Question for Oculus Rift S users

OnlyforDCS

Im a total newb in VR thinking about getting the S. Can you use the hand controller to "virtually" hit switches and buttons in the cockpit?

Current specs: Windows 10 Home 64bit, i5-9600K @ 3.7 Ghz, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 1TB Samsung EVO 860 M.2 SSD, GAINWARD RTX2060 6GB, Oculus Rift S, MS FFB2 Sidewinder + Warthog Throttle Quadrant, Saitek Pro rudder pedals.

Yes. The Oculus Touch Controllers is only official of those controllers that come with VR HMD. Otherwise you need to use various other means or by other devices like Capto Gloves.

i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.

i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.

And to add.

The buttons on left controller will perform View Reset and then a Game Menu. The both Ministicks will work as Left when you move it Aft and as Right click when you move it Forward. When you move mini-stick to Left or Right you are performing various speed the wheel scrolling. But you can as well grab a knob or dial and then move hand up/down to adjust those.

You will probably not use the hand controllers but the mouse to hit the switches.

For the switch in front of you, the cursor moved with the head tracking and the mouse buttons binds to HOTAS is very efficient and feel relatively natural. For switches on the side, mouse is often better to don’t break your neck.

I use this combination with a mouse on my right and a small industrial trackpad with two physical button on my left, glued on the throttle arm support. It helps to reach the switches when I want to keep my hand on the stick. I also use it to enable the mouse cursor to move it with my head. The fact that I need to reach out the trackpad button and remove my hand from the throttle give some nice immersion at low cost

i7 12700k, RTX 3080ti, 64GB RAM, M.2 512Go, Quest 2