Kneeboard Builder (windows app) - Page 14 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2014, 05:11 AM   #131
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,624
Default

3) Now you can click on the 'Build Custom Kneeboard for General DCS World' to add it to the General Kneeboard and make the dynamic kneeboards visible in all aircraft. Or you can select a specific aircraft with the 'Select Aircraft' drop down box and then click on the 'Build Custom Kneeboard' button to add the dynamic kneeboards only to your selected aircraft's kneeboard.

How come when I select F-15c from the drop down and then click on the 'Build Custom Kneeboard'' button it only appears in the General DCS World Kneeboard?
Also, I am unable to change the order of the 'Default Dynamic' files as they appear in my custom kneeboard. They can be moved up or down the list but it doesn't affect their sort order in game.

Thank you.

Last edited by fitness88; 11-18-2014 at 07:50 AM.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 08:33 AM   #132
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 425
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitness88 View Post
How come when I select F-15c from the drop down and then click on the 'Build Custom Kneeboard'' button it only appears in the General DCS World Kneeboard?
Does the build button say 'Build Custom Kneeboard for F-15C' after you select F-15C and does a popup message say 'Successfully built custom kneeboard for F15C' after you click the button?
Can you view the F-15C kneeboard by clicking View->Kneeboard Folders->F-15C Kneeboard?

It might be building to the General Kneeboard if it can't find the 'Saved Games/DCS/Kneeboard/F-15C' folder


Quote:
Originally Posted by fitness88 View Post
Also, I am unable to change the order of the 'Default Dynamic' files as they appear in my custom kneeboard. They can be moved up or down the list but it doesn't affect their sort order in game.
That is a bug. I will work on fixing it.
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 03:39 PM   #133
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaskanGrizzly View Post
Does the build button say 'Build Custom Kneeboard for F-15C' after you select F-15C and does a popup message say 'Successfully built custom kneeboard for F15C' after you click the button?
Can you view the F-15C kneeboard by clicking View->Kneeboard Folders->F-15C Kneeboard?

It might be building to the General Kneeboard if it can't find the 'Saved Games/DCS/Kneeboard/F-15C' folder

That is a bug. I will work on fixing it.
I must have done something out of sequence, because now it's working OK. I now realize I must always press the button that says 'Build Custom Kneeboard' after I do any modifying to an existing custom KB...thank you AlaskanGrizzly.

Something else I'd like to ask. No one wants a kneeboard with too many pages, it takes too long to get through. Is there a way to change kneeboards in the middle of a mission? I read that you can only change KB if you are not in an active plane. What exactly does that mean?

Thanks again.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 07:28 AM   #134
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 425
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitness88 View Post
[No one wants a kneeboard with too many pages, it takes too long to get through. Is there a way to change kneeboards in the middle of a mission? I read that you can only change KB if you are not in an active plane. What exactly does that mean?
The kneeboard is updated in game only when you take control of an aircraft. If you change the kneeboard pages when you are in control of an aircraft, the kneeboard won't update in game until you reload the aircraft or switch to a different aircraft like you can do in multiplayer.
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2014, 05:54 PM   #135
icemaker
Member
 
icemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Near Lyon in France
Posts: 330
Default

Hello,

My dynamic kneeboard only works in MP not in Single Player missions.
don't know Why, i had this error in DCS.log, i think it searches for TMP/.miz file but this file is only for MP missions.

Quote:
00018.571 ERROR Lua::Config: load error J:\IceMakeR\Saved Games\DCS\KNEEBOARD/001-missionbriefing-001.lua:[string "J:\IceMakeR\Saved Games\DCS\Data\KneeboardData\missiondata.lua"]:426: attempt to concatenate local 'callname' (a nil value).
icemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 09:00 AM   #136
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 425
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icemaker View Post
Hello,

My dynamic kneeboard only works in MP not in Single Player missions.
don't know Why, i had this error in DCS.log, i think it searches for TMP/.miz file but this file is only for MP missions.
It looks like it his having difficulty parsing the JTAC units in the mission file. The mission designer has gone through so many changes over the past several years that there is now five or six ways JTAC can be implemented in the mission. If JTAC was added to the mission using one of the older methods the dynamic kneeboards don't always parse it correctly. The CREATE FAST MISSION feature in DCS hasn't been updated to use the new method of adding JTAC to the mission file, so those missions don't always work properly either.

You can test this with your mission by removing all of the JTAC units and then add them again using the newer JTAC features in the mission designer.

If it is possible, could you upload the mission you are trying to use so I can setup the the dynamic kneeboards to better handle the older JTAC styles?

Thanks.
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 05:17 PM   #137
icemaker
Member
 
icemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Near Lyon in France
Posts: 330
Default

I use ED provided Missions : Shooting gallery and defend camp yankee
icemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 06:41 PM   #138
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 425
Default

Thanks icemaker. I will look into it and try to fix it.
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 08:19 AM   #139
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 425
Exclamation Version 1.6.2.3 Released

Version 1.6.2.3 is now available.

VERSION 1.6.2.3 CHANGELOG:

-fixed dynamic kneeboards not displaying in the correct order within DCS World
-fixed custom reordering of images resetting when images were removed while modifying a group
-fixed dynamic kneeboard crash when mission contains older implementation of JTAC/AFAC unit


I want to thank everyone for helping me find the bugs in my program; I really appreciate it.
Please continue the feedback/requests and bug reports.

Last edited by AlaskanGrizzly; 11-23-2014 at 08:22 AM.
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 06:20 PM   #140
Iku64
Member
 
Iku64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 176
Default

Thank you very much....now I don't have those battery pictures anymore...phiuu..
__________________
Spoiler:

HP Z420 | Xeon E5-1650 @3.20GHz/3.70Ghz | 16Gb DDR3-1333 | ZOTAC GTX 980 Ti AMP! | Micron RealSSD C400 256Gb | Sound Blaster Z | TrackIR4 | Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog| CH Pro pedals | Win 10 Pro 64-bit
Iku64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.