Keyboard look - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2020, 05:22 AM   #1
HoYa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 87
Default Keyboard look

What can I say, I’m an idiot.

Today I totally rearranged my game room to add some more fun stuff. While moving my cockpit around I dropped my oculus rift, but i thought it was no big deal. Boy was I wrong.

Looking thru the left eye,mit seems like it’s full of rust and spots. Needless to say I think it’s a goner.

So, I’m thinking about going to the oculus rift S. My only concern is that my oculus had a space by the nose where I could glance down on my keyboard. After demoing the rift S, it seems like a really tight fit with no way to alter it.

Guys with the rift S, how do u access your keyboard ??

Thanks
HoYa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 05:31 AM   #2
Kayos
Senior Member
 
Kayos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,064
Default

I think you can take the nose guard off. Let someone with a Rift S answer though
__________________
Kayos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 06:06 AM   #3
HoYa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 87
Default

Got it , thanks
HoYa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 06:23 AM   #4
Lange_666
Senior Member
 
Lange_666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,552
Send a message via ICQ to Lange_666
Default

Nose guard is only 2mm thick so i guess it won't help much.
I need to lift the Rift-S to see the keyboard.
__________________
System: Win10 Pro 64-bit, CPU: I7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, Cooling: Corsair H100i, Motherboard: AsRock Extreme4, Video: ASUS Strix 1080Ti OC 11GB, RAM: 32 GB DDR3 G.Skill 2400, SSD's: Samsung EVO 120GB & EVO 250GB, HD: Samsung 1TB, Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2443 1920x1200, HOTAS: Cougar (U2 mod) & CH Pro pedals, TrackIR4, Oculus Rift S.
Personal Wish List: F-16 (it has arrived ), A6 Intruder, Vietnam theater, decent ATC module!
Lange_666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 06:17 PM   #5
Bob_Bushman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 318
Default

Leave the guard in, and activate passthrough instead, you might not read the individual letters on the keyboard but you can see your hand and everything else.
__________________
i7 8700k @ 4.7, 32GB 2900Mhz, 1080ti, CV1
Virpil MT-50\Delta, MFG Crosswind, Warthog Throttle, Virptil Mongoost-50 throttle.
Bob_Bushman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 07:09 PM   #6
jaxx_za
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Default

I removed the guard after 2 minutes as I found it a little ticklish. In my case, without the guard there is enough of a gap to see the keyboard.

But even if this weren't the case, the improvement in resolution is really massive from the CV1, so if your IPD is in range don't hesitate - you will not regret it.
jaxx_za is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:23 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.