New Player - ED Forums

Notices

Old 02-15-2012, 03:06 AM   #1
ShouldntBeInAPlane

Default New Player

Well, thought I would say hello to you guys. I'll be lurking around reading the stickies probably all night, haha.

I have very little experience in flight sims. Last flight sim I played was Janes Fighter Anthology and that was like back in the mid or late 90's, haha.

I'm playing off a laptop, Asus g74x. I just bought this game off steam and I couldn't find the manual for it so I think I'll download it tomorrow on the DCS website, I'm sure it's there.

But man, I just did the intro to this game, the first two tutorial missions, lol... I'm sure I'll be learning this game for the next few months.

Also, I bought a cyborg f.l.y. 5. I know it's not the best, but I'll buy a better one around april.

If you got any tips for me, even just quick ones, be it for my joystick or just in general. I'd much appreciate. I'm really confused about the joystick.

The directional view button works, and the center view back to normal works (as well as flight controls and the main weapon fire button) but none of the other buttons do anything. I think I have to load a profile for them? or bind keys, but I dont have a clue as to what to bind to my 11 free buttons.

Anyways, I'm sure I'll see you guys around, have a great night!
ShouldntBeInAPlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:49 AM   #2
ORboarder

welcome! as you fly the tutorials, take note of the HOTAS control names, and what they do. As you see which are the most important, you will discover which ones you want to bind to where. Its likely someone has the same stick on here, and can help you a little more but read in the manual about China Hat, Coolie Hat, TMS, DMS. Those are some of the main controls you will want to be able to access without looking down. It is very likely you will need to use some modifiers as well.

good luck! have fun! welcome!
ORboarder is offline   Reply With Quote