A threesome of DC3's - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2018, 12:41 PM   #11
crazyeddie
Senior Member
 
crazyeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 1,445
Default

Solved it I think, the engine type was set to "Piston", never seen that before so I change it to this in the lua:

typeng = 2,

I also changed the mappclass to this, not sure if it makes any difference but it still works okay.

},
mapclasskey = "P0091000025",
attribute = {wsType_Air, wsType_Airplane, wsType_Intruder, WSTYPE_PLACEHOLDER , "Bombers"},
Categories = {},

It all sound right now and I cannot see any differences in performance etc, so I think that's all that's needed.
crazyeddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 01:00 PM   #12
Stonehouse
Senior Member
 
Stonehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,378
Default

Ok, think it is more likely the typeng = 2. Pretty sure the mapclasskey really only sets the map icon but you do need to make it match the attributes I believe or else things stop working. Piston is used in some of the new WW2 aircraft like the Spitty. I thought it was the same but I can see I goofed in the lua and I would have been ok with type = "Piston" but instead I've ended up with typeng = "Piston"


I'll have to re-upload them again with the correction. Sorry but probably it will be tomorrow before I get to it as it's past 11pm here and I have to be up at 5:30am to head into work.


<edit> yep confirmed that changing the line typeng="Piston" to type="Piston" or typeng=2 works fine.

Last edited by Stonehouse; 10-21-2018 at 01:05 PM.
Stonehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 09:45 AM   #13
Stonehouse
Senior Member
 
Stonehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,378
Default

Ok user files has been refreshed with a corrected upload to sort out the sound issue. Thank you again Eddie for spotting the problem.


To save hassles for those people who have already downloaded the mod, please download the attached lua's and replace the one in the main mod folder. ie replace DC3.lua with this new one, DC3paratroop.lua with the new one and DC3cargo.lua with the new one

Last edited by Stonehouse; 10-25-2018 at 01:37 AM. Reason: removed attachments as they are incorrect
Stonehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 11:42 PM   #14
Stonehouse
Senior Member
 
Stonehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,378
Default

Someone has pointed out to me that the last change to fix the sound has impacted the performance of the aircraft and I have double checked this and they are correct. With either type = "Piston" or typeng = 2 you get different results than what I originally released and the aircraft accelerates and climbs much more quickly..........so I suspect I am going to have to rework the power values again unfortunately to get things back to what they should be. People using the mod need to take this into account.
Stonehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 03:03 AM   #15
Stonehouse
Senior Member
 
Stonehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,378
Default

I've done some experimentation and discovered something that I guess is not that amazing with some hindsight and should have been seen before. If you set typeng = 2 or type = "Piston" then the values of thrust_sum_max, thrust_sum_ab and the values for each mach number in table_data in the engine section have little or no impact on the performance of the aircraft. This is based on several observations. First these values are identical for the Spitfire, 109, 190 and P51. Second and most important I've tried setting these value all to 1 and the DC3 will still accelerate and climb too quickly as if there is an excess of power. Particularly at MTOW I am seeing ridiculously short take off runs.


I have come to the conclusion that internal DCS code is using typeng=2 or type="Piston" to switch to a completely different module of logic for power calculations based on the detailed engine values. Therefore by using similar values to those found on the Spitfire I think I've given the DC3 two late model Merlins at approx. 1300kw each compared to two P&W at about 890kw each. Like giving it an extra engine for free. Fairly obviously (as I said isn't hindsight wonderful) this new code was introduced for the P51. This would apply to all other community piston engine aircraft that have been released so far too I think.


So bottom line is at present I do not know how to derive the detailed engine values required to represent the correct engine for the DC3. Possibly if I set the engines to be turboprop then the old DCS code and values of thrust will come back into play - I will have to experiment and see but think it will as this is how the stock C130 etc is set up. Obviously though the sound will be wrong. Perhaps some other mod maker who specialises in sound mods can do something here so that if a piston engine mod uses turbofan or turboprop values we can still hear piston engine noises?


Therefore the community needs to indicate what is more important to them at present for the DC3.


More realistic performance in the air or having it sound right?




