Question for Oculus Rift S users - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2020, 09:32 PM   #1
OnlyforDCS
Veteran
 
OnlyforDCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3,059
Default Question for Oculus Rift S users

Im a total newb in VR thinking about getting the S. Can you use the hand controller to "virtually" hit switches and buttons in the cockpit?
__________________
Current specs: Windows 10 Home 64bit, i5-9600K @ 3.7 Ghz, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 1TB Samsung EVO 860 M.2 SSD, GAINWARD RTX2060 6GB, TrackIR 5, MS FFB2 Sidewinder + Saitek X52 throttle, Saitek Pro rudder pedals.
OnlyforDCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 09:39 PM   #2
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,103
Default

Yes. The Oculus Touch Controllers is only official of those controllers that come with VR HMD. Otherwise you need to use various other means or by other devices like Capto Gloves.
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 10:24 PM   #3
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,103
Default

And to add.

The buttons on left controller will perform View Reset and then a Game Menu. The both Ministicks will work as Left when you move it Aft and as Right click when you move it Forward. When you move mini-stick to Left or Right you are performing various speed the wheel scrolling. But you can as well grab a knob or dial and then move hand up/down to adjust those.
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 06:45 AM   #4
Chapa
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Switzerland, Geneva
Posts: 122
Default

You will probably not use the hand controllers but the mouse to hit the switches.
For the switch in front of you, the cursor moved with the head tracking and the mouse buttons binds to HOTAS is very efficient and feel relatively natural. For switches on the side, mouse is often better to don’t break your neck.

I use this combination with a mouse on my right and a small industrial trackpad with two physical button on my left, glued on the throttle arm support. It helps to reach the switches when I want to keep my hand on the stick. I also use it to enable the mouse cursor to move it with my head. The fact that I need to reach out the trackpad button and remove my hand from the throttle give some nice immersion at low cost
__________________
i7 8700, GTX 1080ti, 64GB RAM, M.2 512Go, Rift S
Chapa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 07:27 AM   #5
Gruman
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 400
Default

You can use the touch controllers to flick switches... But you will probably stop after 10 switches and move back to the mouse. Dont even think about that CaptoScam... I mean CaptoGlove. Sorry .

Yout want to use your hands to flick a switch? Look at PointCTRL. Otherwise stick to a Button Box, Mouse, Trackball, Trackpad for VR.
__________________

TM Warthog, VPC T-50 Base, TM TPR, PointCtrl, VRK

Last edited by Gruman; 01-16-2020 at 07:31 AM.
Gruman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 01:13 PM   #6
OnlyforDCS
Veteran
 
OnlyforDCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3,059
Default

Im worried about not being able to see my keyboard and mouse, isn't that an issue?
__________________
Current specs: Windows 10 Home 64bit, i5-9600K @ 3.7 Ghz, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 1TB Samsung EVO 860 M.2 SSD, GAINWARD RTX2060 6GB, TrackIR 5, MS FFB2 Sidewinder + Saitek X52 throttle, Saitek Pro rudder pedals.
OnlyforDCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 01:34 PM   #7
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,103
Default

You can set the Oculus Guardian wall just so you lean little forward and Passthrough+ activates, now you have a cameras showing your real room and you can see keyboard etc.

But mouse and keyboard are no where near as immersive as touch controllers. You have no problem to grab controller and then do your settings. And the immersion comes that you actually move your hands around cockpit instead turn your head and press hotas buttons to click.

You will learn ghat immersion is that in heat of battle, you are not to make anything else than focus for the combat. Why HOTAS is in first place so important. In middle of attack you are not inputting coordinates, adjusting your radios, you will learn that all that you are suppose to be done before you enter to combat zone and you are middle of fight.

The most natural, most immersive flying in VR you can do is when you use your hands around cockpit instead mouse or keyboard or functions binded to HOTAS that doesnt belong there.
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 02:43 PM   #8
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 4,619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlyforDCS View Post
Im a total newb in VR thinking about getting the S. Can you use the hand controller to "virtually" hit switches and buttons in the cockpit?

Have a look at this thread: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=218861

Or you can use the mouse, that works well for lot of people. You can also assign left and right mouse buttons to a controller, joystick/button boxes.

I don't have the S, but most devices have enough gap in the nose so that you can peak through the bridge of your nose. Some people say it breaks immersion, but for me it doesn't.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 10:42 PM   #9
mdamstel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16
Default

I have the Rift S and can use the controllers. But I want to use the mouse. I have a keybind for activate/deactivate the mouse in VR but I dont see the mousecursor. It does have an effect when I activate: I cannot flick switches with the touch controllers anymore.


How do I get to see the mouse cursor?
mdamstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 01:01 AM   #10
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdamstel View Post
I have the Rift S and can use the controllers. But I want to use the mouse. I have a keybind for activate/deactivate the mouse in VR but I dont see the mousecursor. It does have an effect when I activate: I cannot flick switches with the touch controllers anymore.


How do I get to see the mouse cursor?
Not really sure I understand why you do not see the mouse cursor in DCS VR.
I do with no problem, you have the mouse checked in the VR settings?
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.2 GHz all cores | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF MK III Pro L | EVGA DG 87 Case | Rift S | Oculus Quest |

Last edited by dburne; 01-19-2020 at 01:04 AM.
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:20 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.