TrackIR not as smooth in 2.5 as 2.2 and 1.5.8 - Page 7 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2018, 12:16 PM   #61
mdee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goa View Post
That's really strange, I dont know what else I could try, I also tried another trackir unit of a friend (it's even a newer unit than mine).
You owned same motherboard that I am currently running, the asus maximus VIII hero, we have the same monitor expect mine is the newest version Asus pg278QR.
Tried all usb ports, tried clean OS install, tried running cpu at default speed with no OC.
IF Fps are stable at 60 or 120fps there is no jittery with trackir, if fps drops below 120,it will stutter/jitters....
This sort of problems are hard to diagnose as they are not obvious, the jitters I get are really subtle, but persistent, which makes them quite annoying. Different people have different tolerances to this - it's not a show stopping thing for many people too.

If I were to speculate this may have something to do with the rate physics engine runs at in relation to display/render frame rate, trackir polling rate etc. - pure speculation here. I strongly doubt it has anything to do with antiviruses, reinstalling and other usual snake oil "solutions", so if I were you I'd not waste your time on these.

Personally I just stick to 60 or 120 fps and live with it for time being.

Last edited by mdee; 03-13-2018 at 07:34 PM.
mdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 01:02 PM   #62
Goa
Member
 
Goa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdee View Post
This sort of problems are hard to diagnose as they are not obvious, the jitters I get are really subtle, but persistent, which makes them quite annoying. Different people have different tolerances to this - it's not a show stopping thing for many people too.

If I were to speculate this may have something to do with the rate physics engine runs on in relation to display/render frame rate, trackir polling rate etc. - pure speculation here. I strongly doubt it has anything to do with antiviruses, reinstalling and other usual snake oil "solutions", so if I were you I'd not waste your time on these.

Personally I just stick to 60 or 120 fps and live with it for time being.
Hi mate,
I know its a waste of time but this problem is disturbing m quite a lot, i am force to run a game with a highend pc at 60fps which is ridiculous, with a 165hz monitor.......and a 1080TI card whic is almost 1000 euro....
Appart ftom this my jitters are not subtle at all, are clearly visible and make me headache.

Last edited by BIGNEWY; 03-15-2018 at 09:48 AM. Reason: edited 1.1
Goa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 02:33 PM   #63
Ryno1217
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 31
Default

I have this same problem but mine is with 60 fps. I dont have a gsync monitor but the screen tearing annoys the crap out of me. So I use the in game vsync. For the most part I am able to run solid 60fps with jitter free TiR, but as soon as it drops below 60, jitter fest. Even 55 fps will cause the jitter.

I have had this problem in 1.2 release version all the way till now with the 2.5 OB I always assumed it was something on my end since i could never find info about this. The worst thing about this is that it makes it even more difficult than it already is to track a target. The jitters are somewhat like a motion blur effect. Somewhat subtle but enough to notice. Very annoying indeed.
__________________
Windows 10 64 bit, Intel i7 7700k @ 4.7ghz, 16 gb G-Skill Ripjaws DDR4 2800mhz ram, Asus Prime Z270-A mobo, EVGA GTX 970 SC, 240gb SSD,500gb Samsung 850 evo SSD,500gb HDD, X-55 Rhino stick, TWCS throttle,, Thrustmaster T-flight Rudder Pedals, Track IR 5
Ryno1217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 04:55 PM   #64
mdee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryno1217 View Post
I have this same problem but mine is with 60 fps. I dont have a gsync monitor but the screen tearing annoys the crap out of me. So I use the in game vsync. For the most part I am able to run solid 60fps with jitter free TiR, but as soon as it drops below 60, jitter fest. Even 55 fps will cause the jitter.

I have had this problem in 1.2 release version all the way till now with the 2.5 OB I always assumed it was something on my end since i could never find info about this. The worst thing about this is that it makes it even more difficult than it already is to track a target. The jitters are somewhat like a motion blur effect. Somewhat subtle but enough to notice. Very annoying indeed.
Yeah any frame rate which isn't 60 or 120 will potentially make the issue noticeable. It's less noticeable at very high (>120) frame rates. Yes, it does look exactly as you described.

