laser tgt - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2020, 03:25 AM   #1
oldpop
Member
 
oldpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 255
Default laser tgt

watched to latest vid on pod, think I followed the instructions, but can't get a lock on a tgt. See att!???
tried using key as well as stick button(enter)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	flir.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	587.0 KB
ID:	225431  
oldpop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 04:00 AM   #2
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,804
Default

You need to press TDC Depress, while on the FLIR page, in order to create a target point.
If you want to fire the laser, you need to be in AG mode, move the LTD/R switch to Arm, select the Trigger option in the FLIR page and then press the trigger on the stick to toggle the laser on and off. You'll see L ARM when it's ready to fire and LTD/R when it's firing. If you leave AG mode, the switch will automatically return to Safe.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700K, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR, VAICOM Pro|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 04:26 AM   #3
oldpop
Member
 
oldpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 255
Default trg

where is that option(trig), did hear that on the vid will check again
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	trg.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	409.7 KB
ID:	225436  
oldpop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 04:31 AM   #4
Zyll
Member
 
Zyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 273
Default

Need to toggle on the laser, it's to the right of the toggle you used to turn the TGP on
Zyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 04:33 AM   #5
Tholozor
Member
 
Tholozor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 598
Default

The switch you're looking for is the LTD/R switch (to the right of the FLIR switch as Zyll mentioned). That switch has a safety interlock that prevents it from being set to the ARM position unless the jet in AG master mode (as Harker mentioned).
__________________
REAPER 51 | Tholozor
Tholozor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 05:04 AM   #6
FoxxyTrotty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 69
Default

oldpop - If you do what has been suggested here - correctly - then you will see the TRG option appear on the OSB button (above where you can see RTCL).

So to be clear

1) setup as you were in the image you posted
2) check master arm = on
3) check A-G mode = on
3b) check you have laser bomb (ie GBU12) selected on stores page
4) by your right elbow (in cockpit) check both FLIR switch is in forward position (it will be if your TGP is working)
5) and LTD/R switch is forward position (it wont let you, unless the above conditions are met)
6) now TRG should appear on your TGP page
(note: TRG will replace your gun firing with laser firing when you press trigger,
so make sure to unpress TRG when you're done and/or need to use your gun)

edit:
oh and make sure you gave your GBUs (all pylons) the code 1688 on stores page - you can of course change this code for the bombs, but then you must manually change TGP laser code - default is 1688
__________________
. . . . . . .
Every module/ map except the dual winged joke.

Last edited by FoxxyTrotty; 01-20-2020 at 05:06 AM. Reason: added LGB laser code info
FoxxyTrotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 08:14 AM   #7
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 12,839
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tholozor View Post
The switch you're looking for is the LTD/R switch (to the right of the FLIR switch as Zyll mentioned). That switch has a safety interlock that prevents it from being set to the ARM position unless the jet in AG master mode (as Harker mentioned).
And it's bugged, meaning that it won't let you set it in the forward positon (ARM), even if the conditions are met, untill you cycle it to the backward position once.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 12:57 PM   #8
oldpop
Member
 
oldpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 255
Default

follow up question. do you release the weapon with the "weapon release" button, then depress the trigger to fire the laser? if so how long to wait to fire the laser??
Thanks for the info guys
oldpop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 01:56 PM   #9
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpop View Post
follow up question. do you release the weapon with the "weapon release" button, then depress the trigger to fire the laser? if so how long to wait to fire the laser??
Thanks for the info guys
Yes, you release the AG weapon normally. If you have an AGM-65E, you need to fire the laser before launch, so the missile will pick it up.

For laser guided bombs, you can fire the laser immediately if you want or wait and fire a little later (you can see the time to impact - TTI on the HUD, after release), for a more vertical bomb impact, although it doesn't make much/any difference in DCS. Don't wait too long though, fire at around 12-16 seconds to impact at the latest.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700K, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR, VAICOM Pro|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 09:44 PM   #10
oldpop
Member
 
oldpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 255
Default gbu

Still can't get a good drop/hit. I don't see the small box over the tgt???
I think all switchs are correct. watched 2 vid and got really confused!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wpnpg.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	121.5 KB
ID:	225474   Click image for larger version

Name:	flir.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	151.1 KB
ID:	225475   Click image for larger version

Name:	sen pnl.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	156.4 KB
ID:	225476  

oldpop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:14 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.