I can't hear the trainer even after turning down World and cockpit sound? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2016, 02:17 AM   #1
Crunchy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 302
Default I can't hear the trainer even after turning down World and cockpit sound?

I can't hear the trainer in the A10C training. He suggests that I turn down "Cockpit and World sound settings" if I can't hear his voice, but when I move the bars right the way down, the sound remains the same and doesn't decrease at all?
Crunchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 10:10 AM   #2
MadDog-IC
ED Testers Team
 
MadDog-IC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crunchy View Post
when I move the bars right the way down, the sound remains the same and doesn't decrease at all?
You may have to shut down and restart DCS after changing the sound options for them to take effect, this has been an issue in the past.
__________________
Asus p877v-pro, Intel I7 3770k 4.2ghz, 32gb Ripjaw X ram, Nvidia RTX-2070 Super, Samsung 32" TV, Saitek x52 pro Joystick and Combat rudder pedals, TrackIR 5, Win8.1 x64 with SSD and SSHD protected by (Avast AV).

DCS Tech Support.
MadDog-IC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 07:58 AM   #3
Crunchy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadDog-IC View Post
You may have to shut down and restart DCS after changing the sound options for them to take effect, this has been an issue in the past.
I tried that and it still plays at the same volume which is loud? How do I fix this, is it a bug? I can't hear what the guy is saying because the engine sounds are to loud.
Crunchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 09:00 AM   #4
Crunchy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 302
Default

So does anyone know if this is a bug or not? Thanks!
Crunchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 11:11 AM   #5
NeilWillis
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,772
Default

I suggest you remove all your mods and then re-name your options.lua in Saved Games/DCS/Config.

It will remove all possible causes, but will also remove the options you have set, and return the game to the default settings. Then play with the sound and see if that solves the problem for you. If it doesn't work, just delete the new options.lua, and rename your back-up to reinstate it.

I can't see it being a bug as the majority of us have no issues. It points squarely at your installation having something corrupted, or possibly a clash caused by a mod?
NeilWillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 11:42 PM   #6
Crunchy
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 302
Default

One last question. Are the cockpit sounds classed as the engine sounds or World sounds? Thanks!
Crunchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:30 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.