Last edited by mdee; 03-13-2018 at 07:35 PM.
mdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 09:33 PM   #65
Goa
Member
 
Goa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdee View Post
Yeah any frame rate which isn't 60 or 120 will potentially make the issue noticeable. It's less noticeable at very high (>120) frame rates. Yes, it does look exactly as you described.
+1
Goa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 05:08 PM   #66
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,544
Default

this is all very very odd....

I have no idea what this could be, the symptoms are so radical in appearance.

TiR seems to be locked to a 60/120/180/240 rate, any factor of 60 will do.

Is there any chance that TiR is by some circumstance locked to that frequency, by some Vsync option or such ? I have never checked it tbh.

Can you post a screenshot of your TiR settings ?

Those are mine, which for my experience I call stutter free.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.JPG
Views:	85
Size:	132.0 KB
ID:	180842   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.JPG
Views:	88
Size:	121.7 KB
ID:	180843  
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine

Last edited by BitMaster; 03-14-2018 at 05:11 PM.
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 06:28 PM   #67
mdee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Tir settings below (I sometimes play with smoothing at 10 but this doesn't change much)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tir5_p1.PNG
Views:	82
Size:	140.1 KB
ID:	180851   Click image for larger version

Name:	tir5_p2.PNG
Views:	80
Size:	126.2 KB
ID:	180852  
mdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 08:17 AM   #68
Goa
Member
 
Goa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
this is all very very odd....

I have no idea what this could be, the symptoms are so radical in appearance.

TiR seems to be locked to a 60/120/180/240 rate, any factor of 60 will do.

Is there any chance that TiR is by some circumstance locked to that frequency, by some Vsync option or such ? I have never checked it tbh.

Can you post a screenshot of your TiR settings ?

Those are mine, which for my experience I call stutter free.
Exactly this is a good point dear Mr BiTmaster, TIR seems locked to multiple of 60 but this is not entirely true, because any fps above 120 will make TIR smoothness as butter, same as 60 fpss locked, but fps between 60-120 will result in stutter when panning despite the game (with TIR paused/disabled) is perfectly smooth.


The real strange thing is this, why the hell is it smooth at 60fps but not at costant 80 or 100 for example?? this is what drives me crazy, i man i can run at perfect almost 80 fps with all MSAA 8X but i cant, so i have to run at 120 with MSAOFF.

And further more i installed IL2 and Arma3 and they are also stuttering same as DCS.

Last edited by Goa; 03-15-2018 at 08:44 AM.
Goa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 09:46 AM   #69
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,544
Default

I sent you my file.

Good to know it's not only DCS, it points to a timing/protocol issue.

we'll nail it down...!
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 02:17 PM   #70
prccowboy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 130
Default

I suspect that many of the "jitter" or shudder problems that people see are related to either frame latency (soundslikerust wrote a nice post about that here: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=200737) or mismatch in the framerate that DCS outputs in a particular scene and people's monitor or controller input rate
(i.e. TIR).

For example, if TIR is providing "smooth" inputs at a rate that doesn't match the fps of the game, then the effect will be a jitter (it only has to be mismatched by 1 or 2 frames to see jitter). If the game is outputting framerates that doesn't match your monitor refresh, then you will have jitter (e.g. if your fps is 59 or 61 but your monitor is 60Hz then your graphics card will either duplicate a frame or drop frames to make the timing => perceived jitter)

At higher fps (for most people this means over 120fps), the human eye may not notice this mismatch jitter but it becomes more obvious the lower the number.

Home theater buffs figured this out a long time ago - which is why most enthusiasts lock their displays to the framerate of the movie they are watching (i.e. 24 or 30 Hz) or close multiples of that number, like 50/60.

My aging pc doesn't have the horsepower of some of the people complaining here, but I can manage most jitter by optimizing my settings to keep frame render times low and then lock the fps with vsync (also use adaptive/smooth vsync settings for when the framerates get really low). It is tempting to leave the fps unlocked (so I can see it hit 200fps at times) but that really doesn't do much for smooth play, so vsync it is.

For some people, the use of a framerate limiter that matches the refresh rate of your monitor and TIR inputs with whatever fps DCS can consistently output with your preferred settings may be the answer (using the highest common denominator). This way everything stays in sync (but at lower overall fps) (Note: lowest or highest common? Not sure how clear I'm being here - haven't had my coffee yet)

now "hard shudders" are a different problem, which I suspect is related to people's RAM/pagefile settings

Last edited by prccowboy; 03-15-2018 at 02:45 PM.
prccowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:38 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.