Racks only loadout? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2019, 12:10 PM   #1
DD_Fenrir
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 711
Default Racks only loadout?

It's almost impossible to find a picture of an operational WW2 Pony without it's racks fitted as they seem to have been left on permanently.

Any chance we could get a bomb racks only loadout for the P-51D?
DD_Fenrir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 03:48 PM   #2
grafspee
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DD_Fenrir View Post
It's almost impossible to find a picture of an operational WW2 Pony without it's racks fitted as they seem to have been left on permanently.

Any chance we could get a bomb racks only loadout for the P-51D?
you probably see racks for droptanks those were preaty common for p-51
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 04:07 PM   #3
DD_Fenrir
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 711
Default

I'm quite aware of their purpose graf.

My point is unless we load bombs or drop tanks the DCS P-51D won't have them, yet it's damned impossible to find a photo of an operational wartime P-51D without them fitted.

I'd like the option of having a racks only load-out selectable in the ME or arming screen so I can emulate this.
DD_Fenrir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 05:00 PM   #4
saburo_cz
Member
 
saburo_cz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Prague CZ
Posts: 663
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grafspee View Post
you probably see racks for droptanks those were preaty common for p-51
No, he definitely speaks about bomb racks, that is their name even in P-51 Parts catalog...
__________________
saburo_cz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 05:43 PM   #5
grafspee
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saburo_cz View Post
No, he definitely speaks about bomb racks, that is their name even in P-51 Parts catalog...
question is are bomb racks drag is modeled or not in DCS or only bombs

Last edited by grafspee; 06-11-2019 at 07:44 AM.
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 05:49 PM   #6
grafspee
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 935
Default

Btw how nice prop is looking on this photo
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 07:46 AM   #7
grafspee
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 935
Default

but i agree bomb racks by default mounted under wing would be nice
grafspee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 03:06 AM   #8
Magic Zach
Senior Member
 
Magic Zach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,350
Default

Most of the photos I see of the Mustang actually have clean wings, but I can understand where you're coming from. The best thing right now is to load bombs/drop tanks and then simply drop them after spawning in or taking off. I'm assuming this is for something like a photo shoot?
__________________
Magic Zach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 10:32 AM   #9
VH-Rock
Member
 
VH-Rock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 969
Send a message via MSN to VH-Rock
Default

+1 Would like to have a pylon only load out option.
VH-Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 12:05 PM   #10
DD_Fenrir
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic Zach View Post
Most of the photos I see of the Mustang actually have clean wings
Really?

from my experience researching primarily the 8th and 9th Air Forces I have never seen a photo of an operational frontline P-51 without them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic Zach View Post
The best thing right now is to load bombs/drop tanks and then simply drop them after spawning in or taking off. I'm assuming this is for something like a photo shoot?
Not particularly, just for historical accuracy. It would also mean I could lock them to the loadout in historical co-ops. And yeah I could load tanks and drop them prior to start-up but it's something of an immersion popper - I'd rather not have to.
DD_Fenrir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:30 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.