<edit> I have confirmed my thoughts. Setting the aircraft to be a turboprop gives it back believable performance and allow the detailed engine section to be deleted. Setting the aircraft to be piston allows the thrust values to be ignored (probably have to be non zero) and requires the engine section to be present for the AI to be able to start the engines. However the performance is very wrong.

Last edited by Stonehouse; 10-24-2018 at 03:19 AM.
Stonehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 03:07 AM   #16
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,233
Default

I prefer the realistic sound .. the excess speed can be limited on the mission editor.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 03:15 AM   #17
Stonehouse
Senior Member
 
Stonehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,378
Default

Ok but the editor will be ignored if the aircraft come under attack. eg your DC3 or HE111 will outclimb your Spitfire IX by a decent margin. Take offs will be very, very short at max weight despite what you tell it in the editor as well.


But in any case your vote is noted. I'm hoping that someone who is a sound mod whiz might volunteer to help out so a compromise might be possible.
Stonehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 03:35 AM   #18
Hawkeye60
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: USA Ma.
Posts: 1,959
Default

Is it not possible to create our own sound folder in the mod folder?
Does not DCS read the saved games folder first, and will use the files in that location, if present?
I remember creating a custom sound folder for a 4 engine aircraft and this method did work.
This is how it WAS done.


See the Realistic Huey sound mod.
However, this mod was installed in the main dcs mod folder, and I have not tested it in some time.


Inside its sound folder were the lua files indicating the sound files to use, and the sound files themselves.
Perhaps this has changed in 2.5.


Worth a look?


edit,
I have found my sound mod folder. It was made for the B-29.
With help from javalina1 who located the sound files for me, tested and offered suggestions!

If anyone wishes to look at how it was made, pm me and I will supply a link.
Please note, the file size is large due to the sound files being included in the folder.
__________________
"Yeah, and though I work in the valley of Death, I will fear no Evil. For where there is one, there is always three. I preparest my aircraft to receive the Iron that will be delivered in the presence of my enemies. Thy ALCM and JDAM they comfort me. Power was given unto the aircrew to make peace upon the world by way of the sword. And when the call went out, Behold the "Sword of Stealth". And his name was Death. And Hell followed him. For the day of wrath has come and no mercy shall be given."

Last edited by Hawkeye60; 10-24-2018 at 03:50 AM.
Hawkeye60 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 03:50 AM   #19
Stonehouse
Senior Member
 
Stonehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,378
Default

Still need some radial engine sounds as per DCS requirements - whatever those are plus the sdef files however they work. I don't know anything about sound mods other than I agree I do recall the same as you about reading somewhere that it loads from saved game folders first. No idea if it still works that way but I know there is a large sound mod thread in the how to area. I can try to see if I can get a different sound being used though even if it's something dumb like a stock siren or something.


<edit> ok did some quick reading over there and it seems the mount_vfs_sound method is now obsolete (although it may still work). It would be nice to conform to whatever the new DCS method is if possible to future proof the mod.

Last edited by Stonehouse; 10-24-2018 at 03:58 AM.
Stonehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 04:19 AM   #20
Hawkeye60
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: USA Ma.
Posts: 1,959
Default

Or, What is the proper location for the sound folder?


ie:

/saved games/DCS2.5 /mods
/saved games/DCS2.5/sounds


(matching the main DCS folder structure)


or located inside the aircraft mod folder sound folder, along with the main menu music folder?


If I remember correctly, in the old method, It may have overwritten the main dcs files, ie: installed in the main DCS folder.
The sdef files did indicate the specific aircraft, which was already included as ai in DCS proper.
__________________
"Yeah, and though I work in the valley of Death, I will fear no Evil. For where there is one, there is always three. I preparest my aircraft to receive the Iron that will be delivered in the presence of my enemies. Thy ALCM and JDAM they comfort me. Power was given unto the aircrew to make peace upon the world by way of the sword. And when the call went out, Behold the "Sword of Stealth". And his name was Death. And Hell followed him. For the day of wrath has come and no mercy shall be given."
Hawkeye60 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:10 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.