Track IR support for better positioning - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2018, 07:39 AM   #1
krusty974
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 12
Smile Track IR support for better positioning

Dear forum,

Track IR is usually and normally conveniently positioned over the screen of our computer/laptop. I have personally felt the need to sit closer to the monitor to better read the small numbers/characters thus rendering the distance between the sensor and the reflectors on my hat too close. A part from that I was always seated too high compared to the Track IR sensor which tended to loose sight of the sensors in a head tilted up situation and working with the curvature of the axis did not completely solve the situation. I therefore felt the need to create a support light and that I could take apart for easy packing to be able to position the Track IR sensor wherever i needed it in terms of distance and hight.

Here are some pictures

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2170.JPG
Views:	423
Size:	86.5 KB
ID:	191954

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2171.JPG
Views:	374
Size:	97.1 KB
ID:	191955

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2172.JPG
Views:	379
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	191956

I hope you will find this useful.

Cheers

Stefano
krusty974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 11:18 AM   #2
GrEaSeLiTeNiN
Member
 
GrEaSeLiTeNiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 262
Default

I use a flexible clip stand for smart phones. Only problem is it shakes a little.
GrEaSeLiTeNiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 12:33 PM   #3
Ssnake51
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 82
Default

Same problem. I've got lousy eyesight and have to sit too close to my monitor to position the Track IR sensor on top of it.

Picked up this small tripod from amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

This cell phone tripod adapter works well with it: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...0?ie=UTF8&th=1

Very steady. Once positioned properly haven't had to move it.
__________________
Asus Maximus IX Formula | i7 7700k | 32GB DDR4 | EVGA GTX 1080ti | Dell U3011 2560 x 1600 | Benchmark DAC 3 HGC | Dynaudio MKII Studio Monitors | Thrustmaster Warthog | Cougar MFD Pack
Ssnake51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 03:15 PM   #4
Lenux
Senior Member
 
Lenux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,113
Default

I have my Trackir, on top of the tv ( 55 inch) and when I move closer to the display, i have issues with it
I have to find a solution, maybe this tripod...
Thank you
__________________
I7 9700K@5.0 GHz | 32 GB DDR4 | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Ultra | RTX 2080 Ti | SSD 250 Samsung Pro | SSD 500 Evo | Samsung Q9FN 55" | VKB MCG PRO | Virpil Throttle | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR5
Lenux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 01:16 AM   #5
GregP
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA, USA
Posts: 932
Default

I've used a narrow plastic cable conduit, with the TrackIR mounted on top, that is in front of but basically in line with the edge of my 58" screen. Seems to be the best solution I've tried yet but definitely isn't perfect. Just a trade-off of using a big screen, I guess.
__________________
i5-2500K @ 4.8 GHz / Asus P8P67 Pro / 16GB DDR3-1600 / GTX 1080 Ti / Sound Blaster Z / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / TrackIR5 / MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals / Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog + MFDs / CH Products Throttle Quadrant / X-Keys XK-80 / X-Keys Professional / Panasonic TC-58AX800U 58" 4K TV

DCS Startup Videos
GregP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 02:35 AM   #6
Lenux
Senior Member
 
Lenux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,113
Default

GregP, do you have the Trackir, on the left side of the TV??
__________________
I7 9700K@5.0 GHz | 32 GB DDR4 | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Ultra | RTX 2080 Ti | SSD 250 Samsung Pro | SSD 500 Evo | Samsung Q9FN 55" | VKB MCG PRO | Virpil Throttle | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR5
Lenux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 08:31 PM   #7
GregP
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA, USA
Posts: 932
Default

I do, yeah, why?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenux View Post
GregP, do you have the Trackir, on the left side of the TV??
__________________
i5-2500K @ 4.8 GHz / Asus P8P67 Pro / 16GB DDR3-1600 / GTX 1080 Ti / Sound Blaster Z / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / TrackIR5 / MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals / Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog + MFDs / CH Products Throttle Quadrant / X-Keys XK-80 / X-Keys Professional / Panasonic TC-58AX800U 58" 4K TV

DCS Startup Videos
GregP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 12:16 AM   #8
Lenux
Senior Member
 
Lenux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,113
Default

Does it work properly, this way?!
__________________
I7 9700K@5.0 GHz | 32 GB DDR4 | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Ultra | RTX 2080 Ti | SSD 250 Samsung Pro | SSD 500 Evo | Samsung Q9FN 55" | VKB MCG PRO | Virpil Throttle | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR5
Lenux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 12:39 AM   #9
GrEaSeLiTeNiN
Member
 
GrEaSeLiTeNiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregP View Post
I've used a narrow plastic cable conduit, with the TrackIR mounted on top, that is in front of but basically in line with the edge of my 58" screen. Seems to be the best solution I've tried yet but definitely isn't perfect. Just a trade-off of using a big screen, I guess.

If you have a hat clip, perhaps you could make a contraption where the clip is about half a foot above your head. If that works, you could keep the cam on your TV’s top edge.
GrEaSeLiTeNiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 01:46 AM   #10
GregP
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA, USA
Posts: 932
Default

From trial and error what I have found is that I get the best results when the TIR is about level with my head, thus why I have mounted it on a separate pole that is roughly halfway down my screen. When I tried to place it on top of my TV, the relatively short distance between my head and the screen caused problems.

If I tried to elevate the clip above my head, wouldn't its offset from the center of rotation cause problems? I've never tried it, but I thought that one of the reasons it is able to track is because it's assuming that the LEDs are moving fairly close to the center of rotation in all axes.
__________________
i5-2500K @ 4.8 GHz / Asus P8P67 Pro / 16GB DDR3-1600 / GTX 1080 Ti / Sound Blaster Z / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / TrackIR5 / MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals / Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog + MFDs / CH Products Throttle Quadrant / X-Keys XK-80 / X-Keys Professional / Panasonic TC-58AX800U 58" 4K TV

DCS Startup Videos

Last edited by GregP; 08-15-2018 at 01:49 AM.
GregP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.