INU drift - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2019, 03:31 PM   #1
electricaltill
Member
 
electricaltill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 140
Default INU drift

As far as everyone knows is INU drift still not modelled in the Shark? I know there's a handful of threads on it but the most recent was 2014 so I thought I'd ask if it's been added since.
electricaltill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 06:47 AM   #2
Looney
Senior Member
 
Looney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,052
Default

Nope
__________________


Commodore 64 | MOS6510 | VIC-II | SID6581 | DD 1541 | KCS Power Cartridge | 64Kb | 32Kb external | Arcade Turbo
Looney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 06:59 AM   #3
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,073
Default

INS drift usally doesn't get modelled in DCS for aircraft that also have satellite navigation (Ka-50, A-10C, F/A-18C, AV-8B).
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 10:09 AM   #4
electricaltill
Member
 
electricaltill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 140
Default

Thanks both. Shame I was learning the fix-taking procedure for nothing!
electricaltill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 12:07 PM   #5
Yurgon
Campaign Testers
 
Yurgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electricaltill View Post
Thanks both. Shame I was learning the fix-taking procedure for nothing!
I often did it just for proper immersion.

I think the very same techniques are also used in other aircraft, so in any case you'll have broadened your horizon.
__________________
Yurgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 12:11 PM   #6
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,073
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yurgon View Post
I think the very same techniques are also used in other aircraft, so in any case you'll have broadened your horizon.
Yeah, this is currently implemented for the Viggen and the Mirage 2000. AFAIK there are currently some bugs in the Mirage 2000 that prevent INS drift and fix-taking to work fully though.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 02:07 PM   #7
BaD CrC
Senior Member
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,476
Default

This INU drift is a bit mysterious because I am pretty sure it was there at the beginning of BlackShark 1.
__________________

8086K delid @5.1Ghz under EKWB Water, 2080Ti FE, 32Gb DDR4, 970Pro NvME.
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 02:11 PM   #8
lucky-hendrix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 275
Default

Plus, if I remember correctly, abris & piv800 have no way of talking to each other, so it would be impossible to update instead using GPS, thought we can use the coordinates from abris to make the process easier.

This is parts of the quirks of a prototype jet like the ka50

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk
lucky-hendrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 03:59 PM   #9
Pougatchev
Member
 
Pougatchev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 480
Default

I think that Russians don't use GPS, they certainly use GLONASS, and this things was ready two decades after the first KA-50 (96 for GLONASS around 80 for KA-50 technology), and in the ka-50 years INS use mechanicals gyros not as easy to align than actual gyrolaser or fiber optic gyroscope on numeric systems.
__________________
Make the reporting system great again!
Pougatchev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 07:15 PM   #10
BaD CrC
Senior Member
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,476
Default

You were correcting the INU drift by using reference points you could set up in the ME. There was 2 means of correcting the drift:
- fly over the reference point and use the PVI800 coordinates
- lock the reference point with the Shkval and lase it. PVI 800 will then calculate the coordinates of the reference point you lased and use it to correct the drift.
No GPS/GLONASS were used for this.

@Pougatchev, Russians used all GPS source available. You can see in the ABRIS, in the GPS setup page, that both GPS and GLONASS constellations are tracked.
__________________

8086K delid @5.1Ghz under EKWB Water, 2080Ti FE, 32Gb DDR4, 970Pro NvME.
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:30 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.