Virtual reality pre rendering of frames - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2020, 12:31 AM   #1
Mr. Big.”Biggs”
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 219
Default Virtual reality pre rendering of frames

While looking for anything with this new Nvidia driver, I came across the setting as in the title. Virtual reality pre rendering of frames. It was set at one and for giggles I turned it to 4 (max).
It actually looked pretty damn nice in my index but frames in a pretty active server were in the high 30s although never a twitch or pause. (And I rarely exceed 40 in any active environment anyway).
Exactly what did I do with that setting and is it a real improvement or placebo?
Thanks
__________________
I9 (5Ghz turbo)2080ti 64Gb 3200 ram. 3 drives. A sata 2tb storage and 2 M.2 drives. 1 is 1tb, 1 is 500gb.
Valve Index, Virpil t50 cm2 stick, t50 base and v3 throttle w mini stick. MFG crosswind pedals.
Mr. Big.”Biggs” is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 08:29 AM   #2
oz555
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 51
Default

I'm also interested to hear a concrete answer on this. It's advised setting is 3 on the Reverb setting guide yet some say Nvidia settings don't work in VR.
__________________
Asus Z370-F, I5 9600k@4700GHz,MSI RTX 2080, SSD. HP Reverb.
oz555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 09:23 AM   #3
boedha68
Senior Member
 
boedha68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,722
Default

I can confirm it works in the reverb.


Tested yesterday!
__________________
New system:I9-9900KS, Kingston 64 GB DDR4 3200Mhz, RTX 2080(OC 2070 Mhz), Corsair H150 Pro RGB, Samsung 970 EVO 1 Tb, Scandisk m2 500 MB, 2 x Crucial 1 Tb, T16000M HOTAS, HP Reverb Professional

Old system:I7-4770K(OC 4.5Ghz), Kingston 24 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz,MSI RTX 2080(OC 2070 Mhz), 2 * 500 GB SSD, 3,5 TB HDD, 55' Samsung 3d tv, Trackir 5, Logitech HD Cam, T16000M HOTAS. All DCS modules, maps and campaigns
boedha68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 10:00 AM   #4
some1
Senior Member
 
some1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,233
Default

Normally you would want this setting set to low value, to reduce latency. Meaning that there's as little delay as possible between your head movement and what's shown on headset displays.

But if the game is performing poorly in VR, like DCS does, then it may help out by smoothing out fps fluctuations.
__________________

Hardware: Virpil T-50CM, Hotas Warthog, Hotas Cougar, Slaw Rudder, Wheel Stand Pro, GVL224 Trio Throttle, Thrustmaster MFDs, Saitek Trim wheel, Trackir 5, Rift S
some1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 10:03 AM   #5
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oz555 View Post
I'm also interested to hear a concrete answer on this. It's advised setting is 3 on the Reverb setting guide yet some say Nvidia settings don't work in VR.
Yes this VR setting does work.
I played around with it a while back and ended up leaving mine at 1.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.2 GHz all cores | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF MK III Pro L | EVGA DG 87 Case | Rift S | Oculus Quest |
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 09:41 PM   #6
YoYo
Senior Member
 
YoYo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland / The Warsaw Pact
Posts: 1,969
Default

Btw. how to turn it on (with not supported/tested titles by NVidia):

https://www.reddit.com/r/SteamVR/com..._enable_it_on/
__________________
Webmaster of www.yoyosims.pl
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic4977_2.gif
Win 10 64, i9 9900k, GTX 2080Ti 11Gb OC, RAM 32Gb Corsair Vengeance LED OC@3200MHz,, 3xSSD+2xSSD M.2 NVMe, Predator XB271HU res.2560x1440 27'' G-sync, Sound Blaster Z + 5.1, TrackIR 5, [P3Dv4, DCS, RoF, Condor2, IL-2 CoD/BoX/FC,TC] VR HP Reverb v2
YoYo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 09:49 PM   #7
stuartaston
Member
 
stuartaston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 740
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoYo View Post
Btw. how to turn it on (with not supported/tested titles by NVidia):

https://www.reddit.com/r/SteamVR/com..._enable_it_on/
you are confusing VRS, with number of pre-rendered frames, they are different things
__________________


SYSTEM SPECS: Hardware Intel Corei5-6600K @ 4.60 GHz, 32Gb RAM, EVGA 1080ti FTW 11Gb, Dell S2716DG, Thrustmaster Warthog + TFRP, HP Reverb Pro SOFTWARE: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64, VoiceAttack & VIACOM PRO, TacView, CombatFlite

VR Stuff: My DCS VR Settings Use the DCS Shaders VR MOD for extra perf Make sure you read the first 914th and 939th posts for current version workarounds. FPS Bump in VR
stuartaston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 10:00 PM   #8
YoYo
Senior Member
 
YoYo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland / The Warsaw Pact
Posts: 1,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartaston View Post
you are confusing VRS, with number of pre-rendered frames, they are different things
Ahh, yes, not this topic, you have right .
__________________
Webmaster of www.yoyosims.pl
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic4977_2.gif
Win 10 64, i9 9900k, GTX 2080Ti 11Gb OC, RAM 32Gb Corsair Vengeance LED OC@3200MHz,, 3xSSD+2xSSD M.2 NVMe, Predator XB271HU res.2560x1440 27'' G-sync, Sound Blaster Z + 5.1, TrackIR 5, [P3Dv4, DCS, RoF, Condor2, IL-2 CoD/BoX/FC,TC] VR HP Reverb v2
YoYo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 10:05 PM   #9
Mr. Big.”Biggs”
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 219
Default

Thanks for the info. i did notice an occasional “smear “ of the outside world just barely perceptible and non predictable. I’ll back it off and see if it reappears now that I am looking for it and see if it’s related .
Thanks
__________________
I9 (5Ghz turbo)2080ti 64Gb 3200 ram. 3 drives. A sata 2tb storage and 2 M.2 drives. 1 is 1tb, 1 is 500gb.
Valve Index, Virpil t50 cm2 stick, t50 base and v3 throttle w mini stick. MFG crosswind pedals.
Mr. Big.”Biggs” is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:57 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.