Anyone running DCS on M.2 SSD?

Hi

Actually the title is the question itself.Instead of messing with the OS which is on SSD, i'm planning to get 120-256 gigs M.2 SSD drive just for DCS.As my rig has a slot ready for it , would be real easy.I just have to migrate DCS.But I'm a noob when it comes to Windows ( using Mac normally).

I read lot of threads what i've learned is always useful to have OS and DCS separately.(or the other way around? :cry:) M.2 SSDs look quite fast and budget friendly.

What do you suggest?

There is no difference in Windows between SSD Types. So yes, you can use an M.2 Drive without problems. Just keep in mind, that if you decide to use an NVME drive, it'll take 4 PCIe lanes from your CPU.

Modules: Well... all of 'em

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Motherboard: ASUS Maximus VIII Hero | CPU: i7-6700K @ 4.6GHz | RAM: 32GB Corsair Vengance LPX DDR4 | GPU: GTX TITAN X (Maxwell) | SSD1: 256GB NVMe SSD System | SSD2: 250GB Games | HDD 4TB WD Red

What motherboard do you have? IIRC an M.2 drive will operate fine but slower if used as a normal SSD Using it with NVME is utilising the PCI(E) bus

Using 2x M.2 will need to disable 2x SATA

This is something I found on the net

2 x M.2 Socket 3 with M Key, type 2242/2260/2280(PCIE 3.0 x4 and SATA modes) and type 2242/2260/2280/22110(support PCIE 3.0 x 4 mode) storage devices support *

* When the M.2_1 Socket 3 is operating in SATA mode, SATA port 1 will be disabled.

* When the M.2_2 Socket 3 is operating in PCIEX4 mode, SATA port 5. 6 will be disabled.

I would study the mobo manual and see what it says about it

:)

i5 8600k@5.2Ghz, Asus Prime A Z370, 32Gb DDR4 3000, GTX1080 SC, Oculus Rift CV1, Modded TM Warthog Modded X52 Collective, Jetseat, W10 Pro 64

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]