-game Control Stick doesn't center - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2020, 09:55 PM   #1
Canuck Lad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
Default -game Control Stick doesn't center

Hi. I currently use a keyboard to play. If I like the simulator I'll invest in a flight stick. Not always, but sometimes I find the control stick (in game, as viewed in cockpit) will stay all the way to the right, causing the plane to constantly bank right. I can use the left arrow key on my keyboard to center it, or bank left, but when I release all keys the control stick will go back to the far right position. I've tested, my right key on my keyboard is not stuck down. I experience this in the Su-25T. I've not tried the other plane. My system's hardware grossly surpasses the suggested hardware, so it's not a processing power issue. Any thoughts on what can cause this?

Note: I do not have a gamepad, flight stick, controller, racing wheel, or any other type of input device.

Last edited by Canuck Lad; 01-05-2020 at 09:58 PM.
Canuck Lad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 11:24 AM   #2
draconus
DCS Ground Crew
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,191
Default

It might be the case where the stick was trimmed all the way to the right. That would cause such behavior. Check trim key bindings and look for any cross bindings for stick axis in controls setup. While in game you can use controls overlay - Rctrl + Enter - it'll show both controls and trim positions. Remove any FFB options if checked.
__________________
G4560@3,5GHz/DDR4-16GB/GTX970-4GB/SATA3-SSD, Win7-64, 27"LCD-FullHD, T16000M HOTAS, customTiR
Aircraft: FC3, F-14B /
Maps: NTTR, PG
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 08:29 PM   #3
Canuck Lad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by draconus View Post
It might be the case where the stick was trimmed all the way to the right. That would cause such behavior. Check trim key bindings and look for any cross bindings for stick axis in controls setup. While in game you can use controls overlay - Rctrl + Enter - it'll show both controls and trim positions. Remove any FFB options if checked.
The trim affects the control stick position?
Canuck Lad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 09:11 PM   #4
Havremonster
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canuck Lad View Post
The trim affects the control stick position?
Have you tested another keyboard or tryed to add another keys instead of the Arrows?
Havremonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 09:55 PM   #5
draconus
DCS Ground Crew
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canuck Lad View Post
The trim affects the control stick position?
Yes, it does.
__________________
G4560@3,5GHz/DDR4-16GB/GTX970-4GB/SATA3-SSD, Win7-64, 27"LCD-FullHD, T16000M HOTAS, customTiR
Aircraft: FC3, F-14B /
Maps: NTTR, PG
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 04:29 PM   #6
randomTOTEN
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: KBFL/KBUR/KJVY/KEWR
Posts: 414
Default

I've seen this happen to another new user, who was also using a keyboard to fly the Su-25T in a server.

Turned out his autopilot was engaged on the ground. If that's the case try pressing the "A" key when this happens.
randomTOTEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 05:58 PM   #7
Canuck Lad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by randomTOTEN View Post
I've seen this happen to another new user, who was also using a keyboard to fly the Su-25T in a server.

Turned out his autopilot was engaged on the ground. If that's the case try pressing the "A" key when this happens.
I used the mode that started the flight already in-air.
Canuck Lad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 05:59 PM   #8
Canuck Lad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Havremonster View Post
Have you tested another keyboard or tryed to add another keys instead of the Arrows?
I own a single keyboard, so no.

As for the arrow keys, I open Notepad, enter characters, go to column 1, and observe that the cursor doesn't move. If the right arrow key were stuck, the cursor position would move.
Canuck Lad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 06:18 PM   #9
Canuck Lad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 9
Default

I THINK the issue seems to be the aileron trim (Right Control , and right control /). Once set I seem unable to set the inverse, and from that point on I need to manually control left/right roll.

... nope, that wasn't it. I can cause the issue with right and down arrow simultaneously (default key bindings). I can pull out, fly level, but if I release the keys it just rolls hard to the right when I do.

Last edited by Canuck Lad; 01-07-2020 at 06:57 PM.
Canuck Lad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 06:48 PM   #10
Revs
Member
 
Revs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 165
Default

Buy a hotas from amazon, so you can have something close to flying and appreciate it more. Return it if you end up not liking the game.
__________________
Ryzen 1700 @ 3.8GHz / 32GB( 4x8 ) @ 3.2GHz / 1TB ADATA NVMe System Drive / 232GB NVMe Samsung 960 / ASUS dual RTX 2080ti / Reverb / Rift CV1 / T-16000M FCS flight pack

A10C/M2000C/F5E/SA342/Mi8/UH1H/KA50/AJS-37/FA-18C/AV-8B/F-14/Mig29/CA/SU-27
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:25 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.