Popping a lot of tires on take-off - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2018, 10:56 AM   #31
Reflected
Senior Member
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: LHDK
Posts: 2,157
Default

I noticed this flying other jet aircraft in DCS. Tires seem to have a tendency to pop at quite low speeds. IF, however, you trim the plane nose up, the tires become a lot more resistant, and will not pop at the same speed. This workaround works fine for me, I don't know if it's a bug or not. I don't have the 29, but I have this with the F5E and the MIG21.
__________________


"The Big Show" Spitfire Mk.IX Campaign
My DCS Skins
B350 Gaming Plus / Ryzen 5 1600 X @ 3,9 / MSI GeForce GTX1070 8192 / 16 GB RAM / Samsung PM961 512 SSD / MS FFB 2 / TM Warthog throttle / Saitek ProFlight pedals / Oculus Rift CV1
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 02:31 PM   #32
mvsgas
Veteran
 
mvsgas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 7,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth29(U.K) View Post
I like to do a loop right after lift off like Brendon O'Brien did when had his ride in the 29 ( it was on Discovery channel years ago in a show called "Flightline"), I like a high rotation speed to pull it off, its hard to do it at the moment with the tyres blowing. im sure it will get updated though in good time.
It does not need to be updated, I can do a loop right after take off no problem.
loop after take off.trk


I fly this module every day, online and single player, and I am still yet to blow a tire once.
__________________
Quote:
Q:The internet says...
A:The internet is wrong.
EvilBivol-1

CPU=Intel Core I3 7320, Mo/Bo= ASRock B250 Gaming K4, Memory DDR42400 pc4-19200 32gb G.Skill Ripjaws V, video card=Gigabyte RTX 2070, 8gb gddr 6, Joystick=Thrustmaster T-flight Stick X, Track IR, Win10 64
mvsgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 09:45 AM   #33
draconus
Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflected View Post
I noticed this flying other jet aircraft in DCS. Tires seem to have a tendency to pop at quite low speeds. IF, however, you trim the plane nose up, the tires become a lot more resistant, and will not pop at the same speed. This workaround works fine for me, I don't know if it's a bug or not. I don't have the 29, but I have this with the F5E and the MIG21.
It's not a workaround nor is it magic trick. It's just a simple physics calculations being done in the sim. When you trim nose up or just keep the stick a little aft during take off you reduce the weight/pressure/load on the tires thus lessen the friction force and save the tires in the process. It's not optional - it's a proper way to take off.
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 02:42 PM   #34
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrohde View Post
Could also mean this:

That would be a waterlogged taxiway. He's also traveling at a slow taxi speed. Though I have seen an Su-25 taking off from a dirt runway (in a video). Then again, that's a completely different animal from the MiG-29.


Lixma 06,

Are you still having tire issues? with this aircraft? Hopefully not. As others have mentioned, rotating at the proper speed makes a difference even when you're stressing the tires:



Prior to the start of the video I had been making donuts on the taxiway as well to see if that made a difference. Didn't seem to.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 03:51 PM   #35
Lixma 06
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Default

IH, I haven't been able to fly for about a week or so but I'm absorbing the advice.

I did a test though just to see how fast I could go without attempting to take-off -- 400kph -- and then the tires started exploding.

I've also seen a lot of crazy bouncing on landing - this is from Cap's stream....

e: damn time-code won't work - go to 28mins



I've done this a lot.

When the 29 bounces it really starts bouncing. Maybe it's realistic/PFM but I've not encountered this in any of the other modules I own.
Lixma 06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 03:59 PM   #36
rrohde
Veteran
 
rrohde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oklahoma is OK
Posts: 3,741
Default

Bouncing is easily avoided by landing within the correct parameters in terms of speed - 300 kp/h over the THD, and 290 or a little less at touch down, with a little flare at the end for good measure.
__________________

PC: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz @ 5.1GHz | MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB VRAM | ASUS Maximus IX Hero | Corsair LPX 32GB 3200MHz DDR4 RAM | 27" Acer Monitor (2560x1440) | 512GB Samsung 850 PRO SSD | Win10 Pro 64bit | Oculus Rift CV1 | Jetseat 908 | VKB Gunfighter Pro Mk.II /w MCG PRO




rrohde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 04:53 PM   #37
mvsgas
Veteran
 
mvsgas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 7,421
Default

It has to be something else causing the tire to blow. Maybe the installation. Are you using FC3 or stand alone?

I use FC3 in the openbeta, ver 2.5.3.22877. I crated a mission is the Caucasus, at 41°C with a huge cross wind. I took a Mig-29G and made it as heavy as I could. I bounce, cart wheel and flip. I broke both wing and the landing gear. I skidded sideways, went into the grass and I still could not get the tires to pop.

Mig-29G as heavy as possible landing.trk
__________________
Quote:
Q:The internet says...
A:The internet is wrong.
EvilBivol-1

CPU=Intel Core I3 7320, Mo/Bo= ASRock B250 Gaming K4, Memory DDR42400 pc4-19200 32gb G.Skill Ripjaws V, video card=Gigabyte RTX 2070, 8gb gddr 6, Joystick=Thrustmaster T-flight Stick X, Track IR, Win10 64

Last edited by mvsgas; 10-22-2018 at 04:58 PM.
mvsgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 04:57 PM   #38
mvsgas
Veteran
 
mvsgas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 7,421
Default

Some screens
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mig29G heavy landing fail 1.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	586.1 KB
ID:	196462

Click image for larger version

Name:	Mig29G heavy landing fail 2.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	1.01 MB
ID:	196463
__________________
Quote:
Q:The internet says...
A:The internet is wrong.
EvilBivol-1

CPU=Intel Core I3 7320, Mo/Bo= ASRock B250 Gaming K4, Memory DDR42400 pc4-19200 32gb G.Skill Ripjaws V, video card=Gigabyte RTX 2070, 8gb gddr 6, Joystick=Thrustmaster T-flight Stick X, Track IR, Win10 64
mvsgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 04:59 PM   #39
mvsgas
Veteran
 
mvsgas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 7,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lixma 06 View Post
For the time code to work enter ?start= the number of seconds. Try the video now on this post.
__________________
Quote:
Q:The internet says...
A:The internet is wrong.
EvilBivol-1

CPU=Intel Core I3 7320, Mo/Bo= ASRock B250 Gaming K4, Memory DDR42400 pc4-19200 32gb G.Skill Ripjaws V, video card=Gigabyte RTX 2070, 8gb gddr 6, Joystick=Thrustmaster T-flight Stick X, Track IR, Win10 64
mvsgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 05:28 PM   #40
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lixma 06 View Post
IH, I haven't been able to fly for about a week or so but I'm absorbing the advice.

I did a test though just to see how fast I could go without attempting to take-off -- 400kph -- and then the tires started exploding...
Good. A lot better than 250kph...

Quote:
I've also seen a lot of crazy bouncing on landing - this is from Cap's stream....

...

I've done this a lot.

When the 29 bounces it really starts bouncing. Maybe it's realistic/PFM but I've not encountered this in any of the other modules I own.
That's because our MiG-29 was conceived in the womb of a rubber ball. She'll outgrow it someday...maybe.

As others have noted, the proper landing technique precludes that. OTOH, that shouldn't happen with a bad landing either. I wonder if it has more to do with damage modeling than anything else. You might bounce the first time but, if you didn't simply pancake the landing gear, things would defintely break in a way that there wouldn't be a 2nd and 3rd one.
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.