrc
Junior Member
 
tekrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey View Post
Good questions. It's like asking if the deck crew will be a DCS unit synched in Multiplayer or traffic that is just eyecandy like trains and cars on roads. Very different limitations on each.
exactly

also like if a pilot ejects and walks around, no one else can see pilots moving.
tekrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 06:57 PM   #95
VampireNZ
Member
 
VampireNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 502
Default

I guess we should also keep in mind that it will just be the boat, aircraft, and the deck crew...in the middle of the ocean. Not a whole lot of polys required for scenery.

I mean they could have the carrier chugging along just outside the breakers off the coast, but not likely.
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha| i7-6700K 4.50Ghz | nVidia GTX 1080ti Strix OC 11GB | 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 CL14 |
Samsung 960 PRO 512GB M.2 SSD | Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD | Windows 10 64-Bit |
VKB Gunfighter Pro | Oculus Rift CV1 |



Shopping List -
F-14A/B
VampireNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 12:39 AM   #96
tekrc
Junior Member
 
tekrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireNZ View Post
I guess we should also keep in mind that it will just be the boat, aircraft, and the deck crew...in the middle of the ocean. Not a whole lot of polys required for scenery.

I mean they could have the carrier chugging along just outside the breakers off the coast, but not likely.
is it? I thought the carrier was going to be a carrier like the kuznetsov we can put down wherever? though a scenery carrier would likely be more stable and would solve the current location issue on MP.

unfortunately the carrier moving is a bit of a requirement for navy fighters. the wind over deck helps the planes land at relatively lower speed to the deck. so 100 kts instead of 130 kts making it less likely to overextend or break the wire. so if HB are modelling the cat to its full extent, this will be a factor.

eager to see what happens regardless! just putting stuff out there
tekrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 01:41 AM   #97
VampireNZ
Member
 
VampireNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tekrc View Post
is it? I thought the carrier was going to be a carrier like the kuznetsov we can put down wherever? though a scenery carrier would likely be more stable and would solve the current location issue on MP.

unfortunately the carrier moving is a bit of a requirement for navy fighters. the wind over deck helps the planes land at relatively lower speed to the deck. so 100 kts instead of 130 kts making it less likely to overextend or break the wire. so if HB are modelling the cat to its full extent, this will be a factor.

eager to see what happens regardless! just putting stuff out there
?? - my statement has nothing to do with a 'scenery carrier' or whatever you mean. A carrier is generally away from land/airfields/cities etc - so no extra scenery polygons to model. Moving or otherwise.
As I said I am sure you could plonk it down just off the coast if you really wanted to.

Also sry I am not sure what you are driving at with regards to the carrier moving - is this related to your 'scenery carrier' statement?

FYI I think you will find that 'breaking the wire on landing' is prob the least of their worries regarding wind over the deck, the wire tension is specifically set for each aircraft that lands. Have a think about relative wind and stall speed for takeoff and landing instead.
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha| i7-6700K 4.50Ghz | nVidia GTX 1080ti Strix OC 11GB | 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 CL14 |
Samsung 960 PRO 512GB M.2 SSD | Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD | Windows 10 64-Bit |
VKB Gunfighter Pro | Oculus Rift CV1 |



Shopping List -
F-14A/B
VampireNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 01:57 AM   #98
tekrc
Junior Member
 
tekrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireNZ View Post
?? - my statement has nothing to do with a 'scenery carrier' or whatever you mean. A carrier is generally away from land/airfields/cities etc - so no extra scenery polygons to model.
As I said I am sure you could plonk it down just off the coast if you really wanted to.

Also sry I am not sure what you are driving at with regards to the carrier moving - is this related to your 'scenery carrier' statement?

FYI I think you will find that 'breaking the wire on landing' is prob the least of their worries regarding wind over the deck, the wire tension is specifically set for each aircraft that lands. Think relative wind and stall speed for takeoff and landing instead.
you said when at carrier would not be loading much scenery. I pointed out on a different issue to do with carriers/ships, a way that could possibly fix the issue of current carriers and ships in multiplayer. the locations to not match between clients and was curious if it was a plan to make it fixed scenery in the new map. last time I did anything with a carrier in multiplayer the locations were off by over .5nm friend and I flew helis out and both landed on carrier. then looked to find the other just floating on nothing.

breaking the wire is related to a few things. but that 30 kt difference at touchdown is important especially for the heavy planes like the cat. if a carrier is stationary that wire has to arrest a LOT more force than it would if the carrier is in motion which will often be too much. so no.... not really the least of my worries. if the carrier is too slow in combination with the aircraft's inertia, you dont stop.

not sure what you're getting at with stall speed. carrier approaches are all carried out at a set aoa. in the cats case its about 15 degrees usually close to 130 kts putting you close to stall speed but approach is flown by aoa indexer more than by approach speed. stall speed doesnt change if the carrier is moving or not. but the speed you move in relation to the deck and wires do.

my point of carrier moving was related to the issue of the cat has being so heavy it can break wires if its going too fast. (like any other plane but its a lot easier when you're heavy/over weight). you never see a video of a plane landing or taking off from a stopped carrier. the WOD allows the system to arrest and or launch heavier and faster aircraft with less effort than it could at a stand still with the same load limitation meaning less wear and tear. like I said before, it would be arresting 100 kts velocity instead of 130.

hope what I was saying makes a little more sense now. I jumble things together when im tired

Last edited by tekrc; 06-22-2017 at 02:01 AM.
tekrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 02:07 AM   #99
VampireNZ
Member
 
VampireNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tekrc View Post
... I jumble things together when im tired
And like to explain basic aerodynamics to an ex air force flight engineer & Airbus a/c design engineer it seems.
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha| i7-6700K 4.50Ghz | nVidia GTX 1080ti Strix OC 11GB | 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 CL14 |
Samsung 960 PRO 512GB M.2 SSD | Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD | Windows 10 64-Bit |
VKB Gunfighter Pro | Oculus Rift CV1 |



Shopping List -
F-14A/B
VampireNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 02:33 AM   #100
tekrc
Junior Member
 
tekrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireNZ View Post
And like to explain basic aerodynamics to an ex air force flight engineer & Airbus a/c design engineer it seems.
Well I have no way of knowing that! my friend is a structural engineer for Boeing on the BOne. and some other stuff now too kc135s and something else I cant remember at the moment.

but my dad and uncle were both on carriers. dad was a red shirt on 66 and uncle was a crew member on the A6 on enterprise in vietnam I believe. we talked about stories and various carrier and other stuff a lot. It was actually my uncle I was showing the video to who pointed out the odd bounce in the first place

Last edited by tekrc; 06-22-2017 at 02:39 AM.
tekrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:39 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.