F-15C damage model - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2018, 07:21 PM   #11
Delta99
Member
 
Delta99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SinusoidDelta View Post
I don’t know. I do think it’d have a better chance of being acknowledged if it were posted within the 2.5 Open Beta Bugs and Problems sub forum.
Good point. I didn't notice where it was posted. I will see if I can PM Grimes to move it or something. I have a feeling they must know about this by now. Seems to be widely reported.
__________________
My Missions: Valley Patrol Mission :: Valley Escort Mission :: A2A Engagements
Delta99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 06:43 AM   #12
falken76
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fortinero View Post
When will give to this thing a correct damage model? how it's possible that you hit three times with missiles (not only lighter R-60s), direct hits in a hot aspect target, and the F-15 module for DCS still flying and fully systems operational, this is looking like an arcade now, and it's not an isolated situation, this repeats very often. Annoying, specially in a non full fidelity module that is already so powerful due to the weapon loadout, super easy radar managment and behavior...
I don't think it's specific to F15c, it's happening on alot of planes. I've made my own missions with the mission editor and this has happened on Mig 15s, Mig 21s. I even downloaded a Civilian aircraft mod and filled the sky with airliners over Las Vegas. I was shooting them down with Missles and even they will on occassion take 3 or more missles to go down. Sometimes the missles seem to have no effect on any aircraft. Surely they know about this bug by now. I'm using 2.5, this doesn't happen in the previous versions does it? (The versions that were official releases, not beta)
falken76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 07:05 AM   #13
draconus
Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falken76 View Post
I'm using 2.5, this doesn't happen in the previous versions does it? (The versions that were official releases, not beta)
No, it does not. I was on release version 1.5.7 then 1.5.8 and missile hit always inflicted some damage.
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 07:14 AM   #14
///Rage
Senior Member
 
///Rage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,904
Default

Although this seems to affect all planes it also seems to affect the F15 the most. F15s certainly seem to be the most frequently tanky.

I dont know if thats a consequence of its FM/DM or a consequence of the missiles usually fired at it.
__________________

www.51bisons.com

51st TS 96.43.128.170
///Rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 08:09 AM   #15
100KIAP_Falcon
Senior Member
 
100KIAP_Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Република Српска
Posts: 1,114
Default

It is not difficult to understand how much damage is caused by 39kg of explosives in the 10m range (what about 30m?). If we take this into consideration we do not need Mythbusters to check.


I honestly hoped these nonsense would disappear with DCS 2.5 but I was obviously mistaken. We've been sending feedback for years to ED but those with each new version are closer to the arcade. They ignore us and they do not want to discuss it at all.

It only takes me a second from the permanent uninstallation (after 10 years) of this garbage... smart people have already abandoned this for a long time.
__________________



100☭ Discord: https://discord.gg/EGrVBHt
Teamspeak: ts.100kiap.org
Forum: http://forum.100kiap.org
www: https://100kiap.hopto.org

If you are a dedicated Flanker pilot, a team player ... join us !!!

100-й Корабельный Истребительный Авиационный Полк

Немој ништа силом, узми већи чекић!
100KIAP_Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 02:28 AM   #16
winchesterdelta1
Senior Member
 
winchesterdelta1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 100KIAP_Falcon View Post
It only takes me a second from the permanent uninstallation (after 10 years) of this garbage... smart people have already abandoned this for a long time.
So what for high fidelity SIM are those "smart" people playing now? Please tell me.. i might leave DCS for that as well. Ow i'm sorry.. They can only go back to truly arcade sims with even more bullshit hidden under some nice gameplay. They probably did not like an true sims anyway in the first place and only came here to satisfy their gaming needs.
Yes the damage model is kind of BS, but it's also one of the most difficult things to get right, unless you implement shortcuts. But then it gets even more arcade just to improve gameplay. And it seems that arcade is the thing you really despise. But if the arcade part is hidden by using shortcuts you will suddenly like this game more? As long as you don't know about it right? And conforms with how things should behave like you want.
__________________
Go in close, and when you think you are too close, go in closer.

Last edited by winchesterdelta1; 03-13-2018 at 02:33 AM.
winchesterdelta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 07:08 AM   #17
100KIAP_Falcon
Senior Member
 
100KIAP_Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Република Српска
Posts: 1,114
Default

Quote:
So what for high fidelity SIM are those "smart" people playing now?
Maybe they just enjoy on your YT channel and try to figure out where they were wrong.

It's superfluous to discuss this because it's been going on for years. Enjoy in this high fidelity.
__________________



100☭ Discord: https://discord.gg/EGrVBHt
Teamspeak: ts.100kiap.org
Forum: http://forum.100kiap.org
www: https://100kiap.hopto.org

If you are a dedicated Flanker pilot, a team player ... join us !!!

100-й Корабельный Истребительный Авиационный Полк

Немој ништа силом, узми већи чекић!
100KIAP_Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 08:31 AM   #18
draconus
Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 100KIAP_Falcon View Post
Enjoy in this high fidelity.
It is 'high' because of how it's done - calculations of physics with real life numbers from available data - and that only they have done that extensively. Just that makes others 'lower' fidelity. It's still not perfect but they know it and it's Beta anyway!
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 04:55 PM   #19
100KIAP_Falcon
Senior Member
 
100KIAP_Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Република Српска
Posts: 1,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by draconus View Post
...calculations of physics with real life numbers from available data...
...yeah right.
__________________



100☭ Discord: https://discord.gg/EGrVBHt
Teamspeak: ts.100kiap.org
Forum: http://forum.100kiap.org
www: https://100kiap.hopto.org

If you are a dedicated Flanker pilot, a team player ... join us !!!

100-й Корабельный Истребительный Авиационный Полк

Немој ништа силом, узми већи чекић!
100KIAP_Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 05:29 PM   #20
winchesterdelta1
Senior Member
 
winchesterdelta1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,143
Default

LoL my Youtube channel sucks haha. It's an example on how not to fly.
__________________
Go in close, and when you think you are too close, go in closer.

Last edited by winchesterdelta1; 03-13-2018 at 11:23 PM.
winchesterdelta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:56 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.