Does trim work as it is supposed to? - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2018, 08:06 PM   #31
Flingwing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weta43 View Post
Want to post a track ?
Wish I knew how. I'm sure it"s simple. Just haven't done it before.
Flingwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 08:31 PM   #32
Holton181
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far north
Posts: 938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flingwing View Post
Wish I knew how. I'm sure it"s simple. Just haven't done it before.
When existing a flight, in the briefing window, there is a button 'save track' or something. Click it. The track is saved in '\saved games\DCS...\tracks'.
So just start a flight and do your thing, then do the above.
__________________
Helicopters and Viggen
DCS 1.5.7 and OpenAlpha
Win7 Pro 64bit
i7-3820 3.60GHz
P9X79 Pro
32GB
GTX 670 2GB
VG278H + a Dell
PFT Lynx
TrackIR 5
Holton181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 12:50 AM   #33
M1Combat
Member
 
M1Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Prescott AZ, US
Posts: 457
Default

Flingwing... think of the trim button as allowing you to pick up the trim (button press), move it with the cyclic, rudder and collective, then set it back down in its new location (button release).


The process is this...


Press trim.


Fly aircraft using cyclic, rudder and collective to the new flight path you want (turn, elevation change, hover, slide... anything pretty much).


Release trim and then immediately center the cyclic and rudder and leave the collective alone.





This is with the trimmer mode set to default and rudder trimmer on and I don't use a FF joystick.








Quadg - Not really...


Not only is it the way the KA-50 works IRL but the reason seems to me to be that it allows the aircraft to be more effectively used by a single pilot. Basically... think of the trim as you giving flight instructions to a pilot while you are being a gunner. It's like you, as the gunner, saying to the pilot "Hey fly this arc by the AO while I shoot the living heck out of everything I see... I'll let you know if I need you to change...". It's quite smart IMO...
__________________
Win-10 x64

Nvidia GTX970 (HTC Vive)
MSI Z77 MPower
Core i5-3570K
24GB G-Skill Trident-X

Saitek X-65F and Fanatec Club-Sport Pedals
(UCR - mapping throttle and clutch pedals together to form a rudder Axis)
GamesCom/Plantronics 780 USB Headset

Last edited by M1Combat; 06-07-2018 at 12:58 AM.
M1Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 01:01 AM   #34
lefty1117
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 130
Default

Once I realized that the trimmer is really an autopilot, it all clicked for me.
__________________
=============================
i7 5820k | 16GB RAM | Nvidia 980ti | 1TB SSD
lefty1117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 02:19 AM   #35
Flingwing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks guys!

Not only does it work it makes sense!

For me; Hold trim down, (get use to holding trim down), apply control inputs, when the helicopter is doing close to what I want, release and center everything.

I spent an hour just hovering with it trimmed:

The 6 minute mark on Frooglesim's Youtube Black Shark Mastering the Trm did it for me.

Rudder trim- on
Default and Central Position Trimmer Mode worked fine.
Joystick without spring and FFB- had some trouble with that one.

Wish I got Black Shark 10 years ago. Didn't have the money. Oh well..
Flingwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 11:02 AM   #36
swagchimp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M1Combat View Post

Not only is it the way the KA-50 works IRL
See, I'm not sure about that. I like to think that I'm proficient at flying the Ka-50 and that I understand the AP system quite well, but the heading hold still seems incredibly stupid to me. As you probably know, the Mi-8 has a solenoid in the pedals that disengages the AP heading hold when engaged and sets the new heading as trim heading when disengaged. This is the one thing bothering me about the Ka-50 trim. I get that you should trim while you're flying a turn, but when you do that, you're still fighting the rudder AP with the full 20% force maybe a second after you've released the trim. It doesn't make sense that the AP would try to hold a heading in a turn. In fact, I strongly doubt that there isn't a system like the Mi-8 one in place on the real Ka-50. Maybe, at the time of its development, ED even knew about it and just couldn't figure out how to implement it.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
swagchimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 09:24 PM   #37
SnowTiger
Senior Member
 
SnowTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Madoc, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,132
Default

It took me a while to figure out the Trim in the Ka-50.
Especially when using it in conjunction with the Rudder.
Before you can change the trim behavior for the rudder, you much neutralize the pedals the same as with the stick in order to prevent Adding more trim from the current position (which thinks it centered or neutralized).
I found this difficult because I always had my feet on the pedals and held them as necessary throughout a turn. If I didn't take my feet off the pedals before trying to reset or adjust the trim, I usually ended up crashing.

For me it was easiest to simply Disable the Rudder Trim in the BlackShark DCS Options.
That way I can steer wherever I want when I want regardless how my Stick/Cyclic was Trimmed.
__________________
SnowTiger
SnowTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 11:10 AM   #38
M1Combat
Member
 
M1Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Prescott AZ, US
Posts: 457
Default

You won't be fighting the rudder trim if you hold the trim button when actively flying.
__________________
Win-10 x64

Nvidia GTX970 (HTC Vive)
MSI Z77 MPower
Core i5-3570K
24GB G-Skill Trident-X

Saitek X-65F and Fanatec Club-Sport Pedals
(UCR - mapping throttle and clutch pedals together to form a rudder Axis)
GamesCom/Plantronics 780 USB Headset

Last edited by M1Combat; 06-27-2018 at 11:21 PM.
M1Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:39 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.