Returning to Flight Sims after 10-Years - Use My Old Ch Products ? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2020, 03:00 AM   #1
Bob1943
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Default Returning to Flight Sims after 10-Years - Use My Old Ch Products ?

I have been away from flight sims for about 10-years. However, I just bought a new gaming computer and am eager to get back into flight sims. Background: I am a former USAF fighter pilot from 1967 to 1973. Flew the F-111, F-100 (in Vietnam), and A-37.

My old HOTAS system consists of the CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, and Pro Pedals, all USB. Probably do not have more than 30-hours of use on the products before I got out of flight sims due to heavy work schedule many years ago.

I am assuming that I can still use these CH products in DCS. However, I have read issues about the CH Control Manager software having issues with WIN10. I don't even have the CH software anymore, that was lost when my old computer died, so I have no desire to find a copy to upload.

1. I understand that you can calibrate the CH products in WIN10. Is this correct?

2. I understand that I can map all required flight system controls to HOTAS buttons using the DCS management software. Is this correct?

Any other suggests on using this old CH gear with DCS is appreciated.

If I cannot get it to work, I would be looking at buying the Thrustmaster Hotas Warthog setup.

Thanks for your help.

Last edited by Bob1943; 01-26-2020 at 03:03 AM.
Bob1943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 05:36 PM   #2
Svsmokey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 2,549
Default

1 correct
2 correct

I'd prolly give 'em a shot or two of contact cleaner and a bit of fresh lube after all this time .
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , Rift S , CH Hotas and pedals , Foxx deskmounts

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 09:36 PM   #3
Sokol1_br
Veteran
 
Sokol1_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,820
Send a message via MSN to Sokol1_br
Default

1 - Correct but not advisable, install at least CH Manager for do the calibration in right way or use 3rd part software like DView, that allow set deadzones and curves.

If you have issues with this gear - most common is potentiometer spikes, today are option for modernize for contacless sensor: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=250644
Sokol1_br is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 09:57 PM   #4
Svsmokey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 2,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sokol1_br View Post
1 - Correct but not advisable, install at least CH Manager for do the calibration in right way or use 3rd part software like DView, that allow set deadzones and curves.

If you have issues with this gear - most common is potentiometer spikes, today are option for modernize for contacless sensor: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=250644
I have read of windows calibration being inadvisible , and certainly it is more of a pain than it should be , but i have had no issues with it , having deleted CM some two years ago .
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , Rift S , CH Hotas and pedals , Foxx deskmounts

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 10:05 PM   #5
Bob1943
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Default

Prefer not to fight with calibration problems, within Windows or CH Manager. In fact, I do not even remember how to do a calibration.

I'll give it a shot in WIN10 first, if that doesn't work, I'll probably just buy the new Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS.

Appreciate the feedback. Hope to get up and running this week.

Thanks

Last edited by Bob1943; 01-26-2020 at 10:10 PM.
Bob1943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2020, 10:22 PM   #6
Bob1943
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Default

I contacted CH Products yesterday about a Windows 10 update for the Control Manager software.

Here is their reply:

"Hi Bob,

No, we do not have any plans of releasing a patch for this legacy program. Please note the Control Manager is an optional program we offer, and it is not needed in order to use our products.

this legacy program is not required to calibrate. We recommend calibrating within the Game Controller menu built into your Windows operating system. You can find this by searching your Windows Settings for “USB” and clicking Set up USB Game Controllers."


So, the product manufacturer says we are good to go without using Control Manager software.
Bob1943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 02:54 AM   #7
Sokol1_br
Veteran
 
Sokol1_br's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,820
Send a message via MSN to Sokol1_br
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob1943 View Post
Prefer not to fight with calibration problems.... buy the new Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS.
An new stick will not you exclude the need of calibrate. May require firmware flash too.


Quote:
Svsmokey
I have read of windows calibration being inadvisible , and certainly it is more of a pain than it should be , but i have had no issues with it , having deleted CM some two years ago .
In theory at least, are a technical problem with this.
In an old topic in SimHQ (~10 years ago)Bob Church, formerly CH drivers/software developer (now retired) explain.

CTS potentiometer used in CH's have 15+15º "effective electric angle" - their resistive trail read only in this 30º area. See this area in the second image from left to right:



But - no sure if both or just Y axis, CH gimbal move more than this, perhaps 32º.
Then the Manager calibration process amplify pot readings for match this physical movement.
Windows software, that remount Win95 days, no.
This may create a deadzone in end of axis course.

Anyway can test if are this mismatching with an accurate test software like VKB.JoyTester.

And "if it ain't broke don't fix it".
Sokol1_br is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:30 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.