Flap clicks? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2013, 10:16 PM   #1
WildBillKelsoe
Veteran
 
WildBillKelsoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 6,364
Default Flap clicks?

Would ED consider adding clicks (on par with A2A sim's) for flaps as they are changed? I think it would help without looking at the actual thing, but in a dogfight, I guess we're really busy and don't want any extra sounds apart from the man we're trying desperately to stick.
__________________
AWAITING ED NEW DAMAGE MODEL IMPLEMENTATION FOR WW2 BIRDS

Fat T is above, thin T is below. Long T is faster, Short T is slower. Open triangle is AWACS, closed triangle is your own sensors. Double dash is friendly, Single dash is enemy. Circle is friendly. Strobe is jammer. Strobe to dash is under 35 km. HDD is 7 times range key. Radar to 160 km, IRST to 10 km. Stay low, but never slow.
WildBillKelsoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 01:21 AM   #2
Echo38
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,856
Default

I don't have a problem with clicks for movements of the flap lever over detents, as this is a simulation of feel. But there must be no sound to give the sim user information which he would not be able to gain by sound or feel in the real aircraft. It sounds to me as though you're asking for information which wouldn't be available to the real pilot--namely, the real-time position of the flaps. The real pilot would only know where he's commanded the flaps to be, not where they actually are at any given moment.
Echo38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 02:03 AM   #3
trinmas4321
Member
 
trinmas4321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 686
Default

I would like to know when my flaps register. This is a must. +1
__________________
trinmas4321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 03:08 AM   #4
Echo38
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,856
Default

Well, if anything is added to unrealistically give the user real-time aircraft-state information which would not be available to a real pilot, it'd better be a difficulty option and not mandatory.
Echo38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:39 PM   #5
Pipeorgan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Default

I too find it strange not to hear any sound when the flap settings are changed or the landing gear is operated. Is this normal for a real P51D?

Love the DCS version though:-)
Pipeorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:43 PM   #6
Rogue Trooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,550
Default

Certainly would hear it with no engine running.
Sims a sim.
Rogue Trooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:27 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.