Complete newbie from Norfolk England

dave-uk

Happy New Year to all.

Thank you for accepting me in your forum. I've played FSX with a very old Microsoft force feedback joystick,

I’ve recently purchased a new PC as my young girls consistently fill the small SSD drive, and I need my own (thats what i told the wife anyway)

The spec:

Processor

- Intel® Core™ i7-9700K Unlocked Processor

- Octa-core

- 3.6 GHz / 4.8 GHz

- 12 MB cache

RAM

- 16 GB DDR4 (3000 MHz)

Graphics card

- NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 Super

- 8 GB GDDR6

Storage

- 2 TB (7200 rpm)

- 256 GB SSD

I’m hoping it will cope with DCS world, I’ve seen many videos on YouTube, and I’m impressed. But it looks extremely complex.

I’ve ordered:

Thrustmaster Hotas Warthog Joystick and Throttle for PC

Atolla USB 3.0 Hub Powered, 11-Port USB 3.0 Extension Splitter7 USB 3.0 Data Ports+4 USB 3.0 Smart Charging Portswith Individual On/Of

Logitech G Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals

Oculus Rift S PC-Powered VR Gaming Headset, (its Christmas and i deserve it)

I’ll be back with many questions I’m sure

Stay safe all, and happy flying Dave

Utrinque Paratus

I7-9700K OCTA-CORE 3.6 GHZ / 4.8 GHZ

RAM 32 GB DDR4 (3000 MHZ)

NVIDIA GEFORCE RTX 2070 SUPER - 8 GB GDDR6

STORAGE - 2TB SSD - 6 TB SATA

Hi dave-uk,

Welcome to DCS and the forums.

That PC (RTX 2070 Super) is good for a 2K (2560 x 1440) screen on high settings @60+ fps.

It will handle VR, you will need to play with the settings tho to get the balance. DCS is great in VR, it's also one of the largest application for VR. So it's always a balance to find eye-candy vs FPS. You need to hold 45fps min on the Rift with it's technology.